We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning Guest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Virginia Court Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Returning Guest”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

You won't be disappointed if you choose this hotel. Before you step inside the outside is light and bright with own car park off a tree lined Avenue within walking distance from the Pier and town. A bright and open long entrance with a warm and welcoming smile to greet you or use the bell as the staff have other duties off the reception, if they aren't there the minute you step through the door.
Very happy and friendly staff throughout the hotel with clear instructions how to get to your room. Rooms tastefully decorated without being cluttered, also very clean. There is also a leather bound hotel information folder which for me means attention to detail. An abundance of tea and coffee in my single room and free toiletries in the bathroom. My previous visit two years ago was in a twin room with the same qualities and excellent food in the restaurant. I only had breakfast this time which was again faultless and extra special because of the white table clothes. The staff were attentive and very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCHowner, Owner at Virginia Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you very much for writing such a comprehensive positive review following your second visit after staying with us initially 2 years ago. I am pleased you found things to be as you remembered them, especially our helpful staff.
Please don't leave it so long before revisiting again!

Once again many thanks for your kind words

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    91
    17
    10
    1
See reviews for
45
222
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hindhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights and had a lovely time. The room was spacious and well-furnished, and the bed very comfortable. There's no air conditioning so had to resort to opening the window for air at night (especially with heat leaking through from the bathroom until we worked out how to switch off the super-heated towel rail!); but as it's in a quiet location that wasn't a problem.
The location is excellent, very close to the Gangway and Pier, whereas most of the hotels in Cromer are some distance up the hill to the west.
We only had dinner in the restaurant once, and the food was fine. Since our stay was in early July, there were few takers so it lacked atmosphere. Breakfast is very good too (though the lack of natural yogurt as an alternative to the fruity flavours was disappointing).
And the staff were friendly and helpful. Maybe we should have asked about that towel-rail on day one!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCHowner, Owner at Virginia Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent 6 night stay. I am glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay during one of the hottest periods of the summer. We are very lucky to be situated on such a quiet street as it means that windows can indeed be left open with no noise impact of passing traffic along the main sea road. Since your stay we have changed the dining tables to create more of a bistro feel, hopefully that will improve the atmosphere when the hotel is a little quieter.
We hope to see you again if you are back in the area for another restful holiday.

Many thanks

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had a very relaxing and lovely weekend. The staff were excellent, very friendly, and helpful. They appeared to really enjoy their jobs. We had the half board option and were not disappointed, in fact the breakfast was delicious. The only downside for us was the room was a bit small.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCHowner, Owner at Virginia Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
I am glad you had a lovely weekend with us and were not disappointed with the half board option or our wonderful team of staff. My partner & I were away on holiday whilst you stayed so I was especially pleased to hear the comments about the team. We do have some larger rooms although these are usually allocated on a first booked basis rather than cost basis so we always recommend booking early!

Hopefully next time you stay you will be allocated a larger room.

Many thanks for your feedback

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromer, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a review for the restaurant only. We didn't stay at the hotel. So we decided to re-visit this restaurant, where we have had great meals on previous occasions. Once again, we weren't disappointed. It's so nice to have a crisp, white tablecloth for a change and the menu looked so good, it was difficult to choose which dish we'd like. We settled for the roast of the day and it was absolutely delicious. The staff are always, unfailingly, friendly and polite and often come by the table to make sure everything is ok. The prices, for us, are a little bit on the high side which is why we don't go regularly, but when we do treat ourselves, we're never disappointed.
There was one small, small disappointment. As a chocolate lover, I was disappointed to see they'd changed their dessert menu and all the gorgeous choccy desserts had disappeared. I had a scrumptious lemon cheesecake instead (but would have preferred something chocolatey)!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCHowner, Owner at Virginia Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you for writing a review following your recent meal with us. We have many regular dining guests who come for meals several times a year as they enjoy the food so much. This summer we have varied our desert menu on a regular basis and the ever popular chocolate brownie is on offer about 50% of the time, the other 50% of the time we have introduced a chocolate based black forest delight as well as several other new dishes...we will soon be looking at our Autumn menus so will consider your feedback for then!

Many thanks once again for reviewing us, we look forward to seeing you back again for dinner or Sunday lunch in the near future.

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel is located just outside the main part of Cromer, and I mean just outside! If we'd listened to the lovely receptionist, our ten minute stroll would only have been five. Virginia court is a lovely hotel, located near the church and gardens. The walk down to the beach gives stunning views.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jools1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCHowner, Owner at Virginia Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
I am pleased to hear you found our hotel to be a very pleasant surprise. Our Receptionists are all from Cromer so are very knowledgeable about local short cuts!

Hope to see you again next time you fancy some fresh sea air!

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saxmundham
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

No sea view people might say, but not a problem as this is probably the best hotel in the north Norfolk town of Cromer. A really charming hotel on a decidedly up-market quiet street just a few minutes walk from the sea front. Not only are the rooms comfortable and modern but the staff are so helpful and friendly one feels like a house guest. Breakfast is superb and the meals in the restaurant match many a 5 star restaurant. We stayed on a Friday til the Monday but wished we had stayed longer. The large free car park is also a bonus as is the very quiet large well furnished garden. If you need to stay in Cromer stay here. You will not be disappointed. We were not.

Room Tip: All the rooms a very good. No noisy ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazzagiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCHowner, Owner at Virginia Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your recent stay. With the sea just a few minutes walk through the lovely park at the end of the road most guests are very happy to trade a sea view for the peace and quiet of being on a residential street rather than a busy main road, as you did.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another relaxing stay.

Kind Regards

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelmsford uk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Friendly hotel. Lovely big room (26). Food very good, home made muslie and jams for breakfast which was a bonus. We had evening meal which was lovely and plenty of choice. A large garden and furniture which we made use of, as weather was beautiful during our stay. It is just a short walk to the sea. An added bonus of a large car park. We certainly will stay here again if we come to go to Cromer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCHowner, Owner at Virginia Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you very much for writing such a positive review following your recent stay at our hotel. I am glad you found the hotel to be comfortable with good food and had the opportunity to enjoy the garden during the spell of hot weather.

Hope to see you again if you come back to the area.

Many thanks again for your kind words

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
0.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
736 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
1.9 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
7.7 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
610 reviews
18.4 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginia Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Court Hotel

Property: Virginia Court Hotel
Address: Cliff Avenue, Cromer NR27 0AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginia Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Virginia Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Va Court
Virginia Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing