We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food.”
Review of Plume of Feathers

Plume of Feathers
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Portscatho
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Plume of Feathers is a 17th century traditional Cornish coastal pub, offering hand pull beers and great food. On May 1st 2016 we opened our 5 en-suite B&B rooms above the Plume, the rooms are beautifully appointed and the convenience of being in the center of Portscatho is a great base to discover the Roseland. Colin & Paul Marriott, yes twins, you're not seeing double, took over the Plume from Graham Thomas in October 2013 after Grahams mighty 35 year reign and are indebted to him for his grace and support. His legacy of a friendly welcoming pub continues to be paramount.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent food.”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We spent the Easter weekend in Portscatho. The Plume has certainly upped it's game since this time last year (our last visit). As a previous reviewer has said, if you are after a cheese plough mans, this is probably not for you. If you are after tasty, fresh, interesting food then get seated! Over the course of 4 days, we ate there 3 times. The burgers are fantastic, really tasty. The table next door opted for the megrim sole, which looked fantastic. For Sunday lunch I opted for the rare beef and my hubby the slow cooked lamb shoulder. Absolutely delicious, and more so for the veg (nice to have something other than peas and turnip) the roast included beet root, butternut squash, divine roast potatoes, Savoy cabbage, cauliflower cheese, carrots and a proper Yorkshire pud. The meat slices were very generous. We sampled 2 deserts over the course of our stay, a dark chocolate brownie with salted caramel sauce and a dark chocolate tart. Too die for!! Prices are reasonable considering the lovely food. It was very busy at all times but waitresses were friendly and efficient. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank minxiesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    148
    51
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tiverton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Where's the tradition pub food gone?”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Visited for a lunchtime sandwich/ploughmans. What a disappointment! I have visited this pub several times over the last 5 years having had childhood holidays in Portscatho during the 1960s. Whilst the ale (Proper Job) was well kept and excellent, the lunchtime menu is very limited. It is more gastro than pub food. I ordered the BBQ pork in a ciabatta roll, because of the limited choice. It was so spicy I could not eat it. To be fair the waitress did say she could make it milder but my complaint was that it was advertised as "BBQ" and not spicy. She accepted this and I was reduced to exchanging it for a Beef Burger without chips for the same price. The menu did include crab sandwiches however, although cheese was available for other dishes, when asked they could not do a ploughmans or cheese sandwiches. This apparently is because they have a "reduced menu". This pub is in a superb location with good ale. If you want to go gastro, fine, but please do not ignore traditional pub food. We will think twice before visiting again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchcombe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good pub lunch”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This friendly pub provided good local food and is well worth visiting for lunch in if you're in the village. There are only a few tables inside so if it's cold or wet I would suggest arriving early.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank martinb53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Still dreaming of the chicken casserole”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

I love this place. Always a varied menu, they've got a fantastic chef who made the best chicken casserole I have ever eaten and that includes my MUMS (don't tell her). Great atmosphere full of friendly people and the service is excellent and they can put up with my daft friend and pretend to laugh at his lame jokes even when they're not funny. Ps chicken casserole.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helmutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch when exploring the Roseland Peninsula”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Had lunch here today whilst exploring the Roseland Peninsula. Wondered about paying £8 for a crab sandwich but was worth every penny as full of crab meat accompanied by a rocket salad. Partner had mackeral salad equally as good accompanied by some of best chips tasted. Washed down with local ale on a gloriously sunny day what more could you ask. Partner impressed by his vanilla ice cream with raspberry compote. Be back to try other dishes.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annettebeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plume of Feathers also viewed

Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula
Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula
 
Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula
Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula
 
Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to Plume of Feathers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing