We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Movie and Dine”

Marjan Fine Persian Grill
Ranked #8 of 156 Restaurants in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cattano Avenue
Transit: 5 minutes from train station. Bus stop across the street by the Hyatt Hotel on Speedwell Ave.
Morristown, NJ
Level Contributor
154 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Movie and Dine”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Following TA reviews (thank you reviewers) we (5 of us) decided to take in a movie at HQ 10 across the street and then have dinner at Marjan. First, we agree with the positive reviews already here, but diners need to know that if you park in the HQ garage, see a show, and get your parking ticket validated you will wind up with free, convenient and safe parking for dinner as well, or at least we did.

One thing to add - take advantage of the appetizer combo options. Very colorful and tasty and almost a meal in themselves.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank s1jag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    48
    16
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Food/Great Service”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I have been to Marjan on a couple of occasions and the only issue I have with the place is the parking. The food is excellent and the service phenomenal. Marjan has become our new "go to" restaurant in a town of nearly 100 restaurants! Thanks Guys!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawyer, MI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food with much flavor.”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I really enjoyed my dining experience here and the food was so good. The eggplant appetizer was very good and flavorful. I also got the pomagrante Chicken and the owner explained the whole cooking process to me. I love that he did that because that is the type of information I am interested in. It was very good and very different from other food I have had before. Both dishes were very good the next day as leftovers.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank minnabon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful blends of spices and foods”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Our party of 5 ate at Marjan with appetizers for the table (and a wonderful lentil soup and salad each for two of our party), entrees & desserts for $150 inclusive of tax. On the appetizer combo platter, all three were excellent, especially the Kashk-e-Bademjan (finely pureed eggplant, with sauteed onions and yogurt sauce, and I normally don't like eggplant). We also had dolmeh and Mast-o-Khiyar (like a tzatziki but lighter and with a hint of mint), and plentiful flat bread. The entrees of Khoresht-e-Gheimeh (Yellow split peas and beef in a dark tomato sauce) and Koresht-e-Fesenjoon and its veggie brother (boneless chicken in sweet and sour pomegranate sauce and crushed walnuts) were particularly interesting. For dessert, the Persian ice cream was unlike any flavors I have previously experienced (rose water and saffron), the baklava was lighter than usual in Greek/turkish cuisine without heavy honey and the melon smoothie (Abe Talebi) was really flavorful. We tried a Doogh (yogurt-based drink with some salt), and were glad we did...quite an experience! It's not a formal place, BYOB, but it is friendly and the food is top drawer.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xml167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidWest
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Really good!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Chicken kabob lunch special over green salad is delicious and only $10! The eggplant and the hummus appetizers are great for sharing! Service has always been excellent. It's BYOB so remember ahead of time to bring something - the liquor store next door is extremely overpriced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ICanBeCritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marjan Fine Persian Grill also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to Marjan Fine Persian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing