We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dinner!”

GK's Red Dog Tavern
Ranked #8 of 155 Restaurants in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rockaway, New Jersey
1 review
“Great dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Had a great dinner on Valentine's Day! Sergio was a great server! Rod's was booked up so we settled for G.K's. Glad we did! Love the hotel and restaurants here!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    58
    27
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
1 review
“Excellent drinks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Good food, slower service great drinks though. Don't expect much from the service staff on questions on the menu.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not as Expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Went out to eat and heard good things about this restaurant which is attached to the Madison Inn.
The Tavern opened at 4:00 p.m., and we arrived there about 4:15.

Since they are a steakhouse and I heard good things, I looked forward to their prime rib. It was featured on the menu, but the waiter said that it would not be ready until 5:30. I was disappointed because it was on the menu and I came a long way. Then he said I'll check, and when he came back, he said it was ready then. We placed our order and sat and sat and sat waiting. Everyone else was served who came in later. About 5:10 we were told that the prime rib was done but we still had to wait for the dinner and they apologized. We were very patient. They didn't even put bread on the table.

At 5:30 they brought the plates out. One was a hamburger platter. The other was the prime rib which looked as if it were only microwaved quickly. Usually a steakhouse will serve on a sizzling platter which is very hot. Instead this was thrown on the plate looking very unappetizing with no garnishment, not even parsley or green beans. A luke warm dish with a plain steak in the middle of an oversized dish. This steak was $32.00 for a 6 oz steak. They did say they had side dishes which were ala carte so I ordered spinach and mashed potatoes. The two side dishes came separate in big dishes enough for 2 or 3 people. The creamed spinach was good but the potatoes were bland and heavy - not whipped well. I had a plain steak without garnishment and 2 big side orders larger than the steak. The steak was served without any steak sauce and did not have any flavor. I couldn't finish the food as I didn't like it.

I don't think I'll return. The dining room is attractive but somewhat noisy. The waiter wasn't attentive. After they put the food down, they never came back to check to see if everything was okay.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaE5247ZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
114 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Pub Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

The food is good; 3 burgers with entrees; atmosphere is nice with a beautiful ceiling. It's part of Rod's in Convent Station. We'll return. They need to move the bus boy station elsewhere so clanging plates are not part of the pub sound.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warren, nj
Level Contributor
126 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood tavern”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Great for casual dining- it's at the same location as Rods Steakhouse which is more upscale located in the Madison Hotel. We've dined here often and the quality of both the hamburgers and turkey burgers is top notch. Many more menu items but so far I keep ordering the sirloin burger, it's just THAT good. My only slight negative was a grumpy hostess last night. The person who greets you should smile and welcome you- sets the tone for the evening; but our friendly, efficient waiter more than made up for her sour disposition. Family friendly. Enjoy!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lesliesusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GK's Red Dog Tavern also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to GK's Red Dog Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing