We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobster and chips......”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hidden Hut

The Hidden Hut
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Portscatho
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Lobster and chips......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Managed at last to get a seat at one of the evening feast nights, lovely summers evening with friends and on the menu was lobster and chips. Perfect, and it really was, Simon the chef managed to serve up 122 giant lobsters, with hand cut chips and salad all virtually at the same time and cooked to perfection. I am a big fan of some of our eating places in Cornwall, Tresanton, Seafood at Padstow, Nathan Outlaw and even over the border to Gidleigh, the point being, this is a chef that's coming at things from another angle and all credit to him and his team for coming up with this approach. They deserve the success, they are skilled and its worth making the effort to go. £20 for giant lobster and home made fries, bargain.
Well done guys, if you ever get a restaurant it will always be full.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pommepuree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    119
    18
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Perfect summer feast night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were fortunate to get tickets to the lobster and hand cut chip night at the hidden hut. Yes there is a lot of hype surrounding the food and the venue, but most of it is very credible!!! We arrived at 6.30 for a 7.30 kick off - we are not talking small number catering here, there were well over 100 people present and we all enjoyed banter and wine in the lead up to the food being served. The position of the 'hut' is gorgeous and with the tide heading up the beach it was a truly magical Cornish summer evening!

The food was served 10 minutes after the allotted time - there was no panic to get served as you could see piles of beautifully barbecued lobster and see the gorgeous handout chips frying gently in the large open pans. The food was served with care and I had the most enormous half lobster I have ever been served!! With chips salad and mayo on the side this was heaven!!

At £20 a head this was the best priced lobster and chips probably in Cornwall!! Simon and his team are passionate about what they do and I have to say the catering was impressive.

If you have the opportunity to make a feast night it is worth the effort. Don't take the reviews for it, check out this little gem for yourself - you won't regret it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Firethorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Idyllic Setting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

After reading reviews, decided to seek this place out on a warm sunny afternoon in July. What a beautiful setting! We had filled ciabatta type rolls, one with tuna and the other with humus, mediterranean vegetables and feta. Well filled and delicious. The coffee was very nice too. Very pleased to have found this place and glad we did not take any notice of the negative reviews. Will definitely be back!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 957Lizm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

BBQ fresh mackerel, salad and rustic bread for lunch, on a warm, sunny day, overlooking the beach, made it a really memorable meal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank canneb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing place, food and lovely staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I had heard of the place of course so we went for lunch and I was not disappointed, the best Lobster roll I have had since visiting Maine. The offering is discreet but really tasty and the freshest ingredients, well seasoned and thought out and the staff is very friendly. Plus you sit on top of the hill with a view that can't be beaten. Highly recommended! next year I will keep a look out for their dinner specials, they looked fantastic from a distance...Try the pear and elderflower sorbet, is to die for.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SHammell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hidden Hut also viewed

Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula
Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula
 
Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to The Hidden Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing