We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great looking pub average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Plume of Feathers

Plume of Feathers
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Portscatho
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Plume of Feathers is a 17th century traditional Cornish coastal pub, offering hand pull beers and great food. On May 1st 2016 we opened our 5 en-suite B&B rooms above the Plume, the rooms are beautifully appointed and the convenience of being in the center of Portscatho is a great base to discover the Roseland. Colin & Paul Marriott, yes twins, you're not seeing double, took over the Plume from Graham Thomas in October 2013 after Grahams mighty 35 year reign and are indebted to him for his grace and support. His legacy of a friendly welcoming pub continues to be paramount.
ellington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great looking pub average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We went to this pub at 18.30hr and it was full at the bar with all but one table having a reserved sign on it, do they not miss an opportunity to increase revenue by turning the tables over instead of them sitting empty all night waiting for the one booking to come in.
I have read the previous revues that said " the locals were tolerant of visitors" very kind of them i'm sure to let us in.
The menu was average bar fare with very little nod to the excellent local produce available so I had Deep fried Brie for a starter with a rib eye for main while my wife had scampi and her Mother had fish and chips all ok except for the amount of bones in the haddock which were all through it.I always worry when the chef has to bring food to the table and serve you as he is not paying attention to his proper job then but in times of austerity it is on the up with staff cuts. It was not the best place we went to in Cornwall which is a shame as the village is a picture book setting.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank germanshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    135
    49
    25
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good value pub lunch, wonderful village setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stopped off here for lunch, and enjoyed a warm welcome from all the staff. We enjoyed the food, and found it very good value, compared to some of the other places we've visited this holiday. The special chilli chicken wrap was especially good, with a gorgeous fresh salad.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover
1 review
“Nice people, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We have been coming to Portscatho for several years. We eat in the Plume at least every other night and have never had a bad meal. Graham and his staff are friendly and welcoming, the many locals that use the pub are very tolerant of visitors! Top marks.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tonyvds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Go here every year but..........”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Let me say that the pub has always been a lovely place to go after a day at the beach and we have had many holidays in this area.Unfortunately this year our visit to the pub was ruined by one arrogant and rude male barstaff,never seen him before but whilst waiting to be served he carried in serving his mates leaving my partner and my young children standing like idiots whilst he carried on making it obvious he wasn't going to serve us in turn.Because of this we didnt go back all holiday and the landlord missed out on hundreds of pounds because of this.Sad really as it might change where we go next year.Hope no one else experiences this .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chakatdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gourock
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Food and drink reasonable and good quality walked here from Trewithian Farm and back again lovely place small fishing village had home made soup and the family had Chicken and burgers and ham and mustard sandwiches all very good and worth the money.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jimboGourock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plume of Feathers also viewed

Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula
Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula
 
Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula
Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula
 
Ruan Lanihorne, Cornwall
 

Been to Plume of Feathers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing