We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Virginia Court Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have just had a lovely stay at this hotel, which we found was immaculately clean, with a relaxed and relaxing atmosphere. Perfectly situated in a quiet avenue, yet near North Lodge park with access to the promenade and beach and also a stone's throw from the town centre. We had a huge, very comfortable bed in a double aspect room which was bright and light with modern décor. The staff, (including the owners!), were delightful - friendly and warm, without being intrusive, all of them attentive and giving excellent customer service. Our tariff included dinner, bed and breakfast. Dinner was fabulous, with the best pannacotta this side, or the other side of the Channel! (this from someone who has previously lived in France for 9 years and who expects excellent food as a matter of course!). Breakfast also consisted of high qualify ingredients, perfectly cooked. A very good experience all round and a successful first trip to Cromer!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUSAN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 371 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have just returned from a seven night stay at Virginia Court including dinner in the hotel restaurant each evening.

There is a large car park which does get pretty full, but we had no problem in parking on arrival and on our return to the hotel each day.

The hotel is conveniently situated just five minutes from the sea, and just a few minutes more to the town centre.

We were greeted in a very friendly manner on arrival although we would have preferred to have been shown to our room rather than just given directions as to where in the hotel it was situated.

We stayed in the Suite (Room 5) which consists of a large bedroom and separate lounge through an archway. The bed was very comfortable although the pillows could be improved. Housekeeping is generally good.

There are two televisions, one in each area, although that in the lounge was completely useless as it kept freezing. We understand that there are reception problems and suggested on departure that a Freesat system should be considered which was noted.

The Wi-Fi here is very fast with no problems whatsoever throughout our stay.

The staff at this hotel are not good - they are exceptional!! They are all always friendly, courteous and professional, and nothing is too much trouble.They are always dressed very smartly too.

The two owners are very laid back and hardly spoke to us throughout the week which we thought was a little strange at first, but the staff are so good that the owners don't need to get involved with the 'front office' as such.

Dan, the Head Chef, is excellent. We understand that he has been at the hotel for over thirty years! The food, both breakfast & dinner, was quite superb - large portions and a good choice of dishes. Without doubt the best fish and chips we have had anywhere!

The lounge is comfortable as is the dining room, although the lounge has a 'Gentleman's Club' feel about it.

A large mirror on the wall would open up the dining room rather than the blackboard which doesn't seem to be used

So was it all perfect? Not quite. Unfortunately, the hotel does not have a dress code in the restaurant in the evening. Whilst we are not suggesting 'black tie' we do object to diners going into the restaurant in jeans & trainers, and in one case, shorts! We feel that this is disrespectful to both the chef and other diners who make the effort to dress smartly.

All in all we enjoyed our stay very much. Clean, comfortable, excellent food, and above all, superb staff. Would we return? You bet!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel 6 years ago under previous owners and I can confirm that there have been many improvements to make this Hotel one of the best to stay in. This time we only stayed for 4 nights, but wished we had booked for longer. The food and service were excellent and the staff very friendly and efficient. The room we had was towards the back of the Hotel and it had everything we needed including a massive king size bed. Whilst this Hotel is not the cheapest in the area, you certainly get what you pay for and I had no regrets over the cost. I would recommend this Hotel and certainly we would hope to stay there again and not wait another 6 years.

Room Tip: Room No. 28 (shows as 428 on bill) towards the back of the Hotel was very quite and I would choose t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We booked a twin room for one night on 20th August 2013 for £135.00.
On arrival at the hotel were told it was a small room as we had booked late.

We were very disappointed the room was so small and narrow that the beds were top to tail against one wall with only space for one bedside table.

The was no chair in the room and the mirror in the room was on the wall not on the chest of drawers by the window.

There was a connecting door to another room so i would imagine that our room was designed as part of a larger suite suitable for children.

i did not complain at the time as we were only booked for one night but late booking does not excuse offering this room a a true twin.

On the plus side the room and hotel was very clean and the breakfast was excellent .
There was a car park which is essential as parking in Cromer is difficult and a large garden
with outside seating.


.

Room Tip: Avoid room 7 if you want a twin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian186306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Virginia Court is more expensive than some of the other options in Cromer, but its also better (and we did go in a few). It does stand out on service, which hit just the right note between efficiency and friendliness. And were always helpful. The food was good too - breakfast very nice, but we also ate in the hotel one night (which we don't normally do) and it was easily the best meal we had in Cromer. The room was comfortable, although the bedroom was perhaps small for the price, the bathroom was nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmurraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

When we got to Cromer it felt like we were the only ones here. The city has a bit of a sad undertone, faded glory, even though everyone is trying hard the town radiates a better past.
Nevertheless we had problems finding accommodation, and ended up in the Virginia Court Hotel.
The hotel is typically English, so much so that one half expects Basil and Sybil Fawlty to turn up. At the top of the stairs there's a fire door, leading to the rooms, but there's just one more step there, easily missed........
The hotel is OK, it's clean, staff is friendly, and the location good. Breakfast is good, except for the horrible music in the background. We had a pleasant stay, visited the cathedral, nearby Holt and had a fantastic walk to the lighthouse.
But we did feel that we payed a bit too much. Otherwise it would have been prefect!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lotsofpeppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I was dropping my daughter on a residential and with the good weather forecast I decided to stay over night! I spent at least 3 hours ringing round bed and breakfasts in the local area and was then advised to give Virginia court hotel a call. So pleased I did, they had a single room free! Not badly priced either! £67, this also included breakfast! Checked in well, very polite at reception. Room was clean and even though it was a single room it was plenty big enough! Bathroom as great with a lovely shower, warm and powerful (needs a re grout but non the less clean!) Tea and coffee making facilities in the room! Ample spaces to park and a great position! The breakfast was lovely! Cereals, fruit and juice to start, tea or coffee and then a choice from the menu!! I had a full English which was presented really well and from seeing other options around the room I'd say this was the same for all options! All in all a great hotel, which is recommend! Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbier74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
0.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
796 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#2 of 7 in Cromer
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
0.6 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
1.9 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginia Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Court Hotel

Address: Cliff Avenue, Cromer NR27 0AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range: $152 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginia Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Virginia Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Va Court
Virginia Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing