We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Morristown Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed October 1, 2007

Overall, pretty average although the rooms and hallways seemed old and a little run down.

Staff was ok and one particular person was quite helpful with regards to taking the train into NYC (about an hour travel?). However, there were some times when staff was naught to be found or not very helpful.

  • Liked — Small town feel appropriate to city
  • Disliked — Not close enough to NYC for people looking for more action but cheaper accomodation
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank originalwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    98
    37
    9
    7
See reviews for
100
67
30
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2007

Was here one night for a conference. The hotel is fairly clean, but not SUPER clean. There are NO amenities or services. Breakfast buffet is in the basement and it's sort of a downer. The food was passable, staff nice, but it closes at 9:30 AM and then there are NO food choices in the hotel. There is ONE very over priced vending machine with food on the first floor - ONLY takes quarters, nothing else... and another overpriced vendign machine for beverages in the basement... so if you want chips & a soda... you see where this is going? No ATM in building. Front desk was pleasant, but there is not much to be accomodating WITH at this hotel. Rooms were adequate, not the cleanest I've ever seen. Over all this is just an ok hotel, if I had to be here more than 1 night, I would have checked out immediately.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BunChi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2007

This hotel is an old-style, independent hotel, operating independently under the Best Western Brand. Like most hotels in New Jersey, there’s no mini-bar. Unfortunately, there’s no real bar, either. The restaurant is in the basement (depressing). Breakfast food was decent, but the staff was friendly at the breakfast buffet.

The rooms were disappointing as well. Mine was big, but the décor was tired, the furnishings worn, and the bed sagging. And I’ve never seen a slower elevator in my life. They had basic internet service and a wacky antique pay-per-view system for movies, where you used the in-room phone to drive the menu and order your movie. Kind of fun in a luddite sort of way.

The location is not too far from the center of town, with a few restaurants and shops in walking distance. But you will generally need a car or taxi to get around.

If you have to stay in the Morristown area there's not a lot of choice for real hotels (as opposed to suite hotels on freeway offramps and other big roads) and I'm not sure this counts as a real hotel. If you have a car you're probably better off at the Westin or one of the Hiltons nearby.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jet-Setter-SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Richmond, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2007

I had a one day meeting at the local Metlife office and stayed at this facility. This is a colonial/residential area of NJ and is very pretty. This hotel blends in well. Only a couple of food options within walking distance. The rooms were nice enough for being on the older side. I was able to sleep well the staff was helpful when I needed help finding food, etc. The hotel breakfast was pretty good.

Overall, I would probably stay somewhere else next time but mostly because I am not a loyal Best Western customer and tend to move to Hilton or Marriott properties.

  • Liked — This was a very quiet place!
  • Disliked — Not much in the area.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank orr333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2007

This is a nice hotel in Morristown. A good place to stay if you plan on being out most of the day, as this is a no pool, no frills hotel. My first impression of the hotel did not go well. We asked for an extra pillow at check-in and was sarcastically told by the desk agent, "ABSOLUTELY! Not." It was the strangest situation... I felt like I was in the twilight zone the way she answered so robotically.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Dr.Ana_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Various
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2006

For the price, this hotel provides a good place to stay in the Morristown area. Although there is not restaurant within the hotel, it is within walking distance of several restaurants and a grocery store. The Inn offers breakfast that includes simple fare. Service was pretty good and the rooms were clean. I was able to hear through the walls, although not to the point of distraction. Free Wireless Internet.

If you want a basic place to stay that is clean, near the heart of Morristown and not too expensive...this is a good place for you.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Renovations could be done to increase quality of accomodations
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ooHereandthereoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 30, 2005

We stayed at the Best Western Hotel in Morristown, NJ the last weekend in August. The entire experience was very positive. The staff was attentive and helpful. There was always coffee and tea available in the lobby area along with a nice bowl of apples. Our room was clean. I especially liked the fact that the bathroom sink was actually in the bathroom and not outside the bathroom door like so many of the newer hotel/motels are these days. The continental breakfast was so much more than the usual. In addition to all the usual fare, you could also get pancakes, waffles or eggs. A member of the staff was there to help with these items. We would recommend this hotel to travelers.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morristown
1.5 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
795 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Morristown
Hyatt Regency Morristown
#5 of 5 in Morristown
933 reviews
2.0 mi away
HYATT house Morristown
HYATT house Morristown
#3 of 5 in Morristown
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center
3.7 mi away
HYATT house Parsippany/Whippany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Morristown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Morristown Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Morristown Inn
Address: 270 South St, Morristown, NJ 07960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Morristown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Morristown
#2 Family Hotel in Morristown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Morristown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Morristown Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western PLUS Morristown Inn! A member of the Green Hotel Association. Located just minutes from historic downtown Morristown, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Morristown Inn is close to a variety of local restaurants and shopping. This hotel offers guests friendly customer service and exceptional accommodations in newly refurbished guest rooms including extended stay suites. Each spacious room comes with cable television including 7 HBO stations on 32 inch flat screen TVs and wireless high-speed Internet access. Guests staying at this 100 percent non-smoking hotel will enjoy a complimentary hot and cold breakfast buffet including made to order omelets and dining at the Hibiscus Restaurant for lunch or dinner. Additional amenities include a fitness center, business services and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Morristown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Morristown Hotel Morristown
Best Western Morristown Hotel
Morristown Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing