We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful, cosy cottage.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of 26A The Lugger

Sitting Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting Room
View from front of cottage Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Sitting Room
View from front of cottage
Sitting Room
Twin Bedroom
Bay in Portscatho
Portscatho
Coastal Path
View of village
A Beach
Sailing in Gerrans Bay
Cliff Top
A mother seal with her pups in a nearby cove
Beach from cliff path
The Bay at Sunset
View of the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula, Truro District, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Heather H
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Room for Improvement”
Reviewed March 17, 2017 for a stay in September 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We were very disappointed with the standard of this property. The interior was out-dated and grubby, with some curtains that were tattered; the cooking utensils not well cared for and needed replacing; the radiators didn't always work effectively.
Thankfully, the weather was kind to us for the week we were staying in Portscatho and so, we were out most of the time.
We were of 'two minds' about writing this Review but felt we needed to make future visitors aware that the photos and description of this property were not entirely accurate.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2017
I am very sorry to read this review, I can't understand what could possibly have gone so wrong in 5 months since the last very positive review?

If 'in "two minds" about writing this review', the sensible thing to do would have been to have contacted the owner directly to discuss any issues, may I ask why you haven't done so? Unfortunately, I have not been able to oversea the property before the start of the season to access what upgrades and improvements have to be made. Living 200 hundred miles away makes checkups difficult and have to rely on cleaners to report any comments left - curtains were o the list.

Direct communication would have been appreciated. The knock on effects of not doing so are detrimental and unwarranted.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slater249
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful, cosy cottage.”
Reviewed November 25, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

A brilliant place to stay, right by the coast with stunning walks along the cliff paths, only to come back to a warm, inviting and cosy cottage with a lovely open fire. A fantastic place for a relaxing break no matter what the weather.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justinmur...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An absolute dream getaway”
Reviewed June 24, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

this is the second time we have visited Portscatho and staying in this cottage made it that extra bit special. It is the the most perfect location. You are metres from the cliff path where you can walk for miles either away along a fantastic coastline. The cottage itself has all the amenities you need, including wifi and a parking spot (both hard to come by in the village). It has its own private little garden with a big table, lawn and bbq. Bedrooms are well sized and the bathroom lovely. Our dog even had his own bedroom! For walkers, kayakers or even swimmers this is probably the best spot you could ask for in portscatho! We loved our stay and plan to visit again. Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean E
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Inaccurate description”
Reviewed June 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was a quirky and interesting property, but I thought the description did not give an accurate idea of what the property was like. There is no designated parking place although it is described as having parking. There is a verge behind double yellow lines reasonably close to the house where a car can normally be parked, but the owners state that this is on a first come, first served basis. If this is not available, cars can be parked in the village, but parking is very limited. The only bathroom is en-suite to the main bedroom, so the second bedroom is really only suitable for family or very close friends! There is a hairdryer but this is fixed in position, also in the main bedroom. It is debatable whether the property is suitable for the elderly: The shower is over the bath at the sloped end, which might be difficult for older people, as would be the awkward climb into the bath as there is very little space and no handrails. There was no anti-slip mat in the bath, and there is no stair rail to hold onto for part of the stairs. We couldn't find any balcony! Having said all that, the property is in a beautiful location, the lounge is really comfortable, there is a very pleasant little garden and the house is well equipped, and there is a great coastal walk right on the doorstep, as well as a good pub within a short walk. We were surprised to be asked to pay extra if we wanted bedlinen and towels to be included; we were charged £20 for one bed, although the information sheet stated £10 per bed. In my opinion the property is suitable for a couple, or couple with children, but would be crowded for 4 adults as the kitchen is tiny and the dining room small, as well as the bathroom situation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation.
Liked least: Not being provided with directions and information until reminded twice, and not having allocated parking. not having a choice of bedrooms because not all the beds were made up. the towels provided were good, but there weren't enough of the,
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2015
Thank you for your comments.
The majority of our guests are regulars and so are familiar with the layout of the cottage. We am always careful to advise families that they might be better with a more spacious property. We agree that the property is better for couples.
We have owned the cottage for 15 years and the 'courtesy' car parking space has always been available. We feel however that we need to mention that is is not a 'given' although in reality it is!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann D
Province of Perugia, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Wonderful place”
Reviewed February 3, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent a wonderful six days at the lugger on our way back home to Italy , it is a
beautiful cottage very clean and very cosy , in a lovely place on the beautiful Roseland ,
Porthscatho is the perfect place for a holiday any time of the year , lovely beach ,fantastic pub
and a shop that sells every thing , the people are very friendly also ,we had a lovely open fire in the cottage and it has a very pretty garden , we would like to visit again in the summer next time , but even in January it was very mild the daffodils were out a wonderful holiday

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decourcy0...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Cottage of a Cornwall Getaway”
Reviewed October 31, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We came down for 4 days to stay in Portscatho. We couldn't have asked for a nicer cottage - perfectly located right by the sea in a cute village that has everything you need including a pub that serves incredible food, a local shops, a butchers and a post office. In addition there are some beautiful coastal walks. We spent a number of evenings sitting in the lovely little garden, as well as some time in the sitting room with a log fire. It has all amenities that you could require, including wifi! I couldn't recommend Portscatho or this cottage more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the log fire and garden
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucegm
1 review
“Cosy cottage with amazing decor. Relaxing week - loved it!”
Reviewed October 31, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This cottage is gorgeous, very well equipped with a very cosy, homely feel. The decor is very classy, we had a great time staying here and it had everything you would want. Would definitely go and stay at this cottage again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing