We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The heart of Morristown” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Morristown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Morristown
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The heart of Morristown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2009

Hotel is in the heart of Morristown and the staff represent the town in a fantastic manner. I have stayed in better rooms but never enjoyed interaction with the staff like I did at the Hyatt. From the moment of check in to the restaurant, bar and even the housekeepers all are happy and welcoming. Tough jobs to smile through too with customers from teenagers, to wedding groups and then the experienced business traveler like myself. This hotel has character and a feeling of welcome that in my travels has been rarely found. Great beds, lousy bathrooms but a room is a room. Can't match the people!

  • Liked — Location to local activities
  • Disliked — age and quality of bathrooms.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Yankeeswin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    277
    160
    59
    41
See reviews for
188
145
59
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2009

The Hyatt in Morristown is not your typical Hyatt; however, it is satisfactory. Although the lobby, check-in, and common areas are somewhat shabby, the rooms themselves are comparable with other Hyatt hotel rooms. Wonderful "Hyatt" bed, Portico bath products, lovely view of the charming little main street of Morristown. Check-in and check-out was quick and easy. The staff was friendly. Employees call customers by name; the housekeeper, when we forget to take off the "do not disturb" sign, gladly supplied us with more shampoo, etc. than we needed. I especially like the free covered parking, as it rained for some of the trip. Just be sure to get your ticket validated each time. Most Hyatt hotels in downtown areas charge for parking. The pool and fitness center is not located inside the hotel but is instead connected to the movies theater and mall. It's small and also in need of renovation but sufficient.

The hotel is close to some dining and shopping, but it seems many of the establishments close early on weeknights. We had trouble getting something late. There is a Burger King and a Dunkin' Donuts, as well as a carryout-7-11 type store. There is a Trader Joe's within ten minutes, which was wonderful for a picnic we made. The shopping center also has a decent liquor store.

We did not purchase Internet access at the hotel, but there is a public library very close that is adorably historic and has free WI-FI. We were attending the Dodge Poetry Festival in Stanhope, so the hotel was not convenient, but places near the festival were already booked. It's about a 35 minute drive down the highway.

Overall, a nice stay. The best part, the hotel was only $35 per night. Booked through Priceline.

  • Liked — Free parking, Rooms, Price
  • Disliked — Too far from our event
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pageofthebackstairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2008

THis is a nice hotel with good amenities. It was quiet with a well furnished room that has that wam feeling of comfort. I stayed one night during the christmas week and it was crowded. Weddings, ect. But my stay was quiet and confortable. The movie theater is right there in the hotel. Food is close by with pretty much a whole gamut of selections. Historic area is easy walking distance too.
I travel all over the country and and this is one of my favorite business over nights.

  • Liked — Amenities, Locality
  • Disliked — An elevator was always open. Possibley to anyone (not staying at the hotel?). Think security.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MSPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2008

I visited whilst attending a training course. I booked the room direct with the property and paid the full rack rate, which was very expensive considering what I found when I checked in.

The staff are generally very, very nice. Problem is this alone is not enough to warrant the costs involved and the quality of the stay!

A beer from the bar costs $7, breakfast will set you back at least $20 after coffee and juice have been added, a simple bottle of water is $6 (provided in room). Probably all very acceptable in a 4* hotel, but this simply isn't.

In my case I booked a Deluxe King Room. The bathroom was awful, the drain was blocked and the bath took an age to empty.A definate refit required here! The furniture was acceptable, but covered in stains, not what you would expect from a Hyatt.

Don't expect any surprises in the entertainment department either. The TV in the room is a 24" CRT, no flatscreens here! The bedside clock/radio is good and comes with a docking station for an IPod, but that's one of the few redeeming features.

all in all I agree with my fellow reviewer, if you can stay for $80/90 a night then great. But anything more is simply too much!

  • Liked — Comfy Bed
  • Disliked — Tatty Property
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MukeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Ca
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2008

To call it a Hyatt Regency is a stretch. The bathrooms need total refurbishing. There are no robes, slippers. Very bare. If you can get a good rate on the website - below $100 then it is a good value. Parking in the garage was easy but had to validate ticket each time you went in and out this was very inconvenient should come up with something better. Housekeeping would finally get to cleaning the room around 4:30 pm just when I am back or in the shower. Good location but unless they refurbish it is not worth over $100 a day. The front desk staff was very professional and pleasant.

  • Liked — Lobby
  • Disliked — Bathrooms
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Chiorazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorain, OH
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2008

I truly loved this hotel. We had a hard time finding it with our GPS since the address didn't show up, but when we called the hotel they were quick to give us an alternate address. Once we got there, they even recommended a great restaurant and shopping area in the process. The beds were overstuffed and comfy. What a great night's sleep. I definitely would stay here again. The lobby was beautiful and the bar had a wall of water right off the lobby that gave it a contemporary yet peaceful vibe.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Getting to the parking garage was a bit confusing.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank classyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2008

Most Hyatts are built from the ground up. This is a conversion. Hyatt took over this facility from a private hotel some time in 2006 or 2007. While the staff is Hyatt trained and operated (in other words, very good), the facility does not feel or look like a Hyatt. The lobby lacks the typical Hyatt appeal. The hallways are dark, twisty and somewhat narrow. The doors are large steel structures that remind you of college dorms. The rooms themselves are functional, but lack charm. The beds are great, though. Very comfortable. The bar/resturant is nothing special. Self parking is free and there are several good places to eat within walking distances. The service is great, the hotel is safe, the rooms OK. But it just does not look or feel like a Hyatt.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foster32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morristown
2.5 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown
2.6 mi away
HYATT house Morristown
HYATT house Morristown
#3 of 5 in Morristown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Morristown Inn
3.0 mi away
Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 mi away
Hanover Marriott
Hanover Marriott
#2 of 6 in Whippany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Morristown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Morristown

Property: Hyatt Regency Morristown
Address: 3 Speedwell Ave, Morristown, NJ 07960-6838 (Formerly Headquarters Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Morristown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Morristown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Morristown
#3 Family Hotel in Morristown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Morristown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the excitement and convenience of city life from the tranquility of our vibrant hotel in Morristown, New Jersey. Set amid a prime business center featuring entertainment, shopping and dining options, Hyatt Morristown is the ideal downtown base for any and every occasion delivering chic, contemporary accommodations, inventive cuisine, expansive meeting facilities and uncompromising service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Morristown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Morristown Hotel Morristown
Morristown Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing