We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really mediocre choice”
Review of The Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Madison Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The outside of this hotel looks really nice, like some kind of grand, old world hotel. But the guestrooms just do not live up to the exterior and public spaces. Very forgettable, standard hotel decor. There was no trash bin in the bathroom and the bathroom itself needed to be updated. Breakfast was a complimentary Continental offering in the hotel lobby. This was not comfortable, as there were not enough tables to accomodate the guests, so we ate with our food balanced on our laps sharing a couch with 2 other people. My advice - either move the breakfast to a proper room, serve it in the hotel restaurant, or get some more tables and chairs. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. When we checked in, the hall outside our room smelled strongly of fish and the staff dealt with that immediately. The wifi is free and you can self-park at the hotel. Nobody is available to help with bags so you will need to schlep things in on your own. Overall, a very mixed experience for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank americantravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. I was happy to hear you enjoyed the complimentary wi-fi, complimentary cold breakfast buffet and complimentary parking. It was also nice to hear you found the staff friendly and helpful and the exterior and public spaces of the hotel nice. I was concerned about your comments about the breakfast area, we have over 80 total seats (including our courtyard) available with 40 being at a table and the rest next too or in front of some type of end table or coffee table. We also serve breakfast for three hours so if it is busy at one time guests can come back at a less busy time. As you can see from other comments (including the one posted the same day as yours "Madison Hotel - You rescued us!" who commented that the breakfast area was "nice and comfy"), breakfast iin our lobby and courtyard is a very popular offering. I also was confused about you having to take luggage to your room. The front desk supervisor remembers checking you and your son in and offering assistance. She also was the one who removed the room service tray from outside your room. Is she mistaken? If so, please call me so I can clairfy what happened and ensure it does not happen to anyone else. We ALWAYS have someone available to help with luggage. Thank you again, and please stay with us whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

645 - 651 of 824 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

I first came here about 20 years ago on a business trip. 20 years, later while on a 12 day vacation trip, I got the Sheraton in Parsippany through Hotwire instead. My co-worker told me that the Parsippany area is perfect for visiting New York. He was wrong! The drive is too long. It took over 30 minutes to get to New York. and over an hour to get to Flushing. I drive just as bad as most New York drivers! Anyhow, the Sheraton was a nightmare! After staying at the Sheraton for about 30 minutes and getting called racist names, the wife told me to look for another hotel. She didn't want the Madison. She wanted a hotel where I could get some "points", like a Hilton, Hyatt, or Marriott. Being a good husband, I didn't listen to her. I took her to the Madison instead. I explained my situation with the front desk, and they were empathetic to my situation. They wanted to step in and help. They were very nice and gave the daughter a stuffed animal. My wife was not convinced. She wanted to see the room before we committed. The first room was on the second floor. It was a nice room. The problem? The wife does not like lower floors. So, we didn't take it. The front desk then offered to give us another room on a higher floor. They didn't recommend it because there was a wedding party, and they were concerned that would be too loud for us since the music would stop at around midnight. Since we were on vacation and on Pacific Time and vacation mode, we accepted!

The room had one king bed. They offered to give us a roll in bed. But, we declined since we didn't think the daughter would sleep by herself. The air conditioning unit was loud. On the first night there, it kept on waking me up. I finally turned it off in the middle of the night for some peace and quiet. The wife made comments that the room and bathrooms were a little dated. I would have to agree. Wallpaper was peeling off the wall in certain places. The wife also complained that the television did not have enough channels, specifically her new favorite HGTV. What made up for the negatives was the service. The service was impeccable. The bell man always greeted me and opened the doors for me. The front desk went above and beyond in helping us.

The continental breaksfast was good. It didn't have "just add water scrambled eggs" or sausage pattys like some of the chains have. But, they did offer fruit and lots of breads. The breakfast area was nice and comfy.

Parking was FREE! I was tired of paying high prices for parking. It was a relief to my wallet.

If I was in the area, I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilY209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Thank you for your business and for saying you would definitely come back, I spoke with you about your experience in Parsippany and I hope you now know the treatment you received there is not a reflection of that community or even this county. It was a pleasure having you and your family as our guest and rest assured we will always be here for you. Tell your wife not to worry about losing any loyalty points since the complimentary wi-fi, complimentary parking, complimentary cold breakfast buffet, complimentary local transportation, etc. more then make up for it. Thank you again and please visit us whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed for a weekend at the Madison. Older nice looking hotel in good location, but with some significant problems.

The Good: Nice Staff, Truly lovely decor, decent size rooms, great fresh fruit at continental breakfast. Good location. Quiet. Nice view out front of hotel.
The Bad:
Cleanliness and Housekeeping: Pool skimmer very poor. Lots of hair and bugs floating on surface of lovely pool. Wouldn't go in. Too bad, because the pool area is really nice and it was the reason I choose this hotel over others I saw online. Jacuzzi was okay. Also not the cleanest room. Cobwebs/spiderwebs all over windowsill. Water drained slowly from shower. Asked front desk twice for extra regular coffee in room and it was never brought. They did have very good coffee in lobby 24 hrs per day however. Still, I like my in-room morning coffee.

Technical Problems: Door lock broken when checked in, but was fixed very quickly by very nice and efficient engineer. (so this isn't necessarily a point against the hotel, just a bit frustrating). Last night AC Unit not working. (It was literally in the 90's when we returned to the hotel at 1AM. Didn't call front desk because just wanted to sleep. At checkout informed engineer and front desk and they said it was the circuit breaker and told us we should have called the front desk. But at 1:00 in the morning I was too tired to wait for someone to come up and fix it. I was surprised that the front desk was not more apologetic about this with the temperatures so high.

All in all I'm not sure if I would recommend this hotel. I might try a different one next time I go to Morristown.

Room Tip: Pick a high floor facing the front of the hotel (church side) for a quiet location with a really nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StarlightCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay and for staying with us. I am glad you enjoyed the nice staff, lovely decor, nice sized room and complimentary breakfast we had to offer. I wanted to apologize for the lack of response in regards to your request for more coffee, that is unacceptable and I will address it with the team. I also want to apologize for the cobwebs you found in your windowsill. I had it corrected as soon as I received your comments and today I am having housekeeping check and clean as necessary all windowsills. I also would like to apologize for the surface of the pool being dirty. We have a retractable roof in the pool area and sometimes an insect or two might sneak in before our team can scoop it out. I know that can be a little disconcerting to some and we do our best to stay on top of it, however we missed it when you visited the pool that day (a case of being in the wrong space at the wrong time). I am sure if you return you will not encounter these issues again and we look forward to having you as a guest again in the near future. As you know, Trip Advisors members rank us very high and I am truly disappointed we did not meet your expectations. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you decide to give us another chance.

Scott McArthur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The decor is replete with old world elegance. Beautiful hardwood woodwork, unique fireplace, conservatory, free beakfast buffet in a courtyard, gracious sitting areas add to the gracious ambience. When in the area, the Madison will be our first choice.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SisterSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor we appreciate your business and are happy to hear you will stay with us whenever you visit northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed at the Madison to be close to Drew University for graduation ceremonies. It was a little tricky to find by car, but the train station is right next to the hotel so arriving that way is easy. We stayed in a suite. The adjoining room had a refrigerator and a small kitchen-like area with a bar for serving food and drinks. Friends and family gathered there for a small after-graduation party. The beds were comfortable, and our room was quiet. We were able to darken the room so that early morning sunlight didn't disturb us. We ate dinner in the pub because we were too tired to explore the nearby town. The pub was family friendly and crowded so service was a bit harried, but the staff was solicitous and the food was tasty. The self-service breakfast had a good variety of choices -- fruit, hot and cold cereal, sweet rolls, hard-boiled eggs, coffee, tea, juice, yogurt, toast, muffins. We didn't use the pool or spa. For train fans, there is an old train dining car where you can have dinner seated like you would be on a train.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. I was thrilled to hear you found the hotel beautiful, comfortable and convenient and hope you will stay with us whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The Madison Hotel in Morristown, NJ, is a beautiful and elegant hotel. In my opinion, it's far nicer than even an upscale "chain" hotel because of its individuality. We hosted our wedding reception there, and all of our guests raved about the property. It's the type of place that's truly unique and really feels more like a "resort". They have a nice health club, an indoor pool, 2 restaurants, and a very generous complimentary breakfast each morning in the lobby. I would highly recommend it for anyone hosting a party or just looking for a nice getaway. My husband and I plan to stay there whenever we need some R&R! They have beautiful rooms and bathrooms, and the staff is very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Congratulations on your wedding, best wishes for a happy life together. We look forward to having you as our guests again whenever you or your husband need a little R+R. Thanks for recommending us and I am glad you found our hotel beautiful and elegant, far nicer than even an upscale chain hotel with beautiful rooms and a very professional and friendly staff. We look forward to having you as a guest again and hopefully we will see you soon.

Scott McArthur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Easy to rate the Madison excellent. I have stayed there countless times over the past 14 years whenever I go to visit my relatives from my old hometown or go to New York.

The hotel is beautiful, comfortable, clean, and quiet. The food is delicious, the service fine. I've never had a bad room. I love walking across the parking lot and hopping on the train to NY. Always fun and convenient.

I have recommended the Madison to many people over the years, and none of them have ever complained.

I travel extensively for pleasure, and I hold all hotels to the standards of the Madison. If I had to say something less than excellent, it would be that I miss their little gift shop.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and rating us excellent, we truly appreciate your continued loyalty and recommendations to your friends and family. It is nice knowing that you have stayed with us countless times and use our hotel as the standard for other hotels you stay at. It is nice to know that no matter how often you come, you still find the hotel beautiful, clean and comfortable with delicious food and fine service. Please continue to stay with us whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morristown
1.2 mi away
HYATT house Morristown
HYATT house Morristown
#3 of 5 in Morristown
388 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Morristown Inn
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Morristown
Hyatt Regency Morristown
#5 of 5 in Morristown
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center
1.6 mi away
The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown
5.2 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Hotel

Address: 1 Convent Rd, Morristown, NJ 07960-6922
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Morristown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Morristown
#1 Family Hotel in Morristown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morristown
Price Range: $150 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Madison Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Morristown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing