We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality meals, reasonable price”
Review of The Famished Frog

The Famished Frog
Ranked #7 of 156 Restaurants in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary, Pub, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a Morristown's full service family restaurant and sports bar, located "off the green" in downtown Morristown, NJ.
Boonton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quality meals, reasonable price”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We've visited here a few times and have found the atmosphere lively and enjoyed great service. The decor is slightly tacky and dated, but that didn't both us in the face of a quality pulled pork sandwich!

We've had burgers and a sandwiches here, each was tasty and good value for money.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank gorbs87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    89
    37
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Average food, could improve”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We went twice to the Famished Frog, once for dinner once for lunch. On both occasions we thought it could be better, food is ordinary and missing a nice touch. Location is great but there are plenty of better restaurants around in Morristown

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
198 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Loud with average food”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Friday evening in Morristown so we turned on our TripAdvisor app to find a place to eat. Our group of 3 agreed on the Famished Frog. No parking near the restaurant, so we drove around and found a garage 5 blocks away. At 6:45 we were told the wait would be 10 - 15 minutes. 45 minutes later we were seated. Our waiter made several recommendations and we settled on 3 different versions of the recommended burger with different sides and started with the onion straws to satisfy our hunger pangs. The onion straws were OUTSTANDING and we should have stopped with that. The burgers were ordinary as were the sides. We could have done just as well driving thru a McDonald's only the quality of this meat was decidely better. Certainly not worth the wait or price. But, oh, we would go back just for those fabulous onion straws.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, nJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Small kids portions, mediocre food quality”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Need I say more? When the kid's meals are so small that they are still hungry when you are done (and my kids are not big eaters!), you've come to the wrong place. Mediocre food all around.

Helpful?
Thank Ariadne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ordinary!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I went in expecting a different ambience. It was garish and sort of loud. The food was fairly decent though.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Architha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Famished Frog also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to The Famished Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing