We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian Food Ever”
Review of Mehndi

Mehndi
Reserve with OpenTable
Mehndi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 159 Restaurants in Morristown
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cattano Avenue
Transit: 0.8 miles to NJ Transit
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food Ever”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

This is a top notch Indian food restaurant. Look at the clientele around you, and you will see plenty of Indian people seek out this restaurant. This is a wonderful introduction to Indian food if you've never tried it. Waiters are helpful with recommending spicy vs. non-spicy etc etc. I am a big eater, and found the portions generous. I split an appetizer, had an entree, and split an order of bread and found it to be a bit too much food. While not cheap, the price is more than fair for the caliber of food you receive. The ambiance is slightly less "hip" than Ming, but still top notch and beautiful. I'm always excited to eat here when in Morristown.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank csj81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    33
    11
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent!!!”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Went to dinner with my boyfriend on Saturday night his first time there and i've been to mehndi several times myself as always the wait staff very friendly and respectful and the food was amazing as always. We ordered the crab cakes and the papri chaat both dishes were excellent the crab cakes had an amazing taste to them; for dinner we ordered the lamb chops which were outstanding, the chicken kadi spicy but excellent, the paneer mehndi not a fan of spinach but this dish defitnely changed my mind, and the lentil dish the dal mehndi out of this world the rice was charged but that didnt change our mind about the excelent food and the great service. He was really impressed and is returning and bringing back co-workers and family WAY TO GO MEHNDI!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank maria2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere - at a price”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We had a craving for Indian food and wanted to try some place new for us. The reception area is nice but a little odd since it serves for three different restaurants, but once inside Mendhi the restaurant is very nice and has a great atmosphere. The menu was long and full of all of the Indian dishes you would expect and then some. This is a very upscale Indian restaurant so don't be surprised if the prices are more than you're used to. We ordered several different dishes, some based on the waiter's helpful recommendations, and ate family style. While not an expert on Indian food, it all tasted good to us but I think we all agreed that the Goan Shrimp Curry was our favorite. While the servings seemed a little small for the price, we still had some to take home. Overall a great experience and I'm sure we'll be back soon.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank viabrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“In love with Mehndi”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Went to Mehndi for dinner with a couple of friends and as soon as we walked in the hostess greeted us she was very bubbly and polite a bit loud but we felt welcomed. We weren't sure what to order so we asked for suggestions our waiter Chris very polite and always attentive helped out a lot, he gave us great suggestions and we all loved the food. Will be returning to Mehndi.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank maria2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Highly overrated - not worth a second visit”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Visited Mehndi on 10/22/11, will not be repeating again. The food was delicious, but I was misguided by the waiter and over ordered, despite asking for less food initially, he insisted we order more food, which we did not end up eating. Its simply not worth the price and the pushy service given the plethora of better options in the area.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank cdsouza_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mehndi also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 
Madison, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to Mehndi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing