We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly disappointing four years on...”

Ardensawah Farmhouse B&B Porthcurno
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Levan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ardensawah Farmhouse B&B Porthcurno
Ranked #1 of 1 St Levan B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointing four years on...”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Ardansawah in 2009 and drove a long way to stay there again in July 2013 as we loved the place first time around. In 2013, we arrived about an hour later than we had advised (by phone that day) after a difficult drive. This arrival seemed unpopular as our arrival greeting was 'limited' - whereas the welcome with tea and a chat had been a very nice feature in 2009. On departure we paid cash to avoid the credit card surcharge - a surcharge not encountered anywhere else in three weeks touring London and England and not made known until payment was sought. The absent bathplug (commented on by another reviewer) in a room that actually costs more because it has a bath seemed odd. Also, after four years it was a little disappointing that no significant maintenance had occurred - the same room was still nice but somewhat more worn and in need of attention. If this lovely location is to stay in touch with its competition it needs to lift its game a little.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paddyaloysius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My wife and I spent a lovely 8 nights here in July of 2013. Position wise it can't be beat. The coastal path is a short amble away, the pristine beaches at Porthcurno just a tad further through a few potato fields. You'll find everyone involved with the B&B to be friendly, from Janet down to the five dogs that greet you upon arrival. Breakfast fit for a king, good facilities inside the rooms and of course, the rooms themselves spic and span and cleaned every morning. Despite the farmhouse's position there are some good places to eat within a few minutes drive and a local mini mart in nearby St Buryan. We were blessed with wall to wall sunshine for much of our stay but the holiday would have been perfect without it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Just stayed here for a couple of days and wish we had booked longer. Fabulous walks along the coast with secluded little coves. The B&B was lovely and Janet was a very attentive hostess, she made us feel welcome immediately after a long journey with a lovely cup of tea. The room was lovely and clean with a gorgeous sea view. Although its a working farm we didn't really get disturbed. The breakfast was very nice, clearly made with very fresh ingredients and Janet catered to our every need. If you want to feel relaxed and chilled then give this a go, you won't be disappointed..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dgray67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Lovely clean room, Janet is a great host. Had lots of laughs around the breakfast table, enjoyed exploring all the wonderful coves ( Porth Chapple and Nanjizal in particular) , all within a couple of miles walking . Highlight was watching seals play whilst having an evening picnic at Nanjizal . One of our best holidays ever

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Wonderful location and very nicely converted farmhouse with excellent rooms and food in a very special part of England. Sadly spoiled by no plug in the beautiful big bath of the family room's separate bathroom. Was informed upon (somewhat embarrassingly) asking for one that it took up too much hot water and they hadto take it away. Sadly, the hot water wasn't enough for a shower after breakfast the following morning either :/

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

My review of this place is somewhat overdue, which is an oversight on my part, and one which I intend to correct right now!
One of my favourite parts of Cornwall is around the area of Porthcurno, and it's an area I have visited many times. On my last visit there, the weather was perfect, so rather than motor back to Bude, we decided to stay the night, and do some more exploring the following day. We couldn't have chosen a better place than Ardensawah Farmhouse. The house was spotlessly clean, the location was ideal, and we were made to feel at home. Oh, and the breakfast was superb!
Anyone, seeking B & B in this area, couldn't do better, and I recommend this place without any hesitation!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank specialK1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This is a wonderful place. Janet is friendly, helpful and makes a great breakfast!

Went with my mum for one night to see a play at the Minack and was so glad we had found this place.

After a six hour car journey Janet made us a much needed cuppa, which was very thoughtful.

Our room was spacious and clean, as was the bathroom.

Breakafast in the morning was a lovely social affair as all 3 rooms sit together around the dining table and all the breakfast dishes looked lovely.

It is on a working farm so you have to go up a couple of skinny lanes to get there but that's what the Cornish roads are like!

For anyone coming to the far end of England I would recommend this B&B and if I go back that way I shall definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nichollsb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ardensawah Farmhouse B&B Porthcurno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardensawah Farmhouse B&B Porthcurno

Property: Ardensawah Farmhouse B&B Porthcurno
Address: St Levan TR19 6JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Levan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in St Levan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Ardensawah Farmhouse B&B Porthcurno St Levan, Cornwall, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing