We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent- but not sure about value”
Review of The Grand Cafe

The Grand Cafe
Ranked #16 of 159 Restaurants in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
NORTHERN NEW JERSEY
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“excellent- but not sure about value”
Reviewed March 12, 2011

We had dinner the first time here about a week ago. The atmosphere and service rate a excellent. The lighting makes all look wonderful. the service is very attentive. Food is very good- We had the liver- salmon and the souffle- All were excellent- The portions are small by NJ standards so the expectations are that you will order 4 courses. The place is family run and has been there a long time so they are doing something right. One downside is there is no parking lot but parking in a garage about a block away.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryDEBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    21
    10
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you are not a regular, expect rude treatment. They don't want you there.”
Reviewed February 18, 2011

The most snobbish and rude place I've been to. They cater to regular customers. the only nice room is the main dining room. If you are not a regular, they ship you off to the second floor, which is like Siberia. Service is very poor on the second floor. Very much the attitude of 'Upstairs Downstairs" , however in this case it is 'Downstairs, Upstairs'. I caught the waiter drinking the dregs of customers wine glasses! The food is also very mediocre. Please don't ruin you evening at this place.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank WThurston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NJ
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Short of Haute Cuisine”
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Dined at The Grand Cafe with close friends New Years' Eve and must say that the place was decked out in grand style for the holidays in a most distinguished manner. To begin with, if not for the lack of "WOW" in our food, I would have provided a five star rating across the board. I gave, however, an average rating for FOOD, and, a less then average rating for VALUE.

Service was the star performer during our dining experience as our waiter provided us with seamless, professional, unobtrusive service which almost compensated for the somewhat ho-hum cuisine. Live music was played on an upright piano whose sounds appeared somewhat inconsistent with the surroundings. Frankly, a Baby Grand would have been much more at home here, and played by a pianist with more of a sophisticated touch and feel for the keyboard given the opulence of The Grand Cafe combined with the Christmas season.

While dining, I easily conjured up memories of other fine restaurants which offered fare at a significantly more reasonable rate without sacrificing taste, quality, and quantity. It was, at best, difficult to justify an almost $100/person tab (New Years' Eve notwithstanding) when considering that, from appetizer to dessert, we were not totally satisfied, including the original appetite we arrived with. Ordering additional bread helped, yet was not something I nor my guests anticipated doing at The Grand Cafe.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShoreStops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChessGuy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a magical setting served with perfection”
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Everything stands out at The Grand Cafe...

First, and most importantly, the food is great. We had the Stir Fry Duck as an appetizer. It was a good amount of duck with a very tasty and interesting combination of peanut sauce, mint, and citrus flavors. If that was made larger, it could have been an excellent dinner entree. I had the dover sole, which was a special item that night. It was prepared perfectly in a wonderfully light sauce in addition to great servings of mashed potatoes, asparagus, broccoli, carrots, and green beans. My wife got the pork chop which came with risotto. It looked great and the serving was a generous one.

Second, the service. The waiters all are in tuxedos and really put 100% effort and impeccable service into each face-to-face encounter (from the bread, to the menu, to the wine pouring, etc. Excellent. Also, there was no rush, as they told us that they were doing one seating at our table that night. We had the whole night to really soak everything in and relax.

Third, the decor. It is old-world style. A bar, a fireplace, lots of wood every where. Really maintained well. Without proper care, this could look dated. However, they have done a really wonderful job with keeping this looking great.

A few quick ones...
1. Parking. I'm not sure if they have valet parking or if they have a specific parking lot somewhere. Parking can be a bit tricky then and you might have to walk a few blocks.
2. Wine. They have a short, but expensive, wine list. A lot of four-figure wines that are over 10 years old. They pretty much stuck with wines from France, Italy, and California.
3. Dress. For men, wear nice shoes, nice pants, and a jacket. Ties weren't required. It isn't a formal place, but it was very dressy there.
4. Reservations. I don't know if it is required, but I would most certainly call ahead. The place was at capacity.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChessGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Love it for special occasions!”
Reviewed August 12, 2008

Love it for special occasions!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grand Cafe also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to The Grand Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing