We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the clueless”

Sushi Lounge - Morristown
Reserve with OpenTable
Sushi Lounge - Morristown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 159 Restaurants in Morristown
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Sushi, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Listen to the creative vibes resonating from the D.J. booth as you sit at the bar and enjoy tasteful tidbits or enticing conversation. Compliment the music, the company or simply the atmosphere with a libation mixed especially for you by our pleasurable staff. From traditional Japanese specialties, such as , Plum wine, Sake, infused, hot and chilled, to creative cocktails; with such an extensive selection to choose from, you might have to stay a while and try a few! Test out our mix masters talents with the martini of your choice, or create your own, never forgetting to take advantage of the half price special. If grapes are your chosen fruit, ask for the perfect wine to compliment your appetizer or entree. Do as the French do, begin and end you evening with a toast of champagne! Select from an extensive array of Japanese faire; from exotic to traditional, your favorites to something new, even the toughest culinary critic will be impressed. Lunch, dinner or take out, the variety and consistent quality of our cuisine will always maintain your interest and keep you coming back. Please look over our menu or stop by for one of our many chefs daily specialties.
new jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“For the clueless”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The food is good, albeit overpriced and the service is very good. I would say that the menu could be more focused on Japanese food as it presently seems a little too eclectic at the expense of authentic Japanese dishes.
It's the atmosphere however, that makes the Sushi Lounge a place not worthy of a second visit. Specifically, the very bizarre inclusion of a DJ spinning out an incessantly and completely inappropriate cacophony of loud dance club music which foils any attempt to enjoy the dining experience or communicate with your guest(s). I don't understand the concept at all and according to our waitress, neither did most other patrons. For some bizarre reason, it seems the owners ignore the complaints and insist on keeping the disco ambiance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kevkon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Owner at Sushi Lounge - Morristown, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hello kevkon. Thank you for your review. Although we would like to hear that you adored your experience, it is comments like yours that have allowed us to be a work in progress for over 13 years. Our concept is to offer the highest quality of food, in a fun, enjoyable surrounding that our customers can make a complete night of. We feel that the music, if not too loud, really compliments our cuisine, which is of the finest quality. Although we understand it is not everyone's taste, it offers an atmosphere that we have found many to like in our 3 locations. It is absolutely up to us to control the volume, as we do know can get a bit loud at times. We look forward to you visiting again and enjoying the overall experience that Sushi Lounge has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    18
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great sushi excellent drinks”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Sushi Lounge has one of the tastiest, and most creative sushi we've had in a long time.
The menu has a great variety and at times have new items added to keep the selection new. All our picks from the menu were excellent and very tasty. To top the sushi the drinks, were also amazing. Prices might be slightly higher than other sushi places but the quality is great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doronbron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“one of the best sushi food I've ever had”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

a little bit too noisy, full of people, tables and sits very small.. but food is really good.
you have tio wait a bit..thet aren't that fast..

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank danielearm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scouseville
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best sushi I've ever tasted - bar none!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Credit must be given where its due - Sushi Lounge has the tastiest, most creative sushi I've ever had! The menu changes some items every few months to keep the selection fresh and delightful.

Anything I've ever picked off the sushi menu has been fantastic. The drinks, including martinis, are also amazing.

While the prices are slightly higher than other sushi restaurants, It is well worth the extra expense. I have not eaten sushi elsewhere in the past few years after discovering this place.

The only downside is that music at night is extremely loud-particularly Friday and Saturday nights, and seats at those times are hard to get. I would recommend going other night or during the day when you can actually talk to the other people at your table!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grouse4scouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Go for the great sushi, not if you want to talk to your dinner companions!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Everything was absolutely fresh and delicious and we finished everything. The avocado salad is a must. Service was just a bit slow but they were busy. The only problem was the music was so loud it was hard to hear my friends at all. Maybe they just crank the music on Friday nights?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Lounge - Morristown also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to Sushi Lounge - Morristown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing