We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice ambience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hibiscus Restaurant

Hibiscus Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 155 Restaurants in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The Hibiscus is a unique find! Located in the heart of Morristown inside the Morristown Inn; a one of it’s kind, Hibiscus boasts a unique concept providing the first upscale but cozy Caribbean restaurant in New Jersey , the first in a hotel & the only place for Caribbean in town. Hibiscus prepares & presents for it's guests five star quality meals at unbelievably affordable prices. Never before have you had Traditional American & Authentic Island Cuisine (Jamaican) at it's best all in one place. Come & enjoy from Authentic Jamaican Jerk Chicken served with traditional rice & beans & fried plantains to our famous Rasta Pasta made with lightly seasoned Jerk chicken breast, sundried tomatoes & broccoli in a light cream sauce over penne or capellini to Steak House quality steaks, perfectly prepared & served with our gourmet mashed potatoes & vegetables al dente, Complete your evening with our to die for, Jamaican Rum flavored Bread Pudding & Cup of our renowned blue mountain peak coffee
Level Contributor
93 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Tasty food. The menu had many choices of both food and wine. It was worth the search to find it. Attentive staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    70
    17
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great music and food !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I recently went to this restaurant for a Sunday jazz brunch. We had a real nice time there. The food was tremendous, jerk chicken wth the so ever traditional rice and beans. Natural carrot drink to the bread pudding. If your looking for a place with great food and dinning experience with live music. Then I recommend this place. 2 thumbs up !

Helpful?
1 Thank Orlando Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal accompanied by live piano music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Twice this week I've dined at Hibiscus. Tuesday was Rasta Pasta accompanied by music by Rio Clemente, a pianist of great talent. Saturday was Hibiscus Salad and Oxtails accompanied by contemporary 'motown' favorites by Tracy on piano. We stayed to complete our BYO wine and enjoyed every minute of the service, food and music.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Unique great quality food, best kept secret in morristown nj”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We needed something different, it was so unique & tasty. We brought our 1 year old & it was very cozy. Great service great food great atmosphere. Highly recommend it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ajpowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Definitely make the trip to Hibiscus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

The second time we've been here for dinner : a fantastic meal! Don't get put off by walking down a flight off stairs to go to a restaurant in the lower level of a hotel: Hibiscus has a welcoming and friendly staff and a comfortable ambiance.
Three nights a week there is live jazz: quality players from the NYC area make this a totally unique experience.
But most of all there is this fantastic, wide ranging menu. Caribbean and Jamaican dishes are featured but there are other options I guess for those people who aren't drawn to a wide range of Caribbean specialties and they are outstanding
Perfectly prepared fish, oxtails, curried goat, jerk chicken, coconut shrimp..... Too much to choose from. Everything we've had has been exceptional. This is the kind of menu that will draw you back for more: an adventure that won't disappoint
In an area with many fine restaurants, Hibiscus easily holds it's own.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AJ51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hibiscus Restaurant also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to Hibiscus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing