We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”
Review of La Campagna

La Campagna
Reserve with OpenTable
La Campagna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 159 Restaurants in Morristown
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
NY
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have been to this restaurant for last 13 years. It has great decor, service and food. There are some outside seatings when the weather is warm. I hope they survive from all the competitions around.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank KittieMeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    33
    23
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We went to La Campagna tonight for the first time in years. In fact tonight was our first experience under the current ownership. The staff was very friendly and helpfu yet the food results in this restaurant being merely average in my view.

As others have noted, the menu has too many selections and most dishes are too "busy". The chef should decide what he wants the restaurant to be - a solid place that serves the classics, or a more avant garde Italian restaurant. Unfortunately, the dishes try to be both. A perfect example is the penne with vodka sauce. An Italian American classic, so why do they include snow peas?!

The veal my wife ordered was tough and my chicken was dry. Everything was too salty. And none of the dishes are inexpensive.

All in, I've had worse but I've also had a lot better. I'm not rushing back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sja27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great for a quiet meal”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Very good for a business lunch or dinner. They don't rush you and the food is very good. The waiters or very knowledgable and proffesional.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank diropswpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris Plains, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Italian Restaurant in Morristown”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We went to La Campagna for New Year's Eve and it was great. Crowded and very tight but tolerable. The waitstaff was very nice and efficient.

I thought I would have a classic Italian pasta dish of some kind but instead ordered the hangar steak special. What a great choice - very tasty and cooked perfectly, with lots of stir fry peppers, onions and mushrooms on top. My wife and daughter had chicken dishes and both were very happy with their choices.

The prices are not cheap but not overly expensive either. Since it is a BYOB that takes some of the sting out of the total bill.

The restaurant arranged for free parking nights at the nearby bank parking lot so that is a real nice amenity.

Next time tou are in the mood for a quality Italian dinner try La Camapagna but don't forget to bring your own wine!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Way overpriced & horrible food!!!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We went here for a date nite. it's close & Byob so we figured we would try it. First, they bring you cold bread with no butter & some complementary bruschetta (which was the only tasty part of the meal)...our salads were old & frozen and tasted like feet. The main course was veal & lamb & both were terrible. even desert was a miss!!!! $100 later and we were just shocked at home disgusting the food is...don't go here for a date or for anything else!! The service was the only good part!! everyone was super nice!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank melnel1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Campagna also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to La Campagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing