We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Virginia Court Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cromer Country Club by Diamond Resorts(Cromer)(Great Value!)
$109
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sea Marge Hotel(Overstrand)
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maltings Hotel(Weybourne)
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
The Manor Hotel(Mundesley)
$175
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Red Lion(Cromer)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveler rating
244
99
22
10
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
244
99
22
10
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa quiet residential areanorfolk breakfastlovely hoteltown centretea and coffee making facilitiessea fronthotel is situatedmueslion arrivallarge roomshort walkkippersroll top bathbreakfast choiceswould highly recommend this hotellounge areasingle room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
237 - 242 of 376 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was my third stay at the Virginia Court Hotel and again it turned out to be an excellent experience. We stayed three nights and decided to take advantage of the Bed, Breakfast and Dinner rate. The food is excellent and the menu and quality of the meals can't be beaten in the Cromer area.

Very friendly and professional staff who make you feel welcome. The hotel has ample parking and is close to the town centre and an easy walk to the Pier.

We visited Cromer as a family and booked four rooms at the Virginia Court Hotel. Each room was clean and well appointed. Tea and coffee making facilities in each bedroom.

A nice sized lounge and bar on the ground floor. A good place to stay for business, family get togethers, or holidaying in Norfolk.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NearRadwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCHowner, Owner at Virginia Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review us once again following your 3rd visit to our hotel in Cromer for a pre Christmas family get together. As always it was a pleasure hosting your annual family getaway.

As you know our Dinner Bed & Breakfast rates offer great value and our Chefs are always pleased to hear one of the main reasons guests return id because of the food they deliver.

We look forward to welcoming you back again later in the year.

Best wishes to you all

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Recently stayed 3 nights to photograph Norfolk coast and the Broads. Hotel is located in a lovely residential area just a few minutes walk from town centre and promenade. Hotel staff were excellent during check in and throughout the duration of my stay. Room (22) was of acceptable proportions very clean an tidy. The bed and pillows were however particularly uncomfortable for my liking. Services like WiFi and TV also proved to be poor WiFi in particular was unusable in this room despite the wifi extender being right outside the room? Wifi would have been A good alternative in the evenings to the 'flaky' TV reception.
Breakfast was a typical standard fare nevertheless it was wholesome, well prepared and prompt using a a variety of local produce. Likewise the evening meals were delicious and again of excellent quality with good choices and reasonably priced.
All in all this hotel makes really comfortable base for a stay in Norfolk whether its just the "seaside experience" or to explore further afield. The coast line drive through the small villages of Blakeney, Cley next the Sea and on to Hunstanton is highly recommended as is traveling inland to the The Broads area in particularly I would recommend driving to both Thurne and How Hill if Windmills are you thing.

Room Tip: If internet connectivity is needed for business or recreation your room selection in particular may be important for you as coverage is very poor.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCHowner, Owner at Virginia Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review following your stay here last December.
Its always pleasing when guests recommend us to others and enjoy their experience with us overall although naturally I was disappointed to hear of your experiences with the comfort level of the bed you experienced (beds are always difficult for hotels - one persons 'hard' is someone elses 'soft'. Also of your problems with the complimentary wifi and tv signals although as you mention it is known to be flaky in our area. We have installed a new system of wifi extenders throughout the building over the winter closure however so hopefully our free wi fi service will work better next time you are in the area taking photographs of the stunning North Norfolk countryside all within a short drive from Cromer.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area and your feedback regarding the new wi-fi system.

kind Regards

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for three nights. Despite the fact that the owners were away and the hotel was very quiet, the staff were very attentive and nothing was to much trouble. Reporting a broken floor tile in our en suite led to an immediate offer of a room change, the full menu was available and the food was excellent. Room was a good size, warm, well furnished, towels good quality, water hot and shower good. The place was very clean and the public rooms very comfortable. The hotel is ideal for exploring the town on foot being only a couple of minutes walk from "The Gangway" that leads to the RNLI museum and the beach. The owners clearly trust their staff and with good reason. Only one small thing would have improved the room and that was a comfortable chair. Otherwise this place is faultless and well worth the visit. if I am back in this area again this will be my first choice for an overnight stop or longer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gas65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We just returned home after a weekend at Virginia Court, an organised trip with "Simply the Best" including Thursford's "Christmas Spectacular" (and there's another story!)

We arrived mid afternoon on Friday and were greeted by cheerful staff, treated to afternoon tea or coffee and then into our rooms; we were in room 15, smallish but with a (cold) ensuite, but spotlessly clean and comfortable bedroom, TV and tea making equipment, all perfectly adequate. (and freetrade)

As a large group of about 50 people, we dined together and it was a little noisy as strangers made friends.

The FOOD was astonishingly good, cooked and well served by tremendously cheerful and friendly staff who, as the weekend progressed, proved that nothing was to be too much trouble. Breakfast was simple, wholesome and much more than just adequate - we were clearly in for a treat.

At each meal, there were several choices for each course, all cooked freshly from locally sourced ingredients and satisfying for almost everyone (there is always an exception to this rule and, well, I will not make anything of this). Other commentators have mentioned the home made jams - until you have tasted carrot and cardamom - you have not lived!

Our stay was brief, but thoroughly enjoyable and I really recommend this establishment to all.

We will return and stay here, perhaps only for the Thursford event, but definitely here!

Room Tip: Avoid the east end of 1st floor when cold and breezy, but I am told most are very comfortable! The photographs shown on the website are accurate.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnPlant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This has been our second visit to The Virgina Court Hotel. When I stay at other hotels they do what they do and that is it , you stay and go home and if you go back to the resort/town you try another hotel. In Cromer and the reason we returned for a second visit is because The Virginia Court Hotel is simply the best hotel I have stayed in. The staff also give a warm welcome , helpful and enjoy a chat. and service is excellent. The rooms are spotless , clean , bed is big wide and comfortable , hot water plentiful . The chef is a very talented person, I have never tasted such wonderful food that blow us both away . The portions were just the right size. We really got excited on our days out about our evening meal on our return.At breakfast the home made marmalades were a treat and after a good feed we only did not not need to each much during the day . This hotel has provided my wife and I two very restful stress free holiday. Who needs foreign holidays! Well done and thank you to all the staff for looking after us on our stay. I mention and recommend this hotel to everyone I talk to . Good luck to you all in the future and look forward to seeing you soon
Ian and Louise Wigley Bedfordshire

Room Tip: I have had two different rooms both very good
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews