We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Morristown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible customer service”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel has issues with their ac. It was really hot in the room - there were a lot of ppl complaining about this issue. The hotel staff moved us to another room. However there was already someone else in that room. This is very unprofessional.

They treated us like we were the ones with the issue and spoke to us with tremendous disrespect. When we told them that they were treating us with disrespect, they told us to file a police report ( Joseph the manager - really tactless).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelerfrogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinankersen, General Manager at The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Travelerfrogger,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. I do apologize about the inconveniences you received during your last stay with us. I would like for you to contact me directly so we could have to opportunity to make it right. Please feel free to reach out to me by calling the hotel directly (973) 539- 7300 or e-mail at cankersen@westinmorristown.com. We hope to see you again in the future.


Sincerely,
Colin Ankersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    179
    82
    37
    29
See reviews for
141
114
32
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I stay pretty regularly at the Westin Governor Morris -- 21 nights in 2012! I think it is a great hotel. The location is excellent, near the key corporate centers on the Route 287 corridor. It is an historic building which has been nicely renovated, so you don’t feel like you are staying in a sterile, chain hotel. And of course it has the usual nice Westin features i.e. heavenly bed, double showers, etc. And, there is a coffee bar near the lobby which serves Starbucks. The staff is well trained and very friendly and helpful.

However, what really sets it apart for me is the in-house restaurant – the Blue Morel – which is an outstanding restaurant with locally-sourced ingredients and an imaginative menu. I think it is one of the best restaurants in the entire area -- it is unusual (to say the least) to have such a high quality venue right in the hotel. It has a great atmosphere, and there is a quiet section for more formal dining and also a very light and bright bar area where you can get the same menu.

Most recently the hotel significantly upgraded the exercise facility, which has a new room and new equipment -- very comfortable.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rooster1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinankersen, General Manager at The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Rooster1234,

Thank you for your review and your loyalty to the Westin Governor Morris. It was wonderful to hear all your positive feedback in regards to the hotel renovations, amenity, Westin Workout facility, and our Blue Morel restaurant. We look forward to your next arrival.

Sincerely,
Colin Ankersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Recently stayed at the Governor Morris on business travel.

I've stayed at other SPG properties in the surrounding area as I do business in Basking Ridge and Piscataway, and this is hands-down the nicest hotel I've stayed at.

The facility itself is very nicely appointed, very clean, with new/modern rooms and common areas. Am SPG Gold and was upgraded to a mini suite, which was very nice and spacious - "living room" area with two couches and an armchair, walk in closet, and a separate desk/office area. Bathroom was nice sized and well laid out. Bed was the usual Heavenly Bed and was great. I'll admit I don't get the double-showerhead "heavenly shower," but it had it for whatever that's worth.

Hotel restaurant is well managed and food is quite good. Its definitely not cheap, but the quality and service are outstanding.

Upon checkin, one of my colleagues was crossing the border to his "Gold status" stay, and the clerk was nice enough to notice, congratulate him, and hook him up with a congratulatory cocktail, which I thought was a nice touch.

All in all, the best choice in this part of Jersey, at least that I've come across.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrHao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinankersen, General Manager at The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear MrHao,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We would like to thank you for your loyalty to the Starwood brand as well as the Westin Governor Morris. It was a delight to read all your positive comments. We hope you enjoyed your upgraded room. We look forward to see you again at the Westin Governor Morris.

Sincerely,
Colin Ankersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The list of good things seem to generally outweigh the minor annoyances.

Good: friendly staff, quiet neighborhood, proximity to a lot of corporate campuses that is convenient for most business travelers. The rooms are modern and recently renovated.

Not so great: lack of a club room found in most Sheratons and Westins, which could be an annoyance to some business travelers. No real options for food in walking distance. (Not really the hotels fault or concern) and i have a general personal annoyance to hotels without electrical outlets hear the bed. Here the outlets are behind the headboard which makes having a cell phone charging near you with a working alarm a bit of an annoyance. One suggestion for the hotel is to get lamps with a plug port in it for the next renovations

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HC_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My daughter and I travelled to Pennsylvania for a visit with family. We had checked out a day early from a different hotel because our week-long stay had been fraught with disaster -- plumbing problems that turned the water dark brown, itchy over-bleached bed sheets and lumpy pillows and beds. Let's just say we left grumpy and in search of better accommodations.

I booked the night at the Westin online before leaving Pennsylvania and headed north to Morristown. The hotel is easy to find off the main road and as we pulled up to the exterior of the hotel we already knew we'd made the right choice -- elegant, grand and impressive. The lobby of the hotel was beautiful. The front desk clerk greeted us with a cheery smile and checked us into our room quickly and efficiently.

As my daughter and I entered the room, I think we both said, "Ah" at the same time. Fabulous furnishings (some might say plush even) and the queen size beds felt wonderfully soft and luxurious compared to the stiff, lumpy beds we'd suffered in over the last five days. Too say we were elated is an understatement.

Too tired to walk back downstairs to the hotel's restaurant, we decided to treat ourselves to room service. Both the service and the food was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our delicious and hot entrees.

And finally, the beds did not fail us providing a comfortable, sleepy evening with wonderful sweet dreams. Thank you, Westin!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anchala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
2 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on July 3rd and 4th for my wife's birthday and our Anniversary. The staff was amazing, they surprised us with champagne and strawberries, and made our stay really enjoyable. Brandon and Andrea at the front desk were very eager and willing to make our stay memorable. The pool was very nice and relaxing, but it didnt have the day bed in the pictures. We got upgraded to the suite which was very nice and big, it didnt have a kitchen area though and the bathroom was falling apart a little. The shower head was loose and the double head was kinda of pointless. The heavenly bed though was truly heavenly!

All in all it was a wonderful stay with a great staff and quite atmosphere, i would recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We'd never stayed here before but found it through Starwood's website, as a hotel on our way. It is a very well-kept property, nice lobby and restaurant. The room was bigger than we expected, nicely furnished and clean. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful- everyone, from the minute we got there, seemed to go out of their way to be nice. We will certainly stay there again on our next stop through New Jersey.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morristown
1.5 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
802 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Morristown
Hyatt Regency Morristown
#5 of 5 in Morristown
940 reviews
1.4 mi away
HYATT house Morristown
HYATT house Morristown
#3 of 5 in Morristown
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
1,048 reviews
5.7 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
701 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Morristown Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown

Property: The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown
Address: 2 Whippany Rd, Morristown, NJ 07960-4768
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Morristown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Morristown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Morristown
#5 Business Hotel in Morristown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Westin Governor Morris, Morristown. Our modern yet sophisticated "four-plus" star Morristown hotel offers spacious guest rooms & suites, with state-of-the-art amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown Hotel Morristown
Westin Governor Morris Morristown
Westin Morristown
Morristown Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing