We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Education, Inspiration, and Entertainment for the price of a movie ticket”
Review of Morris Museum

Morris Museum
Ranked #7 of 29 things to do in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Montville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
622 reviews
475 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 857 helpful votes
“Education, Inspiration, and Entertainment for the price of a movie ticket”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

It's a Blue Star Museum and a landmark destination for the arts and sciences. There are three levels to the museum which house permanent and visiting exhibitions throughout. Presently showing is a Lego Art exhibit which filled me with wonderment, a contemporary art exhibit "Wet and Wild" which contained some creative and exceptionally well done pieces." When Sandy Hit" is a collection of photographs of the impact of the storm which I have not seen anywhere else. An interactive "Nano" and "Art Quilts" exhibit were also on display. All exhibits were done in world class fashion with professional set-ups, lighting and labeling. I was surprised to see the diversity of permanent themes, rocks and minerals , American Indians, digging dinosaurs, mammals, trains and railroads and the Guinness Mechanical Instrument collection. The Bickford Theatre produces productions which have won awards and acclaim and has allowed the theatre to draw first class professional actors and directors. This is a wonderful experience for both young and old. It was interesting to learn that the museum has a loan program for schools and educators., an outreach program, a classroom intermission program on various topics and a professional development program. Corporate and private events, as well as, birthday parties can be arranged. My kids are too old at this point but it is a great idea. Free parking and handicap facilities are available. Admission for military families is free. It is a wonderful resource for all.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank duck8to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    36
    13
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Small museum with interesting and unusual exhibits”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

On the recommendation of a friend we visited this museum this past summer. We had a very pleasant trip. We thoroughly enjoyed the many unusual exhibits. We spent a long time with the train models. It was really cool, there were many different buttons to press to cause different actions within the whole train city. My kids had a blast with that.
We also enjoyed the music box display, it was especially fun that many of them were interactive.
The evening gown display was also interesting and The animals (stuffed) were cool as well.
The museum is quite small, but packs in a lot of punch for its small size!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank naomi613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“it could have been more child friendly”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I remembered it as being child friendly with exhibits for young children and younger adults - wow did it change, I was not happy with the experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank honeyg24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
274 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“FAMILY MUSEUM GREAT EXHIBITS”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

What a great find. Visiting Morristown for the first time, we decided to stop in. So happy we did.
They have many permanent exhibits, many hands on for the kids, dinosaurs, gems, Indian artifacts, mammals- a large stuffed grizzly was quite a site, small train platform. The highlight of the permanent portion was the automata- musical machines that were predecessors to juke boxes. a nice introduction film. Quite fascinating. All in wonderful condition.
We enjoyed a mega train platform that was in it's last day. What I believe were limited run exhibits were a money, toy bank exhibit- more for the kids, and a Fashion exhibit- dresses thru the ages. I rested for this while my wife enjoyed the fashion. Will be back . Plan on 2-3 hours to fully enjoy. They also have a theater for various productions, Call or WWW to see what the exhibits will be as they do change. Nice restrooms, plenty of parking.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DJMAN5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A gem of a small museum”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

All the comments regarding things to do with children are spot on, but we recently enjoyed a jazz concert in the Bickford Theater (part of the museum) that was superb! Jazz performances are on week-day evenings and begin at 8:00 for one extended set until 9:30. There is open seating so you might want to arrive early. Tickets are $15 in advance and $18 at the door. Comfortable theater seats and wheelchair accessible. Performers are well-known jazz musicians. Listening to this music, your feet will be tapping, and you will be smiling when you leave the performance.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morris Museum also viewed

 
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to Morris Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing