We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heard rave reviews but I didn't really get it...”
Review of Morristown Deli

Morristown Deli
Ranked #49 of 159 Restaurants in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Morris County, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Heard rave reviews but I didn't really get it...”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

went for breakfast after hearing some rave reviews of people we met on vacation who were envious that we lived so closeby - but we didn't love it - french toast was deep fried?!?! i felt my arteries clogging with each bite -

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank harryandisabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    11
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mendham, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Not even close to good NY deli”
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately there are few decent delis in Morristown. I decided to give this place a try a few times. They have a good selection, variety of Jewish food- eg Matzo ball soup. However, I was not pleased with their deli sandwiches. I am happy to pay for a good large corned beef sandwich, but I found the meat to be sub-par, dry. The matzo ball soup was decent.

I found the Plaza west kosher deli to be better. Still would rather travel to the city for good homemade fresh corned beef and pastrami any day

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrMikeinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great Breakfasts on Sunday”
Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

This is Morristown's shrine to NYC Deli cuisine. Though I like to come here for lunch when I need pastrami and a knish, this is my after church place for smoked fish and bagels. The Gaspe salmon is always great. When the smoked sturgeon is available, it is outstanding. Try the kippered salmon and herring roll-ups also. This place gets noisy and crowded on weekends. Come early and enjoy or just enjoy and don't kvetch because I warned you.

Helpful?
Thank stevesottl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best Service”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

The family owners were fantastic. The food is varied, quick and tasty This became our regular brunch place on weekdays. Great location!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank rjd_aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just okay...”
Reviewed March 14, 2011

I went here for breakfast since there are so few options in Morristown. It was your average diner food. The manager was nice and friendly, but our server kept forgetting to bring us milk for our coffee. I thought it was a joke, we had to ask 3 times (it wasn't too crowded when we were there). My omelet was fine, but nothing out of the ordinary. I thought it was a little overpriced as everything was additional charge (egg whites, cheese, etc). I know egg whites are normally an extra charge, but cheese? Ended up being a $10 omelet when it would normally be $6-7. I would like to try lunch and see if there deli sandwiches are any better.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jaymarie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morristown Deli also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to Morristown Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing