We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“John the Doorman”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Morristown
Dover, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“John the Doorman”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We came to the hotel for lunch at the Blue Morel (which was excellent) and encountered John the doorman in the lobby. He was engaging and friendly and gave us insight on the interior design of the lobby which we were admiring. he made us feel right at home! His friendliness added to our experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank churchorganist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinankersen, General Manager at The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Churchorganist

Thank you for your kind comments and for coming to Blue Morel for lunch. John is an asset to the hotel and we are all committed to meeting and exceeding your expectations.

We look forward to having you back.

Be Well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    170
    79
    36
    27
See reviews for
128
111
32
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I practically live at this hotel (~3 nights per week since September), and I must say that while the hotel is fabulous, the service is even better!

In particular, John (the doorman) is a saint. He seems to have as much pride in taking care of the guests here as he would for his own guests in his own home. In fact, he prevented my cell phone from being stolen when I left it downstairs in the lobby (apparently someone else had tried to take it), and personally delivered it to me! It's very rare to see this kind of behavior in everyday hotel staff. For that, I am grateful!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sahara1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinankersen, General Manager at The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Johnna P

Thanks for your kind comments and for staying with us on a regular basis. It is not easy to travel that much and we are pleased to be your home away from home. John is an asset to the hotel and he is an ambassador for our commitment to customer service.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Be Well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed on business, very impressed by the service!! Upon arrival asked for club access (not club room mind you, just access) and learned hotel didn't have club lounge, which would have been fine, however, front desk agent (wish I could remember name) graciously upgraded me to a "deluxe" room at no additional charge. I thanked him but he didn't have to do that, and proceeded to the largest room with ample sitting spaces and luxurious walk in shower. Such customer service, wow and thank you!! Had quick dinner in lobby restaurant, if you don't have a rental, really is your only option, kind of pricy, the maitre d rather snooty, but past that an incredible meal can be had by all. Would definitely recommend the Westin governor Morris when traveling to that area, many large corporations in the surrounding area, and great quaint little town nearby for entertaining and down time.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinankersen, General Manager at The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Francine T

Thank you for your kind comments and for staying with us. I am glad you enjoyed the Blue Morel Restaurant we are proud of the " Farm to Table " concept. Morristown is a nice area and have a lot of history as well to explore on your next. We do have complimentary transportation for a 5 mile radius to restaurants, shoping, train station and local companies.

We hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to the area.

Be Well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York
Level Contributor
145 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I had a brief stopover for business in the area, and decided to stay at this Westin over some of the other hotels in the area, particularly in Parsipanny.

The hotel is in a historic building/property and gives it a different feel to it. The common areas (entrance, lobby, restaurant) are deflightful.

Staff were friendly throughout, particularly the doormen as you come in.

The rooms were very clean and comfortable. You can't go wrong with the heavenly bed and shower and it made for a good night sleep and relaxation. The rooms were a little small, along with the bathroom. Also, you could hear a little bit the activity from the hallway a little too much.

Room service was super quick, good, and at a decent price.

When in the area again, I would definitely stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petertom25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinankersen, General Manager at The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear U2greek,

Thank you for taking your time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us and appreciate your comments on our food, customer service, lobby and accommodations. We hope that you would come and visit us again in the near future.

Be Well,
Colin Ankersen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I stay @ the Governor Morris 2-4 times a year. We are never disappointed with their clean spacious rooms, friendly cooperative staff, attention to requests and excellent restaurant. John the doorman adds an extra personal touch. Room service is an asset.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nrhdkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinankersen, General Manager at The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Nrhdkk

Thank you for your kind comments and for staying with us several times a year. We are please that you enjoy Blue Morel, we enjoy a lot of positive comments from our guests as well as the local area. I will share your comments with John, he is a great example of our customer service.

We look forward to having you and your wife back with us soon.

Be Well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Spent two days in at this hotel in January. Great location and absolutely lovely property. The lack of other hotels in the area mean the hotel isn't driven by competition, but simply know how to run a top notch property. The restaurant and room service is great, the room are quiet, the lobby lounge very comfortable and the staff is cheerful, professional and very helpful.

The only drawback is the room size which seems more appropriate to an in-city hotel than a suburban property. The rooms are however, clean, well appointed and well maintained. I look forward to my next trip

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg_D_In_Cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinankersen, General Manager at The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Greg_D_In_Cali

Thanks for you kind comments and for staying with us recently. We do enjoy a nice and relaxing location in the historical district of Morristown. We are pleased that you enjoyed Blue Morel restaurant we do get a lot of positive comments on Farm to Table menu and exceptional service.

We look forward to having you come back and stay with us when you travel to this area.

Be Well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Always enjoy coming to the Governor Morris. I had a terrific dinner, hotel stay and find the staff to be very attentive. I find the rooms to be very comfortable and the person doing shoulder massages after work in the lobby is a great idea and appreciated.

Room Tip: Rooms are very cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate111999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinankersen, General Manager at The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear U2Greek

Thank you for your kind comments on your recent stay with us. The Westin Heavenly beds are great , we get a lot of positive comments on how comfortable they are. I will make sure that I share your comments with John, he is good example of the commitment that we all have to meet and exceed lyour expectations when you are staying with us.

We look forward to having you back with us on your next visit to the area.

Be Well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morristown
1.5 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Morristown
Hyatt Regency Morristown
#4 of 5 in Morristown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
1.4 mi away
HYATT house Morristown
HYATT house Morristown
#2 of 5 in Morristown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Morristown Inn
5.7 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hanover Marriott
Hanover Marriott
#2 of 6 in Whippany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown

Property: The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown
Address: 2 Whippany Rd, Morristown, NJ 07960-4768
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Morristown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Morristown
#5 Business Hotel in Morristown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Morristown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Westin Governor Morris, Morristown. Our modern yet sophisticated "four-plus" star Morristown hotel offers spacious guest rooms & suites, with state-of-the-art amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown Hotel Morristown
Westin Governor Morris Morristown
Westin Morristown
Morristown Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing