We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done Cliftonville”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cliftonville Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well done Cliftonville”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I have just had the most wonderful short break at the Cliftonville Hotel. The staff were polite and approachable and the food was lovely. The room had a sea view and was reasonably priced a good size and was clean. Even though the weather was stormy the hotel was warm and cosy. I would recommend this hotel. If you enjoy good food in a friendly atmosphere you have to try this hotel. Many thanks for making our short break a relaxing time. Parking is also easy with plenty of space.

Room Tip: The Double room was a good space for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    149
    61
    27
    20
See reviews for
88
214
30
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We ate and drank at this hotel and enjoyed it very much. The variety of food offered is great and the prices are very reasonable. It is a nice old building with many original features. The staff are helpful and kind. Parking is easy in the hotel's own car park or in the road opposite. Well done Cliftonville. Food is available in the restaurant, bar or The Bistro. Try the Elderflower Presse for a good refreshing sparkling non alcoholic cold drink.

Room Tip: We did not stay only ate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was the first place my now husband took me to when we first met and we have returned time after time, even coming back for our honeymoon.
The family run hotel which welcomes dogs is wonderful at all times of the year. The staff are always welcoming and cant do enough for you. We visit several times a year and at Christmas the ambiance is fantastic with great decorations and a log fire, its like sitting in your own lounge....but with waiter service :)
Our visit last week to go to the 40's weekend in neighbouring Sheringham saw us in a newly decorated room with a wonderful sea view, bliss to wake up to!
This place serves one of the best breakfasts, all day food and has a restaurant with great grub too!!! I cant recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: We have never had a bad room here but the views from the corner turret rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynnies56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Hotel Staff Wonderfully Friendly and Professional.
Hotel aged but well loved , Well Done to Housekeeping .
Bad bit for me , i booked a single room and wow next time will probably book Double .
I have never in my life slept (or tried ) to sleep in such a small bed, l have Fybromyalgia and it was the most uncomfortable time of my life . (Sea View !)
Was glad to get home to my own bed .
Rooms were spotless cant complain on that front .
Food , very good Standard and Quality Nice Real Ale ....... Yes l did try some :)
WiFi was a problem as we went for a Ancestry Break , WiFi was only available in the Reception Area, so not the best really. Guests standing around trying to get the best Signal possible , so Internet not the best .
Overall good spot wonderful Countryside, Pier, Cromer Village , Nice Indian not too far from the Hotel in the Village .

Room Tip: Single Rooms really Really small
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stellar58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived on Friday, 2 adults plus a black lab. We had never taken a dog away with us before but needn't have worried. The room included dog bowls and bedding and he could choose dog food or meat and gravy! Our room was spacious, recently refurbished and had a sea view. The food was excellent and the bar food good value for money. The staff were very welcoming and efficient. There was a wedding on the Saturday but we still received excellent service

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RitaMcWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at the cliftonville hotel in early august 2013,our room was at the front with a view of the pier. the room was immaculate and so was the en-suite bathroom we also had tea making facilities which was nice after a long journey.The staff were very friendly and helpful,we had breakfast which was included in the price and that was good too. There is a restaurant which is part of the hotel we had a superb meal there in the evening, have stayed at many hotels over the years, but this is one of the better ones WELL DONE the Clifftonville.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I booked a room with sea view in June and was impressed with the positive attitude of the staff on the phone.
On arrival, the room I had been allocated had a sea view if you cricked your neck at 85 degrees and was so small, I felt claustrophobic. Back at reception I asked for the room to be changed only to be confronted with extra charges which I duly paid but felt if I had been asked "did a small room bother me" I would have said yes and they could have discussed extra charges there and then.
The claim that all rooms have a sea view is not fair as I said earlier, some would need mirrors to adequately call "sea view". Other than that, the hotel albeit tired looking was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for exact details of room size and location. The hotel is a rabbit warren of different sized roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
1.1 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
724 reviews
0.6 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
348 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
596 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
18.7 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliftonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliftonville Hotel

Property: The Cliftonville Hotel
Address: Seafront 29 Runton Road, Cromer NR27 9AS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliftonville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Cliftonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliftonville Hotel Cromer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing