We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find..!”
Review of Percy's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Percy's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Virginstow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We ventured out from our holiday in Bude to have dinner at Percys on a wild ( August !! ) night and were more than rewarded with a friendly welcome from Tony and our fellow diners, and then an excellent dinner of the best ( vegetarians look away now ) roast lamb we have ever tasted, reared on the property and served with vegetables from the garden at Percys. The daily fixed menu format that is explained on the website assures that you get the best of what is available at that time. A big thank you to Tony and especially to chef Tina his wife for a great dinner. Definitely recommend.!

Room Tip: Did not stay at hotel only went for dinner.!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 156 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

Percy's provided exactly what we were looking for, a relaxing country retreat away from the stress and strain of home and office. Added to this we were treated to Tina's outstanding and creative culinary delights each evening with fulfilling breakfasts in the morning.
On arrival we were greeted by Tony who swiftly got us settled into Chervil where we found homemade cake (everyday) and fresh milk in the fridge for our tea and coffee.
This is a great location for branching out into Cornwall as well as the North and South Devon coastlines. In addition, the Coombeshead Estate offers great woodland walks.
A thoroughly delightful stay which will be repeated very, very soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I have to be frank if you have a spare weekend, or even just one night in the week then I can assure you that a night staying at Percys will not disappoint on any level.

For me I am a little bit of a task master about service, setting, ambience, quality and overall delivery of hospitality in this country and tend to spend quite a bit of time seeking out trips for myself and my Fiancée. I had come across the Percys a number of years ago but they had fallen off my radar as life took me this way and that. So I was full of hope and a little trepidation when we arrived. Was this to be as good as I had heard and read about? Where they still sticking to their ethos? Was I going to enjoy my stay and leave relaxed and refreshed ready to take on the world once again? For all of these the answer is a resounding YES

Service: Excellent WYSIWYG with the owners who are dedicated, helpful and hard working to produce the experience that is PERCYS
Rooms: Excellent. Clean and comfortable and are stocked with everything that you will need on your stay.
Food: Have to say that my first’s night’s meal was the best meal I have had in a number of years, and the second nights meal was also a delight.
Setting: You are surrounded by acres of natural Devon countryside, teaming with wildlife. Spent a languid hour walking around the grounds unwinding on our arrival.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exeter66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophieDevon, Owner at Percy's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Many thanks for your fabulous review. It was a pleasure to meet you. We both wish you and Daisy all the very best for the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Percys is a wonderful experience, so much so that we have re-visited a dozen times in the last 4 years. For laid back Peace and Quiet on a beautifully wooded estate this is the place, For a select choice of individual rooms ( x7 ) in a converted granary where room ammenities are standard and not just a novelty statement in others descriptive text ,This is the place! For a welcome that is informal, where the owners dogs wag thier tails in anticipation of guiding you across the lush acres of open fields and woods.
And then there is the food, meals, menus, no collective term does Percys cuisine justice.
The stunning use of herbs in all dishes created by Tina the chef makes you appreciate how food could be. In developing these combinations it makes you envious of anyone employed as the resident taster.
Tony the genial host, guides those like ourselves in appropriate wine selections. He provides an attentive service, whilst respecting privacy.
We will be back sooner rather than later

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gourmetgossip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a three-day break at Percy's Country House and Restaurant. We were celebrating a birthday and wanted somewhere special that would also accommodate our dog. Following a recommendation from our friends we were not disappointed.
On our arrival we were warmly greeted by Tony and his three dogs and shown to our room next to one of the vegetable gardens (that's one of the special things about the place, its ambience and animals). Our room consisted of a bedroom with a nice big bed; an en-suite bathroom and what was particularly good a large sitting area with a large comfy sofa, T.V and tea and real coffee making facilities. The daily appearance of cake was an added treat! From our rear view window we were able to observe horses with their new foals.
The 'piece de resistance' was the evening meal. Each night we were served some of the best food we have ever tasted along with excellent recommendations on wines, a particular joy of Tony's. Tina's cooking is to be highly recommended and part of the joy for us was trying to identify the different herbs that she uses. We could not come away without purchasing a copy of her Cookery book with her vey useful tips.
Percy's is a special place and one that we hope to return to.
B & H

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

What a find! Lovely quiet place in unspoilt countryside. Excellent food and good hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We love it at Percy's! Despite the terrible weather, we had another memorable short break, this being our fifth visit. Tina's food is wonderful and the relaxed but very comfortable atmosphere is perfect for a getaway. Rooms are spacious and comfortable with fluffy towels and robes, tea, fresh coffee, daily baked cake, a fruit basket and fridge with a pint of fresh milk and mineral water laid on. Breakfast is delicious with Tina's own bread and muesli, fresh apple juice and farm eggs accompanied by her own cured bacon and sausages. The set dinner menu changes daily, depending on availability on the estate. If you have any dietary needs, they will be accommodated with ease. The views are stunning and the animals delightful, with new born piglets and foals at hand when we ventured out for a walk. Tony's horses are thriving and his passion for bloodstock is obvious. If you have a few days to spare and don't know where to spend them, look no further, Percy's will look after you!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Percy's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Percy's Hotel

Address: Coombeshead Estate, Virginstow EX21 5EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Virginstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Virginstow
Price Range: $146 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 50-acres of stunning countryside, streams and woodland, the panoramic views extend over both Bodmin moor and Dartmoor. This luxury privately owned country hotel offers peace and tranquility in a relaxed environment with organic kitchen gardens and 50 acres of pasture & woodland. Unpretentious dining, free Wi-Fi and parking. Dogs welcome in some of the rooms.Hotel awards include South West Small Hotel of the Year for two years running and runner up for Small Hotel of the Year for Great Britain. All of the rooms share a homely ambiance, are spacious and equipped with king size beds, Egyptian cotton linen and fluffy towels and robes as standard. Free Wi-Fi access, flat screen TV, designer toiletries and much more besides. There is a range of room types available, from Standard, Superior and Deluxe options as well as one suite.Among the many restaurant awards, an article written by by Giles Coren gave Percy's 9/10. Diners are well looked after and are treated to a culinary experience to remember. Specialising in modern British cuisine, everything is cooked to order & beautifully presented. Flavoursome rather than fussy, all dishes are made from the very finest locally sourced or homegrown organic ingredients. Lamb & pork are reared on the Estate and the kitchen garden provides vegetables, herbs, salad leaves. The two orchards provide apples which are juiced and offered to guests for breakfast. The peaceful surroundings and excellent grounds make Percy's an ideal venue for special celebrations and private hire. Wildlife abounds including a family of beavers, who have been very busy in stream and ponds and bring much delight to guests who tip toe down to the valley to see them at dawn and dusk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Percys Hotel Virginstow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing