We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Madison Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$329
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
HYATT house Morristown(Morristown)(Great Value!)
$139
$132
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Morristown(Morristown)(Great Value!)
$179
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Morristown Inn(Morristown)(Great Value!)
$150
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hanover Marriott(Whippany)
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Carpet Inn(Whippany)
$62
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$230
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Parsippany(Parsippany)(Great Value!)
$161
$149
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (861)
Filter reviews
861 results
Traveler rating
494
236
95
24
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
494
236
95
24
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastconvent stationred dog tavernold worldhard boiled eggsrod's steak housedrew universitynew yorkbagelsturn down servicefresh fruitbeautiful hotelindoor poololder hotelnj transitwonderful stayinto nyc
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
510 - 515 of 861 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Our friends were married in the beautiful conservatory section of the hotel, which was decorated in gorgeous fall colors. The cocktail party was in an adjacent large room, which was also decorated beautifully, including a swan ice sculpture. The hors d'oeuvres were delicious, the drinks varied and plentiful; the servers and bar tender were attentive and professional. The wedding dinner included a choice of beef, seafood or chicken, again very good. The rooms are extremely clean and the beds are very comfortable, with firm mattresses. The indoor pool and the hot tub are the cleanest I have every seen, and again, beautifully decorated. The "continental" breakfast is very generous, with cereal, yogerts, bagels, croissants, muffins, fruit, juices, toaster, and lots of coffee. The reception area had a huge fireplace and lots of very comfortable seating for groups to congregate in. The staff is polite, friendly, professional, and attentive. I recommend this hotel for anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ardende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

What are pleasure to read how much you enjoyed the hotel and the wedding that was held here. Thank you for saying the guestrooms where extremely clean with comfortable beds, the pool and hot tub were the cleanest you have ever seen, the breakfast was generous and the staff was polite, friendly, professional and attentive and most importantly that you would recommend us to anyone. Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will stay with us again whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ in the future.

Scott McArthur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Very nice and clean room. Friendly front desk. The restaurant inside is awesome. One of the best steaks I ate. My wife tried their seafood also was impressed.
The pricing for NJ was a steal. A lot of free parking.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank kremlinguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your business and are happy you found the room nice and clean, the front desk staff friendly and the restaurant awesome with one of the best steaks you have ever had. Rod's Steak and Seafood Grille is an award winning restaurant and I am glad you were able to partake in some of its delicious entrees. Thank you again and we look forward to having you as a guest whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We recently spent a Saturday night at the Madison Hotel, as we were in the area to visit Shanghai Jazz in Madison, and decided to make it an overnight "Date Night" rather than drive home after the performance. We were very impressed with this hotel's service, facilities and value. Comments on specific aspects follow:

Check-in/check-out: Seamless. Our prepaid reservation was recognized immediately at check-in, as soon as I gave our last name. There was no waiting for check-out on Sunday morning; we simply dropped off our key cards and departed.

Common areas: Lobby and hallways are immaculate and well-appointed. The lobby is especially nice - we enjoyed coffee by the fireplace. Low, popcorn-tile ceilings in hallways do slightly undercut the otherwise luxurious, antebellum look of the property. Event spaces are very attractive, especially the glass-enclosed Conservatory, which is understandably popular for medium-sized weddings. The main ballroom, which accommodates a larger crowd, might be a bit dark.

Amenities: The small gym is pleasantly bright, and has the standard hotel equipment: mostly aerobic, plus a universal rig for simple weight-training; a single TV serves all stations. The adjacent pool/spa area is bright and clean, with no heavy chlorine scent. The jets in the whirlpool are rather weak, so don't expect much relief for aching muscles.

Room: We had a third-floor room with king bed, facing the small interior courtyard. The room was clean, large and well-supplied with K-cup coffees and teas. Bed was comfortable - maybe a bit on the soft side for some tastes. Noise was not bad, considering the presence of a wedding party down the hall, the elevators nearby and the train station up the road. I wouldn't call the walls thick - just adequate. The bathroom was quite nice: modern, comfortable and stocked with good-quality toiletries (though the blood-orange additives were a bit harsh for my sensitive skin). Dual-mode shower head is a nice touch; the water pressure seemed a bit low to get the full benefit from the shower-massage head. Climate control was responsive - we turned up the heat as the night turned chilly, and everything worked well.

Extras: Free hot beverages are available 24/7 in the lobby, and seem to be refilled regularly. We were pleasantly surprised by the complimentary breakfast: lots of good fresh fruit and decent baked goods with nice jams and preserves. There were hard-boiled eggs, but no other hot entrees - a relief for us, because we ate too much all weekend anyway. We did not eat at the hotel restaurants; they seem rather pricey for the area.

Overall: Some purists may be put off by the faux-Confederate decor of the Madison. If you want the real thing, drive to Virginia. For a Holiday Inn price, this is about as close as you will get to Southern hospitality in Northern Jersey. Kudos to the Madison. We'll be back!

Note to fellow cheapskates: We booked through P*******e, naming our own price at a level that I consider an all-time date-night bargain.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard seem to be a safe choice.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigblueblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback. We truly appreciate it and look forward to having you as a guest whenever you are ready for another date night. Thank you for staying with us and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Scott McArthur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Had a very nice stay for 2 nights for a college class reunion. The Madison Hotel is classic looking and well maintained. The rooms were decorated nicely. The lobby was very nice and had a wood burning fireplace. There is also a courtyard with tables and chairs.

The included breakfast is top notch. The jellies and jams were in little glass jars rather than the standard plastic packets.

The hotel is just across a parking lot from the New Jersey Transit rail line which made it easy to get to NYC.

I'll definitely stay here again for another reunion.

The only thing that could be improved would be the addition of a clock radio. They had an ipod port (which did not fit my mp3 player), but no actual radio.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlennandPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear that you found the hotel well maintained, the breakfast excellent and the location beneficial to visiting NYC. Please continue to stay with us whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times before when visiting our Aunt in New York and we have always enjoyed it. Unfortunately this time our car broke down on our way back and because it happened at the week end the new parts required took four days to arrive and be fitted. So we were forced to extend our stay on a day by day basis, and the hotel staff were only too pleased to help us in any way they could. We decided to make the most of our difficult situation and turn it into a mini vacation. Fortunately we could easily walk to the nearby train station and visit lots of interesting places without even missing our car. The hotels restaurant was wonderful and the bar food was also tasty and reasonably priced, so we ate there most evenings. The free breakfast was more than adequate and the indoor pool and hot tub were very clean and refreshing. We are discerning seniors who have traveled the world and this hotel should be graded "Five Star" because it has beautifully decorated ceilings and antique furniture yet modern bathrooms and fittings. It is just wonderful and we could not have broken down in a better place. Thanks again

Room Tip: We had a King room overlooking the quiet courtyard but have never had a problem in any room we have stayed in here. Inconsiderate "Door Slammers" woke us once but this was hardly the fault of the Hotel. Perhaps lighter springs on the Door closers would help?
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrevandTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

I am sorry to hear that your auto broke down but happy that we were able to accommodate you. Thank you for your business and thank you for returning again and again. We truly appreciate all the feedback you provided and look forward to having you as a guest every time you visit your aunt in New York or anytime you visit northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews