We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most relaxing break that we have ever had.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of 26A The Lugger

Sitting Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting Room
View from front of cottage Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Sitting Room
View from front of cottage
Sitting Room
Twin Bedroom
Bay in Portscatho
Portscatho
Coastal Path
View of village
A Beach
Sailing in Gerrans Bay
Cliff Top
A mother seal with her pups in a nearby cove
Beach from cliff path
The Bay at Sunset
View of the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula, Truro District, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“The most relaxing break that we have ever had.”
Reviewed April 21, 2018 for a stay in November 2017

Cornwall in the quiet, winter months is a real hidden gem. Very few tourist's, and the weather often warm.( not to mention no traffic on the A30 ) We came down in November to this wonderful cosy cottage by the sea, and we were not disappointed. On the first night we lit the fire and just chilled out to the sound of crackling logs. Bliss! On waking in the morning, to the view of the sea just yards away, was fantastic.
We walked to the , now famous Hidden Hut on rosevine beach, and had an amazing meal sitting under the stars. A memory that will be with me forever.
Loads of breathtaking walks along the cliff tops. Great food in the village pub. We didn't move the car for the whole week!
The cottage was so welcoming and spotlessly clean, the local management team did us proud, even arranging us a much sought-after table at the Michelin starred Rosevine Hotel.
Very highly recommended.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debkidner
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy cottage, beautifull sea views”
Reviewed April 15, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Lovely cottage with coastal path right on the doorstep.
Sea and village views from most rooms.
Enclosed small garden with good outside seating. Our dog enjoyed sitting out there and taking in the sea air
Good facilities and contact with the owner (Angela and her management team)
Washing machine was broken on our arrival but was replaced within 48 hours, very efficient as also a bank holiday weekend!
A very relaxing stay and we would definitely come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarlett...
2 reviews
“wonderful stay”
Reviewed April 5, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

My family and I had the most lovely stay at 26A The Lugger. This little cottage is enchanting - cozy and comfortable with all the modern conveniences provided. It has obviously been created with loving care and creates the feel of home from home. We loved our stay here and didn't want to leave. It is situated in the perfect location taking in breathtaking views and a short walk to the beach and idyllic village. Highly recommended and we can't wait to stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2018
I’m so glad you all enjoyed.
Yes...you MUST go again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed April 28, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Very pleasant, comfortable, compact, cottage with a well kept garden. All clean and tidy on our arrival. The location is very convenient - if you like beaches, gardens, castles and museums, there is at least a week's worth of attractions well within an hour's drive from the cottage. However, Portscatho itself is a pretty village, the cottage is barely a minute from the seashore, and turning right out of the back door puts you almost immediately onto a fine coastal path.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2018
Thank you so much for your comments and I am so sorry not to have responded sooner.
I hope you stay again. It was great having you.
Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baxter4me...
Chew Magna, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just a lovely, restful spot, so close to the sea, with a pretty little garden”
Reviewed April 25, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Portscatho is a delightful place, but because of that reason, it does get very busy.
However, the cottage is lovely, quite quirky. but saying that, we had a very pleasant stay, with lovely weather that we were available to appreciate the pretty garden.
We had a restful time, which was what we needed, away from it all. A lovely spot. We shall come again, we do keep returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 27, 2017
Many thanks for your comments
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lottie S
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Charming seaside cottage”
Reviewed April 21, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

I had a lovely stay at 26A The Lugger in January this year. The location couldn't be better - just a short walk from the sea and village centre. The house is sweetly decorated and had everything we needed to make our stay as easy and comfortable as possible - we especially enjoyed a few cosy nights in front of the fire listening to the waves outside. The owner was quick to respond to any questions we had and very helpful in providing directions and recommendations. Would thoroughly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigMerry
Tetbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to stay in a great location”
Reviewed April 20, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The Lugger was recommended by a friend and I must say the we were not disappointed. As soon as we walked through the door it felt like home having all the facilities we would expect from a holiday let.The cottage is located on the Cornish footpath and as we enjoy walking we found it a perfect location not only for walking but by car to explore the many secluded beaches and coves on the south coast, nearby is the King Harry ferry that also enabled us to explore the north coast as well. We will certainly be visiting the Lugger again and will be recommending to friends and family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing