We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm”
Review of The Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Madison Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed at the Madison for three nights in conjunction with a wedding. The hotel is in a very convenient location for local touring or for a visit to New York City. The train station is just off the hotel grounds. Parking is free.
The hotel is beautifully appointed and the service was excellent. The rooms were comfortable but in need of updating. Currently has a 1980's feel albeit a well kept one. Our room #353 looked out over the roof of the restaurant. If you want a view be sure and ask for one. A generous buffet breakfast was included but seating is very limited especially the day it rained and the tables outside were not available.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeschacht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2011

Thank you for staying with us and commenting about your stay on Trip Advisor. The team and I truly appreciate your feedback and were happy to hear you found the location convenient for local touring (many Revolutionary War sites) or visiting NYC. Why pay NYC hotel and parking prices if you can stay here and get a complimentary deluxe cold breakfast buffet, free parking, free wi-fi all in a hotel that you found to be beautifully appointed with comfortable well-kept room and excellent service? We are thrilled that you stayed with us and hope you return whenever you visit northern NJ or NYC.

Scott McAthur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (846)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

735 - 741 of 846 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2011

If, like us, you are more used to country life and find city life a tad overpowering, The Madison offers a charming and peaceful retreat after a frantic day site seeing in New York. Station across a parking lot opposite, but not noisy. Trains into Penn Station are frequent and comfortable, taking about an hour. Helpful staff, delicious breakfast and a gym with pool should you need it. Didn't use the WiFi but the free access computers in the foyer did the job for us.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueThould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2011

You can have both the charming and peacefulness of the country as well as the hustle and bustle, lights and nightlife of the city when you stay at the Madison Hotel. Easy access to the train (one stop west and you are in the center of Morristown, or one hour east and you are in NYC), allows you to stay with us and enjoy the best of both worlds. I was thrilled to hear you found the staff helpful, breakfast delicious and hotel charming and peaceful. Thank you for the feedback and please stay with us again whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

The Madison is a charming hotel in an older building. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are spacious albeit a little dated. The hotel provides good value for money.

I encountered an issue with their WiFi network which did not work on my Apple and BlackBerry at all and only gave a weak and slow signal on my PC. I spoke to the reception about this and they suggested to try it in the hotel lobby close to the window... This did not work either - surprise! They also said that this is a known issue that seems to have been around for some time. I would suggest for the management to fix this asap.

The hotel includes breakfast which is served in the lobby. When the hotel is full, due to conference or wedding, it tends to get really busy during breakfast so either come early or take your brekkie to your room...

Finally, the hotel has a good Steak restaurant on the premises. Nice atmosphere although my steak was not cooked to my preference. They did refund the meal when I notified them.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frits d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2011

Thank you for staying with us and commenting about your stay on Trip Advisor. The team and I were thrilled to hear you say the hotel is charming, the staff friendly, rooms were spacious, restaurant was good and overall it is a good value. We appreciate your feedback and have attempted to address the wifi issue. Hopefully, you will return soon and you will not encounter that issue again. Please visit us whenever you visit northern NJ or NYC.

Scott McArthur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

One hour train ride from Convent Station (which across the street) into Penn Station in New York City. Safe, convenient, and relaxing place to stay. Hotel is always high quality, excellent service, lovely rooms, great food. We always stay here when we do a day trip into NYC. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Higher up you go, farther away you are from the party events in their ground floor conference rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veedalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2011

WOW!!! The team and I appreciate your loyalty to the Madison Hotel. We are thrilled you stay with us whenever you are in northern NJ or when visiting NYC (easy access from the train located across the street from the hotel). Your comments about the hotel being a "safe, convenient, and a relaxing place to stay" as well as "hotel is always high quality, excellent service, lovely rooms, great food" and the fact that you highly recommend the Madison Hotel is inspiring to the team and I. Thank you again and hopefully we will see you again soon (NYC is beautiful during the holidays).

Scott McArthur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

While visiting our Drew college student, we happened upon this great hotel. We've been at nearby chains, etc and this place is lovely in comparison. The kind staff , delicious breakfast buffet each day (fresh and varied!), we worked out in the gym - ran the nearby trails in the vicinity - and slept so well. We will try to stay here whenever we can.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAfamilyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2011

Thank you for your kind words and for staying with us. It was a pleasure to read that you found the Madison Hotel lovely in comparision to the nearby hotel chains and that the staff was kind, breakfast was delicious and you slept well. That is what I look for in a hotel experience and was happy to hear we delivered it to you. Please stay with us again whenever you visit northern NJ or NYC.

Scott McArthur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

This is a well-appointed somewhat historic hotel. It's a bit of a hybrid - not the charm (or down-sides) of a truly old historic property, nor the amenities of a modern or stylish hotel. Lobby is very nice; rooms are good but not great. They serve a continental breakfast for free in the lobby. Food goes beyond the usual 'continental' in that it includes hard-boiled eggs, for those of us who need a bit of protein with our carbs in the morning. However, serving in the lobby, where there isn't really proper seating for a meal, is uncomfortable, both socially and physically. Attached restaurant is excellent, though pricey.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaulPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2011

Thank you for your business and for commenting about your stay on Trip Advisor. The team and I appreciate the feedback and hope you stay with us again whenever you visit northern NJ or NYC.

Scott McArthur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This is a great place to stay if you're going to be in north Jersey (Madison, Chatham, Morristown). You're walking distance from the Convent Station on the Morris Line of NJ Transit, and the location is convenient on NJ-124.

The rooms are nice, although the ceilings could use a little touching up. (I'm not being picky here - there were some substantial wall-to-wall cracks). The pillows and linens were clean and comfortable.

The continental breakfast is much nicer than most, and the coffee was delicious. Everyone was friendly and helpful. We were here for a wedding, and we loved it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank havick580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2011

Thank you for staying with us and commenting about your stay on Trip Advisor. The team and I appreciate the feedback and were happy to read your quote "Great hotel, great service, nice coffee and breakfast". Please visit us again whenever you visit northern NJ or NYC (as you said the location is very convenient to the trains that can deliver you to NYC in less than an hour).

Scott McArthur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morristown
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Morristown
Hyatt Regency Morristown
#5 of 5 in Morristown
1,014 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Morristown Inn
1.2 mi away
HYATT house Morristown
HYATT house Morristown
#3 of 5 in Morristown
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center
5.2 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Hotel

Address: 1 Convent Rd, Morristown, NJ 07960-6922
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Morristown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Morristown
#1 Family Hotel in Morristown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morristown
Price Range: $147 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Madison Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Morristown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing