We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissapointed twice”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Campagna

La Campagna
Reserve with OpenTable
La Campagna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 155 Restaurants in Morristown
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chatham
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Dissapointed twice”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We went there again after a sort absence and was willing to give it another try. The first time I ordered a "hanger steak" off the menu and it was expensive and nothing more than sliced flank steak. My partner's meal was just ok nothing great. So after a couple of months passed we decided to give it another try.The service was good and they're friendly enough but they drench most of their dishes with heavy sauces so the second time was not a great meal either. Too many choices in the area to try a third time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    31
    22
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nj
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience on Mother's Day”
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

A delicious meal was had by all of at la campagna on Mother's Day. Nice corner table by the window. We sampled, gnocchi, veal scallopini, flounder, and seafood with linguini. All very tasty. Caesar salad crisp and just right. The bread was excellent. After dinner we enjoyed some wonderfully sweet strawberries with zambaglione. First visit. Byob doesn't hurt either. I will be back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rp18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
205 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Always loved this place ”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Definitely different from the original owners . We usually always go for the veal parmigiana and have in most cases loved it. We have ventured and tried other things that were just ok. I can get some of the negative reviews , however , we have always found the staff very pleasant and attentive . We will go back .

Helpful?
1 Thank 01ritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible Experience”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Where do I begin! Food was nothing special, is way over priced for what you get, risotto was horrible, it was what I suspect eating grade school paste would taste like. The service was the worst I have ever experienced and the staff was argumentative and extremely rude.
Could go on and on about this very upsetting experience but I would say that Morristown has plenty of excellent restaurants and La Campagna is definitely not one of them.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vstar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedminster, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Run of the mill Italian restaurant”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

The food is competently cooked and presented if somewhat overpriced. $26 for four shrimp in a risotto is excessive to me. The atmosphere is fine but indistinguishable from a hundred other New Jersey Italian restaurants. My hearing was not good enough to understand what the waiter was saying. Apparently there is public parking behind the medical center to the side of this BYO restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Bedminster31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Campagna also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to La Campagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing