We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for families - Needs some repairs - noise problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HYATT house Morristown
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle Area
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good for families - Needs some repairs - noise problems”
Reviewed February 29, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for about a week while house hunting in NJ. We appreciated the considerable space, full kitchen, two full bathrooms, 2 bedrooms with king beds. The living room had a comfy sectional and flat-screen TV and DVD player that worked well for us. It did not, however, pass my "would I soak in the tub" test.

There were a couple of maintenance problems that we did not complain about, but that bear mentioning because it was obvious that the property could be better maintained. One mirrored closet door was shattered and the doors didn't open and close smoothly. Also, the one large burner on the stove didn't work.

Our main complaint was horrendous noise above our room. We later learned that three children had been left unsupervised while their parents went out, two nights in a row. They didn't answer when hotel staff knocked, and the staff refused to open the door because of the liability issues. The constant crashing of furniture, screaming and jumping around woke our small child, and we were just forced to live with it until the parents returned.

We were there for New Year's Eve as well, when the hotel apparently had extra security on site. Why on earth they couldn't tell that the room above us (new people had rented it) was Party Central until about 3am is beyond me. They said they'd take care of it but nothing was done.

It's only a three-floor hotel. Book a room on the top floor, report any maintenance issues and you'll have a fine stay.

  • Liked — Spacious and practical - small children can have their own bedrooms & you can stay up past 8!
  • Disliked — Noise problems not addressed, could be spruced up with a few maintenance tweaks
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    121
    43
    12
    16
See reviews for
140
56
13
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

We chose the Summerfield Suites due to the hotel's close proximity to Morristown Memorial Hospital. Our room was a 2 bedroom suite; spacious but standard in terms of decor and amenities. Since this property is a Hyatt, I had expected nicer furnishings, but it was closer to a less expensive suite hotel, such as a Comfort Inn. The room was clean, however there were a few annoying fruit flies which was a tad gross.

Each room had free internet access and there was Starbucks coffee available in the lobby 24/7. Another plus was the gym. It was small, but all of the equipment was brand new.
There was also a breakfast buffet that featured pastries, bread, cereal and two hot dishes. The eggs were a little odd, but the food is good for those that prefer continental choices.

Overall, our stay was fine and we'd recommend this property for those simply looking for a place to stay right by the hospital.

  • Liked — The gym and the Starbucks coffee
  • Disliked — The kitchens were a bit dated
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisalana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2007

I travel regularly on business all over the world and have grown to appreciate the newly renovated Hyatt Place and other Hyatt Properties....This is not one of them.

At first, the decor seems nice but leaves much to be desired when it comes to details. It seems like an old worn hotel that has been recently renovated....50-60% renovated. The rest:
1. Electric Switches (old and don't always work)
2. Bathroom Decor (seems like a motel, or hotel mixed)
3. Front Desk Service (Very unprofessional and never in uniform, suit or at least a tie. Poorly groomed hair (Guys or Ladies is always in poor taste...as if they were going to a picnic or something). Look more like people that want to stick you up and not greet you at a a 3-5-star hotel front-desk.
4. New Flat Screen TV in Livingroom and then an Old Tube TV in bedroom
5. Old & Slow Elevator
6. No Room Service or access to take-out restaurants
7. Bathrooms are not very clean
8. AC/Heating system is outdated and noisy.

Found an Insect (not sure if it was a roach, water critter or some sort of cricket) next to my night table. Not a pleasant sight

  • Liked — Breakfast area
  • Disliked — Old, Worn Hotel & Poor Customer Service
Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank sapwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2007

My husband and I stayed here on a business/leisure trip and for the most part it was a fine place to stay. We were supposed to arrive on a Thursday night and check out on a Sunday morning. However, our flight Thursday was cancelled due to weather. We called the hotel directly and explained that we wouldn’t arrive until Friday and that we needed to cancel that night’s stay. The first night’s rate was nearly three times the amount of the weekend rate. The clerk told us we were already charged for our stay and there was nothing she could do about it due to Hyatt’s cancellation policy. We felt this was unfair since the cancellation was not our fault. So we called Hyatt’s main number and were told “No problem. We can cancel that first night since your card hasn’t been charged yet.” Hmmm. Too bad the clerk wasn’t knowledgeable in this area.

Our suite was decorated in bright colors with throw pillows, a flat-screen TV (but no guide to the many channels), a TV in the bedroom, a small kitchen, desk and wireless internet (free). However, the room had an odd smell and we opened the window to air it out. Also, the bathroom renovation wasn’t the best; the baseboards were all chipped up and it just had the look of a quick paint-over with a new shower curtain. The bed was very comfortable and there was ample counter space in the bathroom. Having Starbucks coffee in the breakfast area was terrific!

The hotel is in a good location and since the weekend rates are very competitive we would probably stay here again.

  • Liked — Plenty of space; free wi fi; Starbucks coffee.
  • Disliked — Odor in room; old-looking bathroom.
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PalmettoMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, IL (Chicagoland)
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2007

The hotel is clean, with a nice flat screen tv. I liked the room decor and color scheme and the breakfast was good. All was good until I left my DVD in the room and tried to get it back, a couple hours after checking out. I called 4-5 times and spoke with multiple front desk people. The first person was unfriendly, unwilling to help, and bordering rude. Each time I called I was told I'd receive a call back because they would check for me, but I never received a call back. My mother-in-law even went to pick it up, but they didn't bother helping her get it. In the end, I never got it back, and no one knew where it went. It has somehow disappeared. I will not be recommending this to any future clients, since I am a travel agent. What a shame that this hotel has to have such negligant customer service when it really mattered.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori_Ling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2007

This hotel has now been upgraded to the new Hyatt Summerfield Suites standard. This means the guest rooms have new furniture, a new and quite comfortable pillow-top bed with duvet, new showerhead, curved shower rod, new lighting and carpet. The look is generally pleasant and a definite upgrade, but still of lower quality than most full service Hyatt hotels. It looks to me like the renovation of the bathroom was fairly limited however. If you look at the main web page for Summerfield Suites you can see what the new rooms are like.

The breakfast area and small, small lobby have also been given a makeover. If you stick to the “continental” offerings, the breakfast is not bad, but the hot food is pretty horrible. They also serve Starbucks Coffee which was a welcome surprise (unfortunately not in the rooms though)

There are some issues that are unfortunately pretty universal in suburban limited service hotels: Fairly poor sound proofing, when other guests close their doors you can feel the floor shake, noisy refrigerator, fairly noisy and gusty air conditioning, 100% fluorescent lighting (they even have the squiggly little fluorescent bulbs in the overhead recessed lighting in the kitchenette. Since this type of hotel is popular with families (especially on weekends), screaming kids can be an nuisance, especially at breakfast.

On the whole the rooms are pretty nice and far more spacious than an average hotel room. It’s not the Ritz, but it is a good value that is reasonably stylish and comfortable. For this type of hotel, it is certainly above average.

  • Liked — Spacious, newly renovated and good value weekend rates
  • Disliked — Noisy appliances and AC
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank areboot7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2006

We’ve used this hotel, and its sister property in Whippany, many times during the past five years or so. The staff has always been extraordinarily nice. Most of the public areas, including the breakfast room, are kept up nicely. The breakfast itself is just okay.
The rooms, however, and corridors have become very worn. Furniture and carpeting in the guest rooms is frayed and the overall feeling of the rooms is that they’re not clean. The bathrooms especially are in pretty rough shape.
I forgot to bring an Ethernet cable for my laptop and was told by the front desk clerk that the hotel was all out of them; even though the place was more than half empty.
The hotel guests, at least on weekends, seem to be an odd lot. During our most recent stay, I noticed one guy walking down the hallway with a 50 pound sack of rice and a five-gallon pot. I also saw a number of teenagers carrying liquor bottles, looking for a room. They didn’t create any disturbance, but it was a bit off-putting.
Overall, the hotel was nicer when a Wyndham. Last-minute Internet rates were more favorable, the bedding seemed better quality and the little goodies in your room --- for members of their frequent stay program --- are missed.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morristown
1.2 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
802 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Morristown
Hyatt Regency Morristown
#5 of 5 in Morristown
939 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Morristown Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center
3.1 mi away
HYATT house Parsippany/Whippany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Morristown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Morristown

Property: HYATT house Morristown
Address: 194 Park Ave, Morristown, NJ 07960-4649 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Morristown)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Morristown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Morristown
#4 Business Hotel in Morristown
#5 Family Hotel in Morristown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Morristown 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful rolling hills and broad valleys of northern New Jersey, yet within walking distance of the Morristown Municipal Airport, the HYATT house(R) Morristown offers travelers a relaxing place to stay paired with easy access to popular local attractions like the Mayo Center for Performing Arts, the Mall at Short Hills and IZOD Center. Perfect Morristown Hotel for Any NJ Trip The HYATT house(R) Morristown is also an excellent option for business and leisure travelers. If you're traveling for work, you'll appreciate our modern amenities like free hotel-wide Wi-Fi and a 24-hour Business Center with state-of-the-art equipment as well as our close proximity to Park Avenue at Morris County and the corporate offices for Honeywell, Novartis and Bayer. Fantastic Family Hotel in Morristown Families and leisure guests will find our hotel perfectly suited for great vacations, as we're centrally located to top attractions like Morristown National Historical Park and The Funplex, and we offer convenient amenities like a complimentary breakfast every morning and fully equipped kitchens in every room. For college students and their guests, our Morristown, NJ hotel is convenient to Fairleigh Dickenson University, Drew University and Seton Hall University. For more information regarding local restaurants and activities near our Morristown hotel, please visit our Activities page. You can also view our Hyatt Destinations New Jersey guide for insider information on local culture, restaurants, shopping, events and more. Comfortable Amenities At HYATT house Morristown, we know what our guests need for an enjoyable stay. From our complimentary Morning Spread with made-to-order omelets to our complimentary Evening Social with cheeses, wines and beer, we have your needs covered. Stay connected to home or the office with our free Wi-Fi, swim a few laps during the spring and summer in our outdoor pool, run a mile or two on the treadmill in our 24-hour StayFit Gym or host a legendary event in one of our two function rooms. For your comfort, all Hyatt house hotels are smoke-free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your HYATT house Morristown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Morristown Hotel Morristown
Summerfield Suites Morristown
Hyatt Morristown
Morristown Hyatt
Morristown Summerfield Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing