We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant quiet well run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Virginia Court Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Nice place - well maintained - warm spacious and above all clean. 2 night stay - good location a very short walk from town - helpful staff.
The restaurant is good value - upgrade from B&B price is just £20 for 3 courses - menu quite good but lack of anything with spice flavour but all nicely cooked and presented.
The cooked breakfast good - but make sure you ask for bacon to be well cooked as ours came rather underdone - but I know its a matter of opinion - its all nice produce and sausages really good.
Walking round Cromer this would seem to be the best place there so definite recommend

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DagenhamDave53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCHowner, Owner at Virginia Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are all pleased to read you had a good time with us and enjoyed your break in Cromer. Feedback on our evening meals and award winning breakfasts is always appreciated - its a balancing act trying to produce an evening menu that has something for everyone to enjoy without having too much wastage, we find the majority of our guests prefer classic style English food so we concentrate on providing that.. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 367 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

We took my Mum here for lunch today for Mother's Day. We hadn't been for a little while and, if anything, it was even better than we remembered. Everything is sparkling clean and the food was just simply delicious. We couldn't fault a thing. 12.95 for two courses we thought was reasonable, especially as they didn't skimp on the main course and added vegetables. The 3 girls who attended to us at various parts of the meal were all, without fail, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCHowner, Owner at Virginia Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your recent meal with us. Good to hear you enjoyed it as much as the last time you visited us, I was especially pleased to hear you enjoyed the service and have made sure everyone involved has seen your review. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Martin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for Valentines night. The service and cleanliness of the hotel were second to none.
The staff were friendly and courteous, the service was excellent, the room was immaculately decorated and spotlessly clean.
The evening menu (included in the price) was good value, varied and delicious. Our waitress for the evening was attentive and very well humoured which left us very relaxed to enjoy our valentines evening together.
Highly recommended hotel, and we will be returning before Valentines day next year!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCHowner, Owner at Virginia Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay in our hotel, naturally we are pleased to hear that you had such agood experience with us. Its alway positive for all the team when their efforts to maintain cleanliness and a friendly welcoming service are appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another overnight stay. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed last year only for one night at this hotel in November - we had been to the Thursford Concert near by. From the moment we arrived until we left we couldnt have been made more welcome. We booked bed,breakfast and Evening meal. All was perfect. The evening meal was amazing, you could tell all the produce was fresh. Their Chef and Kitchen staff are a credit to the hotel, along with the housekeeping staff. We couldnt fault it at all. Hoping to go back again this year and stay a bit longer - one night was not enough. We had stayed there many years ago with previous owner, and whilst we were happy then, The owner of the hotel now have made some great improvements. Well done Virginia Court.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dodders1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCHowner, Owner at Virginia Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to recently review your stay with us last November. The Thursford Christmas show is a great reason to visit Cromer during the quieter months of November & December and I am glad you enjoyed your whole minibreak with us. Guests often remark they wish they had stayed more than a day when visiting Cromer! I will make sure the kitchen team read your feedback, its always good to see evening meals are enjoyed as much as our award winning Norfolk breakfasts. We look forward to seeing you back here again during the summer months - have you thought of coming during during the May Comer Crab Festival? Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My second stay at the Virginia Court Hotel and rooms, food and service were all excellent. We spent three days in Cromer in December for a pre-Christmas break. I decided to book the bed, breakfast and dinner option at the hotel. The chef takes real pride in using local Norfolk produce and presents high quality dishes that you would find hard to match at surrounding top quality restaurants.

Overall an excellent stay at the hotel. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the staff are friendly and ready to address your needs. If you are looking for a hotel in Cromer that is less than a 10min walk to the Pier and town center, consider the Virginia Court Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NearRadwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCHowner, Owner at Virginia Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a second review following your most recent visit to us. It's always a pleasure to welcome back returning guests. I have made sure both the kitchen and housekeeping teams have seen your kind comments. We are all proud of the great local produce Norfolk has to offer, especially when guests notice the difference with freshly prepared cooked on the premises food. We look forward to welcoming you back again when you are next in the UK. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Although didn't stay at the hotel went there for a function. Food was beautiful presented and tasted great.

Staff were helpful, friendly and attentive with efficient service meaning everyone was eating at the same time.


the lounge of the restaurant is ideal for retiring to with comfy sofas and chairs. the bar is small but stocked to a suitable level.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank scott-eastwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Have just spent a lovely weekend at the Virginia Court. Very quiet, spotlessly clean. Owners and staff very friendly. Good food both at breakfast and dinner. Good private parking. My only complaint was that our room and bathroom were cold. It was a frosty weekend and very windy but due to being an old building the windows didn't close very well. The heating seemed to struggle to heat the rooms up sufficiently. Despite this we would return to the Virginia Court again........but in warmer weather. The communal areas were lovely and toasty.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank stargazer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
0.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
774 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
534 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginia Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Court Hotel

Address: Cliff Avenue, Cromer NR27 0AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range: $142 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginia Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Virginia Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Va Court
Virginia Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing