We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Way too cool for school.”
Review of David Todd's City Tavern - CLOSED

David Todd's City Tavern
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, French, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Elm Street
Description: Upscale casual dining with two different feels. The main dining room - more quiet, more refined. The lounge - Upbeat vibe, where the action is. Whatever your mood, we have what your looking for.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
129 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Way too cool for school.”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Nice atmosphere. Food is good to better than good but OMG soooooo over priced. Like NYC prices. Have eaten dinner and lunch there. Even the drinks cost an arm and a leg.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank monkeyboobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    37
    20
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good but overpriced”
Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

This place has all the elements of a great restaurant: impeccable service, great food, comfortable (yet modern) atmosphere. The only problem with DTs is there is nothing to make it stand out from the other great restaurants Morristown has to offer. And, it's a bit pricey with small portions. It's a good place to go but you wouldn't miss much if you went somewhere else.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzyQ2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Has the potential to be a Morristown "great."”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Made reservations earlier in week for a fun dinner for 4 on Saturday night. When we arrived, the mood was very much upbeat and full of anticipation from would-be diners. The bar was shoulder to shoulder, and we were lucky that the other couple joining us arrived even earlier to stake claim on two very sought after bar seats. We waited 10 minutes to get the attention of one of three bartenders, who provided great cocktails at the expense of any pleasantries.

Table was ready on time, and I was happy that we were seated in the aesthetically pleasing dining room, and not in the very loud and congested bar area which had some tables along the wall adjacent to the bar itself. We were greeted promptly by the server who asked for our a drink order. He was very well versed in the by-the-glass wine selections, and there is a lovely variety to choose from.

Upon his return with drinks, we proceeded to order appetizers and entrees. Presentation, temperature, and taste of everyone's selections were very good! I had 1/2 dozen Vancouver Raw Oysters which were amazing bites. The Pancetta Wrapped Chatham Cod was cooked tp perfection and had well balanced flavor. We passed on deserts, and instead enjoyed after dinner drinks.

Overall a good experience and we'll keep it on our list of places to frequent. One suggestion to owners of the establishment- teach your staff to smile and be a bit more accomodating. We often felt as if they were not exactly pleased to serve (from the hostess, to the bartenders, and even our server by the end of the evening). Bad night for them? Maybe.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BBJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great bar seen with great food”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We like the bar area to eat in rather than the dining room. We like to watch the action and there is lots of action at the bar. Todd, one of the owners, is very nice and freindly. Morristown has so many good restaurants but this is in the top 6.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank golfer6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parts Unknown
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time or BYOS(alt)”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Looking at the menu enticed us for a B-day night out. Oops! You can barely think its so loud in there.. and bright. My beat salad was a giant pile of beats. Nothing else and nothing to cut all the sweetness except 4 (four) pecans. My wife relly wanted the Veal T-bone but HATES lentils. When she asked if she could sub rice for lentils she was told "Sorry ma'am, the chef does NOT sub anything on his dishes... he is meticulous about the flavor of his dishes and will refuse any request." WOW!!! What a stuck up chef. Which made the fact that not a SINGLE one of the 4 entre's was properly seasoned (little salt on the scallops, veal or steaks please?) very amusing. At least Gordon Ramsey would have properly seasoned things before telling me my palette is garbage. Don't waste your time

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeyChittwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Todd's City Tavern also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing