We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax, enjoy the food and the ambiance”
Review of The Hidden Hut

The Hidden Hut
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Portscatho
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Hoarwithy, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relax, enjoy the food and the ambiance”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We've just discovered the Hidden Hut, had 'Sunday Soup' there on a walk along the coast to Portscatho. The soup was super :), served with delicious crusty homemade bread, lots of butter, an ample sufficiency. The Hidden Hut is obviously popular because even though you can only get to it on foot and it's not visible from anywhere except the sea, it was really busy and well frequented.
They also sell a lovely selection of original flavours of ice cream.
Altogether YUM. Oh, so long as you don't mind eating outside at solid hewn wooden tables, which I thought was great fun.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    133
    19
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

It was a delight to discover the Hidden Hut. Very good service and food, along with toilets. It was very busy, with satisfied customers all round.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank victoria b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best mackerel salad ever!!!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Visited here today, we had a cake and coffee and then set off over the cliff walk to the beach with the dogs. On our return we had lunch and I had the mackerel salad after seeing other people's being eaten. Mine was the last one and it was divine. Beautiful fresh fish on a bed of new potatoes and beetroot in a horseradish sauce and topped off with watercress and balsamic syrup and a wedge of lemon. Simple and tasty. I had to tell the chef it was the best think I had eaten in ages as I was. My husband had a tuna and sweetcorn roll and he said it was very tasty. What a lovely place, well run, friendly people and amazing food. Well done!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bedfordbaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales UK
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“What's not to like”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

A great beach, friendly staff, appetising food with a great view.

Lets hope this venture sets off a chain of similar hidden huts on other beaches

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sweenoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A hidden delight”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We'd been looking forward to visiting The Hidden Hut since seeing it on TV.

We approached via the cliff top walk from Portscatho and for a while I thought we were in the wrong place, thankfully it emerged - it was well hidden.

Lunch was served at 12.30 if you wanted to have the paella. It was a warm day and we weren't too hungry so opted for freshly baked focaccia rolls with hand cut ham, local mature cheddar and watercress - they were lovely, followed by Roskillys special ice cream of apricot, burnt sugar and almonds - so gorgeous I had two!

This place is great, a lovely buzz and very busy at lunch - would like to visit for one of the evening meals - perhaps next time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fatandfrantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hidden Hut also viewed

Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula
Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula
 
Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to The Hidden Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing