We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We should start a class action suit agaibst the grasshopper and there harrassment and assaults.”

Grasshopper off the Green
Ranked #73 of 156 Restaurants in Morristown
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Authentic Irish and American cuisine on three levels.. Late night club 3 nights a week and live entertainment seven nights a week no cover.. Private party and event room..sports packages with specials on food and beer..Open daily for lunch and dinner.. specials every day ..Sunday brunch from 10 - 2 - Family Friendly
07006
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We should start a class action suit agaibst the grasshopper and there harrassment and assaults.”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The bouncers are the worst people ever, just completely evil to the core. Since there was a long line my fiancé went to park the car while I waited in it. While waiting I heard people behind me saying that there was a cover charge, so my fiancé went up to find out the amount. When he did he ran to get some money out. Since I made it to the front of the line before he got there I let a bunch of people who were behind me go in ahead. Finally when he came back we were ready to go in. However, the same bouncer who told him there was a cover charge, ended up saying that I was only allowed in and he eventually insulted us and said that my fiancé had to go to the back of the line. Now this line took 30 minutes to get to the front. I pleaded with the bouncer to let him in, but he wouldn't. So I went in without him. While I was waiting the same bouncer, Denis, came in. He said have you ever been to a club and I turned around and said yes I have. I said in the city my fiancé was allowed in even if he came in after I got to the front of the line. I told him that it wasn't very nice of him to do that to which he said I was a b****. I told him that was really rude and he ended up kicking me out. So I ended up trying to look for my fiancé in the long line. Finally when I found my fiancé we decided to go up and speak to the manger. When we ask for the manager none of the bouncers would let us speak to him/her. We ended up leaving and going to George and Martha's. There we were met with smiles and kindness. This is not the first time the bouncers were really rude to us at the Grasshopper, but this was the worst it has ever been. We will not be giving our service to them and we want to help spare you the misery. There are plenty of other nice places to go to and you will have much more human bouncers. In the end the bouncers at grasshopper were the most evil people you will ever meet.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank anlauren35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    26
    10
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
266 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A Fun Spot”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Great place to go to have a beer and listen to music. Friendly bartenders too! I am glad that we found this place.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank barmach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Decent place”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

I went early on a weeknight and it wasn't too crowded. The atmosphere is pretty nice and it looks like it would be a fun place to watch sports. I couldn't drink beer that night , but it looks like they have a large selection of beer. I ordered Bangers and mash. It was slightly better than average. I also got a cream of mushroom soup. That was very good. I'd probably give this a 3.5 stars. Nothing fancy but decent Irish pub food.

Helpful?
Thank Pilotjjc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible bartenders”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Very rude staff. Bartender has an issue with diverse clients. A particular Bartender with a huge tummy clearly made it his business to target diverse clients by providing very poor service almost in a way to instigate a tense situation. Quickly after he asks that they be expelled from the bar for no legitimate reason.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jojo261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard G, Guest Relations Manager at Grasshopper off the Green, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
We're sorry that you had a bad experience, that's certainly not our intention. The Grasshopper is meant to be a place where you can go and have a great, safe experience. Anytime you have a problem please immediately ask to speak to the on duty manager and report you

We hope you'll visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falconer, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

22 of us ate there was dinner, it was great. The waitress went above and beyond. I'd recommend it to anyone!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KimF1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grasshopper off the Green also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to Grasshopper off the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing