We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“elegance, comfort, trip to manhattan-easy”
Review of The Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Madison Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence
new jersey
2 reviews
“elegance, comfort, trip to manhattan-easy”
Reviewed September 24, 2010

The Madison Hotel in Madison, New Jersey, close to Morristown and less than an hour train ride to Manhattan is a find. Historic site, beautiful restaurant and conservatory for weddings, parties. Outside garden patio, lobby that makes you want to stay for hours, lovely breakfast, what else could you want? The Convent Station train station is steps away and is a very easy trip to the city, but there is plenty to do in the Morristown area too.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanwhotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    211
    82
    24
    12
See reviews for
206
182
47
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ct
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

It was fine, the staff was extremely helpful and friendly , the rooms cleam. Free Wifi.TV Channel select was on the limited side, beds were clean and fresh. A nice place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vonrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willis, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed at the Madison for 2 separate stays for 2 days each during a week. We had a nice stay both times; however our rooms did vary between the two stays, but both sets were nice. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the hotel had a lot of character. There were numerous weddings going on while we were there, but it was not an inconvenience. The free continental breakfast was a nice touch. The hotel's locaton across form the train staition is ideal for siteseeing in the surrounding towns. I owuld recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing comfortable stay in the Morristown area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friofrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smcarthur, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2010
Thank you so much for the feedback. We truly do appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

nice hotel, nice staff, nice room, nice bagels. 1 minute walk from train station to nyc.
nothing bad to say. would like fridge however.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corona6pak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Looking over hotels on TripAdvisor, we decided to give The Madison a go. It is in a very nice area, close to Madison and Chatham which both have nice downtown areas. As we entered the hotel, we were immediately greeted by a warm, older style hotel which was somewhat charming. However, the main floor just smelled a bit "old" (mildew-y) and the wallpaper seemed to need a bit of updating. The manager was very polite and checked us in very quickly. When we arrived at the room, it seemed to be a fairly normal hotel room, but definitely had all the amenities including WiFi, although it does lack a small refrigerator. The bed was quite comfortable and everything was very clean. Hot water in the shower came on instantaneously. There is a free continental breakfast from 7-11am. We stayed on a Friday night and on Saturday morning the breakfast area was a bit chaotic, due to a large number of people there for weddings. But if you just grab your food and run back up to the room, then you don't need to deal with it for long. We didn't take advantage of the pool, whirlpool or gym, but they did look nice. Overall, no real complaints minus the fridge (which would have been nice).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JVTravNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
313 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Our family stayed here over Memorial Day weekend for three nights. We used The Madison as a base from which to visit Manhattan. I spent a lot of time in this hotel between late 1990 and mid-1994 and was curious about how it had aged. I lived in it for several weeks at the end of '90 when relocating to NJ and then frequently after being transferred overseas and returning on business. For the long weekend my wife and I decided to give it a shot since we snagged a low rate on Travelocity. I hadn't stayed here since June 1994.

I'm happy to report that it retains its charm. Our King room with a roll-away child's bed was very comfortable. Yes, the a/c billows the curtains out when the heavy drapes are drawn, as another reviewer mentions. This wasn't a big deal to us. We found it easy to control the temp; however, the fan has one speed: high. The temperature was comfortable and the air fresh. The fan provides background noise without being overbearing. Several weddings were at the hotel over the weekend; however, I can't say whether the revelers were loud because the fan enabled us to sleep soundly.

The hotel furnishings and decor are classic/colonial and appear to be very well-maintained. The bathroom is spacious with plenty of hot water and ample space on the vanity. Our room didn't have a safe; however, the front desk staff was very friendly and offered a safe in the office. We had no problem with distant, cool or rude staff.

We used the wireless internet, which was fairly high-speed and simple to connect. An Ethernet cable was in a desk drawer in case guests want to use that instead.

The breakfast spread was quite good. The bagels are outstanding, as one expects near NYC; the croissants were fresh, too. Coffee was a little weak for my taste. Fruit, yogurt, cereal and some pastries rounded out the offering. A shortage of chairs/tables exists in the lobby when lots of people are eating. This is an artifact of the hotel's design. When I stayed here during the early '90s hotels didn't offer continental breakfasts such as this. If you wanted to eat breakfast, you ate in the gorgeous conservatory (which is still there and still beautiful.) Since the weather was pleasant we ended up eating in the courtyard two of the three mornings.

We spent time in the pool, too. Nice for children and relaxing for adults. A small gym abuts it separated from the pool by floor-to-ceiling glass.

The surrounding area between the towns of Madison and Morristown is lovely. Still a lot of corporate offices and the leafy campuses of Fairleigh Dickinson and Drew Universities and the College of St. Elizabeth, which used to be large estates functioning as weekend/summer homes for NYC's wealthy long ago. The town of Madison, approximately one mile down the hill on Rt. 124 is charming.

We didn't eat at Rod's, which is the restaurant in the hotel. Apparently it's still one of the best places in the area.

Finally, the Convent Station NJ Transit terminal is adjacent to the hotel parking lot. It's a two-minute walk from the hotel door. The train runs to Hoboken where the PATH subway train takes you over to Manhattan. It's a fairly quick trip and makes the Madison an excellent base. We ended up driving in and parking in the city as it was quicker and the pkg rates on weekends are low.

All in all, I had a pleasant trip down memory lane and my family really enjoyed the hotel. No complaints at all. It was a very pleasant place to spend a long weekend. Well-run, elegant stand-alone hotels such as this are rare these days. This one is worth a stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbotsbury92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

This hotel strives to be a luxury hotel, but there are some aspects of it that don't measure up.

First, the good: the hotel's location is in a very nice neighborhood. It is mostly corporate headquarters surrounding it, and has a light rail station behind it (not noisy), but I felt very safe leaving my car with some attention-grabbing contents in the parking lot. The lobby is very nice. The front desk staff are very formal, but I never got an attitude from them as others have reported here. The room I stayed in (# 311) had one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in at a hotel. There was plenty of space in the room, with a nice chair and ottoman for watching TV, or a separate desk and chair for working/writing/laptop usage. The room appeared to have both Ethernet and wireless Internet connections available, but I didn't make use of them. The shower had plenty of hot water, and there were two sinks available.

Now, the other stuff: The hotel was relatively quiet except for one instance where I heard someone getting ice from the area next door. The weather required usage of the AC, but it was very difficult to control the temp. There was no wall control, so you had to fiddle with some knobs on the unit which was a guessing game at best. The AC blew behind the window curtains, which billowed while it was on. There was a noticeable odor of mildew after some usage. The floor was lumpy under stocking foot, which I assume was the carpet padding disintegrating. The GFI outlet at the sinks would not hold a plug in it. I put my razor plug in, and it would simply fall out. When you turn out the lights, you notice two very small LED lights on the phone, which are meant to indicate network activity on a Ethernet connection. The phone sits on a nightstand next to the bed, and believe it or not, this little LED lit up the room with fluttering light. I tried to turn the phone towards the wall, but it didn't help much. I ended up taking one of the many pillows and laying it over the phone, and that shut down the light emission from the phone.

I booked this hotel during a sale on Hotels.com for a very low rate. At the rate I paid, the hotel was acceptable. However, if I had paid normal rates for the rate, it would result in a displeased customer.

Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank EJEvo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morristown
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Morristown
Hyatt Regency Morristown
#4 of 5 in Morristown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Morristown Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
HYATT house Morristown
HYATT house Morristown
#2 of 5 in Morristown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center
5.2 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Hotel

Property: The Madison Hotel
Address: 1 Convent Rd, Morristown, NJ 07960-6922
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Morristown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Morristown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morristown
#1 Family Hotel in Morristown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Madison Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Morristown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing