We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over rated” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Origin Thai

Origin Thai
Ranked #21 of 155 Restaurants in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Over rated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I have been twice now. I wanted to give it a chance because so many people like it there. The service is nice and it can get a little loud when full but not bad. The food the fist visit was very mediocre; overcooked noodles and overcooked seafood. The second visit I had squid that was so overcooked it was inedible. I'd only go back if they rework the food.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginger80617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    50
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whitehouse Station, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Slightly different than most local Thai”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Food was very good and service was good. Food was slightly different that the usual Thai. I am use to the standard Pad thai and Pad Kee Mao. When reading the ingredients there always seemed to be something slightly different in the food. I will say that once you get past the slight changes in ingredients it is actually a nice change of taste. It was higher priced that the usual Thai restaurants in the area but food and service is good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mick177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Average Pad Thai... Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Not sure if I just picked a bad dish... I had the chicken pad thai, it was somewhat disappointing. For USD15$, the pad thai definitely wasn't worth it. I've had much better thai food for half the price. I'd try elsewhere in Morristown, no shortage of places to try.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jfbibeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Succasunna, New Jersey
Level Contributor
342 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Good Food - Very loud”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Very loud., almost to the point of having the bad table at a wedding.

Food was good. Had the crispy duck Bangkok, fantastic. Had the Vietnamese ravioli, while they were prepared well, just lacked spice.

Wife and friend had the crab/shrimp rolls for a starter and they were tasty. My wife had the original crispy duck and she enjoyed very much. Our friend had the salmon and she gave it high marks.

The 4th member of our group had steak and fries - go figure.

Service was good, the decor was interesting.

It would have been nice if they could have paced serving the food a little better. We were in and out in about an hour.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fnct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Stunningly good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

Wide variety of appetizers, wide variety of mains, everything we tried was extremely good. As I have mentioned in other reviews, this is "NYC quality" food and service!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CCIEvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Origin Thai also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to Origin Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing