We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent brand hotel at this price in downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Morristown
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Morristown
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Hyatt Morristown is one of the perfect hotels in services and quality. Extremely courteous staff and will do anything possible to help you. Location is the huge factor for this hotel amidst the happening part of the town. It has also a huge gym with indoor swimming pool and a multiplex too. Complimentary breakfast is the sumptuous. Smart and beautiful ladies at the front-desk will impress you like anything. Ambiance is superb and at the end of a hard day in office you will like to chillax at their lounge with Starbucks coffee or drinks. Provide you complimentary option to print your air-ticket or boarding pass. Also have a ATM in the lobby. Haven't tried the dinner menu though but they have variety. No price in guessing they ought to be expensive. Only drawback I found is absence of kitchenette rooms for extended stay guests.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of hills over Morristown. Amazing sunset you can witness.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Souvik25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorristownHyatt, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Morristown, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to hosting you on your next visit to the Morristown area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (962)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Morristown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

805 - 811 of 962 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2011

We just got back from a weekend away for my husband's birthday. The hotel was fantastic. The staff goes out of their way to make sure you are happy...The location was close to lots of restaurants and shopping. We also used the hotel gym and the attached theaters. We will certainly be back in the future!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travel07452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorristownHyatt, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Morristown, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience on TripAdvisor. It is our goal to exceed the expectations of all of our guests and we greatly appreciate the opportunity to have hosted your visit to the Morristown area. If I may ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

when we arrived it took us 15 minutes to find a spot to park in the dingy parking lot (seems like it is a public lot for all nearby businesses) the entrance is dingy and very outdated (was current about 20 years ago) we waited 10 minutes for the elevator to get up to the reception area. check in was quick, the girl at the front changed our room without any problem after we told her we wanted a different one on a higher floor. the room itself is very business like. with a desk and office chair (so businesslike that the mini fridge was in a cabinet uinder the desk took us a while to find it!) the decor in the room is a bit outdated but very clean overall. the beds and linens were very comfortable, plenty of pillows. the bathroom had lotion, shampoo,conditioner,facxial soap and massage bar soap plus whitening toothpaste (minus the brush) plenty of towels. when you flush the toilet its kinda freaky...it makes such a loud noise and the speed is insane! LOL. the mini fridge takes a while to become cold but afterwards it is ok. there were 2 bottles of water (which is a plus)microwaves are not included in standard rooms there is a 15.00 charge per night. continental breakfast is not included unless you buy a PACKAGE! otherwise the ECCLETIC breakfast will set you back 20 plus bucks per person. i bought breakfast once and the food was high quality and included some extravagant fruit and cheese selections. once you paid for it...the service was impeccable. the waiters kept checking up on you every few minutes if you needed something else and brought it speedily. the pool and fitness center is not part of the hotel,but the hotel has access to it. pool: gym towels were provided (even a 90 pound person couldnt cover their body halfway) is not kid friendly as there isnt steps for the kids to sit on. the gym is gorgeous (it was recently renovated) the hours are very limited. the babysitting center is great. the woman was super nice,caring and friendly (also limited hours) saturday evening there was a wedding at the hotel and all night there was loud noise, fights and laughter and many drunk guests. i opened the door of my room at 1:30 am and heard moans from next door. i thought they were watching an adult movie but it turns out they were getting down to business! a few minutes later there was fighting in the hallway. i opened my door and there was a drunk couple making out. all night the doors were being slammed, kept hearing the toilet being flushed next door and laugther and shouting all night. this is by no means a kid friendly hotel, it is perfect for the single person on business, a couple or if you just dont care who and what you are surrounded by. all cable TV channels were disabled because i didnt have the original credit card with me. will i stay here again?? possibly without kids!! overall it is a clean,business oriented hotel. the staff i did interact with were very nice and tried to help as much as they could.

Room Tip: family vacation? no single person? yes
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honestyisthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

I normally have a good experience of the Hyatt chain, but this hotel is the exception. It starts in the underground car park and service elevator which brings you up - the lobby is not marked. The whole hotel is decorated in an old chocolate brown color which is not inviting and gives the impression of being old and in need of a refresh.

The rooms are a reasonable size, but come with loud air conditioning units which cannot be completely turned off. The internet is expensive, but can be included in the room price. The bathrooms are fine, except that mine had water damage in the ceiling which was safe, but confirmed the overall impression.

The restaurant was closed on the Monday when I was there - it was raining hard and the only food available was a limited bar menu which was neither good quality or very appetizing.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SAPStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorristownHyatt, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Morristown, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you did not find our complimentary covered parking garage to your liking. As we are continuously working to improve our facility we will keep your comments in mind. Although we serve dinner out of our lobby lounge Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday we offer a full menu inclusive of all of the Eclectic Grill entree choices. In fact we offer these items 7 days a week out of our lounge as a convenience for our guests. We are very sorry that you encountered issues with your air conditioner. The recent heat wave has certainly had an effect throughout the region, however, I assure you that each room has an individual control and the units are able to be turned on and off with one touch of the thermostat. I would be happy to discuss this or any of your concerns regarding the property. We appreciate your feedback and would like the opportunity to address your specific concerns directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stayed one evening to attend a nearby wedding, and found this hotel to be almost perfect for my needs. A snafu with my reservation was discovered by the clerk at the front desk -- it was found in the system, but no room was reserved -- and upgraded me to a king suite for my troubles.

The room was, as expected, tailored to the business traveler. Simple, neat furniture, large desk / workspace, flat screen TV. Bed was comfortable, and there was plenty of space. The bathroom was a bit small in relation to the rest of the room, but adequate for one person. I could imagine it being a bit tight for a couple traveling together. And given the room rate, a bit surprising that less attention was paid to this detail.

Hyatt advertises a 40,000 square foot exercise facility at this property. What they didn't make clear was that the gym was in another location within the same complex, but not of the hotel proper. Made it a little difficult to find it for my early morning workout; there could be better signage.

Overall, a very good stay. Not your family vacation spot -- best for business travelers, solos or couples.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CityPlanningProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed there for one night to attend a family function nearby. Room was nice and clean. Could use a little more counter space around the bathroom sink. Ended up having to put cosmetic bag on the floor. Had requested a roll-away bed when reserving the room. Needed to call for it at 11pm that evening. Also there were no sheets in the room for the pull-out couch for our other child. Had to call and have them delivered at 11pm. Otherwise room was comfortable and more than adequate space for 2 adults & 2 children for one night.

Nice touch was cold iced tea in lobby. It was so hot that day and was really welcome after a long drive.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HockeyMomNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Morristown is a larger than expected small town so we were wrong to think that the hotel, due to its size would be clearly visible from anywhere- it was not so we had a tad of difficulty actually finding it. Finally, upon arrival, I must admit, I felt a bit let down…. there was nothing welcoming about the entry area which appeared rather banal with its utilitarian drop off and dated architecture. Luckily that all changes upon entering the large renovated lobby. The reception desk is not grand at all and off to one side appearing insignificant and check-in was swift with our request for adjoining rooms granted. David, the porter, was very friendly helping us with our many bags. The staff hearing about a recent family tragedy had a snack tray sent to our room with a card of condolence which was completely unexpected but quite thoughtful.

Our guest rooms were very large as were the baths and the ceilings high giving the impression of a rather hip NY loft setting- I’d say more Armani in understated elegance unlike many corporate hotels which was a nice surprise. The view toward the green hills was beautiful although the miniblinds did feel a tad out of place. Frankly, I loved the room and the bathroom with the large modern counter and sink although I could see how it might not appeal to the cushy pillow sect.

The rest of the hotel was uneven- some areas nice, others confusing in the layout and questionable in the décor. The fitness center, albeit hard to find and unappealing upon entry perhaps due to remodeling was actually great if you are a serious fitness person- lots of equipment with an expansion and a remodeling nearing completion. Not being part of the hotel but an independent facility, it delivered smashingly. No one in the family used the pool or the restaurant so there is no comment about those amenities.

The parking garage is somewhat convoluted. WARNING- enter only from the front of the building as entering from the back side lower level could leave you lost and driving for ages trying to guess where the hotel parking and entry is (is signage verboten?). Validation is easy and we never had to pay although at times finding a spot was not easy (workweek morning to be exact).

For an upscale urban style hotel, the Hyatt is actually pretty nice. The location is central, the town is charming and the staff and rooms really top notch. A solid hotel and pleasant experience for our short stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morristown
2.4 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
817 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Morristown Inn
2.5 mi away
HYATT house Morristown
HYATT house Morristown
#3 of 5 in Morristown
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown
3.0 mi away
Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center
5.5 mi away
HYATT house Parsippany-East
HYATT house Parsippany-East
#3 of 16 in Parsippany
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Morristown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Morristown

Address: 3 Speedwell Ave, Morristown, NJ 07960-6838 (Formerly Headquarters Plaza Hotel)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Morristown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Morristown
#3 Business Hotel in Morristown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Morristown
Price Range: $153 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Morristown 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the excitement and convenience of city life from the tranquility of our vibrant hotel in Morristown, New Jersey. Set amid a prime business center featuring entertainment, shopping and dining options, Hyatt Regency Morristown is the ideal downtown base for any and every occasion delivering chic, contemporary accommodations, inventive cuisine, expansive meeting facilities and uncompromising service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Morristown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Morristown Hotel Morristown
Morristown Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing