We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another Lovely Stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Lapwing

Showing sea side position
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Showing sea side position
Sea View Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Showing sea side position
Sea View
Sitting Room
Dining Area
Main Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Balcony
Sea View 2
Sea View 3
Portscatho Village
The Harbour
Start of Coastal Path
Coastal Path
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula, Truro District, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CeriSpeak...
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Another Lovely Stay”
Reviewed April 14, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This was our second trip to Lapwing and it didn’t disappoint. The accommodation is comfortable, functional and has everything that we need. The views from the lounge and master bedroom are unbeatable and at times it’s hard to drag yourself away. We were fortunate to have a really good spell of weather so although the rain had taken its toll on the beautiful coastal paths we were able to experience the beautiful coastline.
The village has an outstanding pub - The Plume of Feathers - excellent food and a warm welcome only a 2 minute walk away, a cafe called the Boathouse, a very well stocked shop and The Harbour Club with pool, table tennis etc where non members are welcome for a small fee.
We were sorry to leave and are looking forward to returning next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pauleaton...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wow!”
Reviewed April 1, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This is the third time we've been to Lapwing, it never fails to disappoint no matter what the weather, at any time of the year. The view across the bay is amazing and Lapwing itself is very comfortable and has everything you would need for a relaxing holiday. Great for a small family and ideal for dogs with the beach and coastal walks right on the door step.

Can't rate it highly enough, can't wait to go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2018
Thank you Paul
So glad you enjoy it as much as I do
Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2017
Thank you Ceri
I am really delighted you enjoyed the location and the village
It is need hard to beat.
Thank you for your lovely review
Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2017
Thank you Hifzur
I am so glad that you enjoyed the lovely location.
Kind regards
Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tderham
Oswestry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing views”
Reviewed September 5, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Stunning location with magnificent views. Both my children couldn't wait to get down onto the beach everyday. Cottage was cosy and homely with everything you could need. We loved sitting in the window in an evening watching the boats.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location
Liked least: Damp in twin bedroom
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campervan...
Henley-on-Thames
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ideal”
Reviewed June 14, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

good property. clean. fantastic location and views. well equipped kitchen. had good weather so were able to sit out on the terrace most mornings eating breakfast whilst overlooking the sea! Good communication with owner although there was confusion over the code for the key when we arrived as the code provided on the information sheet was different to the one on the earlier emails but, that aside, communication with owner was good and property exceeded our expectations. would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: cold dark single bedroom
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2015
Thank you for your comments....much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allyallyo
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous gem of a property with breathtaking views”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have stayed at Lapwing for the second year running and it is the highlight of our year. The house is frontline and equipped with everything you could need for your stay. The large terrace/balcony overlooks the sea with amazing views, and the safe sandy beach below is great for families. It is truly wonderful to lay in bed and listen to waves lapping the shore. The bedrooms are downstairs with the living areas upstairs. There is a large window in the lounge window capturing the stunning views, we have even seen seals in the bay! I would recommended it to anyone looking for a very special place. We have booked in again for next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property's location in relation to the sea.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing