We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the New Look”

The Office Tavern Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
The Office Tavern Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 159 Restaurants in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Description: The OFFICE Tavern Grill: Once an OFFICE Beer Bar and Grill, the OFFICE Tavern Grill is the modern vision of what use to be... A crafted experience just for you, The OFFICE Tavern Grill offers modern American cuisine along with 40 Craft Beers on Tap! Whether you are in the mood for a pint or to grab a meal with friends and family, The OFFICE Tavern Grill offers up a unique space to enjoy some crafted food and crafted beer. Located in Morristown, this location has great night life and brunch on the weekends to cure even the most late of nights
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved the New Look”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We have waited for the New Office to open for over a year and were not dissappointed. Morristown has so many bar/restaurants that cater to the younger crowd. We were looking for something to appeal to those of us that are a bit older. The office is doing just that. The service was excellent. We had Jacqueline for our lunch server and she was delightful. We understood that when a place just opens it will be high in demand so we were patient. I recommend anyone interested to give it a go! We enjoyed ourselves and the food was very good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kar-ake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    54
    30
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Party of 40 successfully served!!”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Friendly service by a well trained staff and food well prepared and served timely. Probably the hardest trick of these big parties is delivering the food in a coordinated manner that does not leave se guests feeling like second class citizens while staring longingly at others munching happily away on their salads or dinner or whatever. The source of this problem is often the kitchen - especially on busy nights such as Saturday. Or, it's inadequate numbers and/or poorly trained wait staff. Or all of the above. So, when this trick gets pulled off well and by happy and friendly wait staff, I'm blown away. They did it at the office. The five onion French onion soup was awesome. I could have stopped eating after that. Flavorful and filling. But... I had the salmon, which was a bit low on the flavor and moisture meters. But finished win the chocolate mouse and coffee which were excellent. Also sampled my neighbors short ribs and grits. Wow!! Wonderful combo. Though he (a scientist who is all about the details) complained that, while delicious, the grits were not in fact hominy grits as advertised. Hey, they tasted great whatever they were! Thanks to the Ofgice and especially the waitstaff that handled our party of 40 on Saturday night.

Helpful?
Thank SebGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MORRISTOWN
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

I sadly must say that the food was mediocre at best. I ordered a chopped salad with skirt steak added on. First the salad was not "chopped" it was a salad ... A salad that had CLEARLYbeen assembled and refrigerated and not made to order ... Iceberg lettuce that had that refrigerator taste. Like it had been cut up amd placed in a fridge. NOTHING about the salad was good ... Flavorless limp and not chopped. If I can walk next door to Urban Table and get a higher quality freshly made to order salad ... For the same price - I'm going to do that. If you want to compete in this town ... You need better quality food. How can you mess up a salad???? Jeeze have a little pride in what you serve. Two thumbs down The Office Additionally look up the description of "chopped salad" --

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gave away our table.”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We were really looking forward to trying out the new Office. Instead, we waited for 35 minutes for our table. They texted us to let us know our table was ready. Not a big deal except as we walked up they gave away our table to another group. We then waited a further 50 minutes before finally complaining to the manager. She had nothing to say about their mix up and we walked down to another and better restaurant. Will not be returning any time soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
836 reviews
510 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Give it a try”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We’ve been waiting to check out the newly renovated Office, so tonight we went there for dinner. They did an excellent job remodeling, especially with the addition of a long balcony with booths. The main floor is still basically a sports bar, with some booths, tables, and a great bar, similar to what it was before. The noise level was pretty intense when we entered, so we decided to eat up in the balcony area where it was more intimate with the high back booths. The new menu reflects the change in food offered, and the prices (higher) reflect the increase in staff and renovations. My wife and I both decided to have the fish and chips. The cod, which had a nice beer battered coating, was fresh and flakey, and the fries were the way I like them. Skip the slaw! Our server was polite and attentive when not busy with the large crowd.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MitchPhyllis65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Office Tavern Grill also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to The Office Tavern Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing