We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great historic learning environment”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Jockey Hollow

Jockey Hollow
Ranked #1 of 29 things to do in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the Morristown National Historical Park, this recreated campsite was home to the Pennsylvnia troops in the winter of 1779-80.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great historic learning environment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Seeing the cabins were very interesting and learning about how they would sleep in those little bunks and how they made those tight cabins was amazing. The kids honestly were very engaged in it and they found it interesting rather than boring. Also, the hike was very nice in the green area. It was very peaceful. I am definitely going to visit it again. Hopefully the whole family can come join along too!! Vacation doesn't need to be all about going to water parks and all. They are also very fun to learn about our history in a more interactive way.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank luvlily2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    84
    11
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Free Hike!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Not knowing what to expect, we drove to this park and were pleasantly surprised by the free trails that went throughout this gorgeous former farmland. Lots of historical billboards tell the story of Washington and his troops during a rough winter that they survived. Unfortunately, one of the log cabin areas was burnt down, so we weren't able to explore them, but otherwise, the Yellow trail we followed (about 3 miles long) was a pleasant walk.

There were definitely some parts of the trail that were not well kept, but otherwise, we had a pleasant walk.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alinkochan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
Level Contributor
356 reviews
174 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Will be going back.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Wow...what a great trip back in time. Family and I love going to national parks, this place is a another good one. The visiting center was a little out dated and need an over haul, compared to other national park visiting centers,..or I would of given 5 stars. The lay out is really well done...can drive or hike. The Wick farm and garden are well perserved and very interesting . The people who run the park are engaging and informative. My 7 year old was intently listening and actually behaving. the soldier huts are well displayed. A great look back of the area's history and will be going back. A nice gift shop ends the 90 minute trip. Could of spent more time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Visited on a warm Saturday. The Ranger in the visitor's center was friendly and helpful. Five trails to hike/walk with various levels of difficulty. The tour road also offers a walk, ride, or drive. Signage along trails tells story of Jockey Hollow and Washington's Troops 1777-1781. Small huts replicate the dwellings built by soldiers. Barn and garden replicate the farm originally at the site.

Overall, an interestung place to visit. A great (free) place to walk and hike. Leashed dogs welcome!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rider2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Hiking park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a great biking/hiking park. It is unique because of the troop barracks used by Washingtons men. Nice park to bring the kids to.

Helpful?
Thank GMeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jockey Hollow also viewed

 
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to Jockey Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing