We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Spot for Locals”

George and Martha's American Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
George and Martha's American Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 159 Restaurants in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: George & Martha's - American Grille
northern NJ
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Spot for Locals”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Totally enjoyable place for a good meal...funny part is I thought of it as an eatery for locals, but found out about it when I friend from out of state recommended we go there!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank indiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    41
    11
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paradise, null, United States
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Loved This Place!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The Jazz and Blues festival brought me back to the place I called home for many years. This was a unique festival in that other than a lone hot dog cart that was doing boffo business there were no other food vendors. So off the Green we went looking for lunch and ended up at the place the restaurant Cutters used to exist called George and Marthas. In high school Cutters was a great place - decent pizza, beer, burgers etc so we hoped we would find their replacement a capable successor. The decor at G&M was nice - crisp, modern with George Washington and his wife Martha figuring predominately. We sat at the bar and were well taken care of primarily by Nicolas with help from Kim. Their attitude was they were there to serve us and make our experience a great one. The fresh lime and mint Mojitos were as good as promised ( and for $9 a drink I would expect them to be excellent). We shared a fresh house salad and both ordered the tasty BLT on steroids ( not the typical BLT) which hit the spot and was comfort food at its finest. Since we weren't driving and walking back to the show we decided to share a shot of the Mongolian Mixture that Nicolas had not made before but put it together perfectly ( half Red Death, Half Long Island Iced Tea with some peach schnapps and a tish of OJ). G&M was exactly what we were looking for and they delivered a very enjoyable lunch. Recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris Plains, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lots of energy”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

It's OK. The place is a little small for my tastes. The few visits we made always found a crush of people at the bar. The dining room can get loud too. The food was good and presentation was nice. I thought the wine list was a little overpriced so we just had beer. It was good enough for us to want to come back a few times but it didn't become a favorite that we return to again and again.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Georgy Porgy no More!”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We were so excited when we saw this restaurant going in. Have eaten here a half of dozen times and not very impressed. Not much personality in the inside; it looks like so many other places. The food is really average in taste and a bit expensive for what it is.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank monkeyboobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Started out great but lost ground!”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We were so excited when it opened but have since stopped going after 2 bad meals. Meat over cooked and many things on the menu not available!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank fixmydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George and Martha's American Grille also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to George and Martha's American Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing