We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pure indulgence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cliftonville Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

our third yearly weekend at the cliftonville. staff are so friendly and welcoming at this family run edwardian hotel. room 7 is excellent. an executive suite but well worth the extra .Dual aspect sea views and all the little luxuries you expect . roaring log fire to sit and have a drink by after a wonderful meal at boltons bistro.[part of the hotel].

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
There are newer reviews for The Cliftonville Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 465 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

Parking right outside the main entrance. The hotel boasts a sea view from every room and I can believe it. I'm slightly disabled, insofar as I can't climb stairs, I spoke to the receptionist on booking and she booked us into the wing of the hotel that is served by a lift. Being half term the resort itself was very quiet, winding down for the winter. Beautiful Victorian building with stained glass windows and marvellous woodwork. Found that the shower cubicle was just too small for me, I am generous in girth. The service and the food were very good, even the bar snacks were plentiful.

Room Tip: Make sure, if you are disabled, that you get a room that is served by the lift.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oscarnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My recent stay at this hotel with a group of friends proved a very pleasant experience. The building is old and quirky and has a warm and welcoming atmosphere. The staff are eager to please and the overall service is an example to other less polished establishments. The food and drink are good and the smoked haddock on the breakfast menu was an absolute delight. The surrounding area with its local fishermen and the lifeboat station add to the overall charm as did the steam railway at Sheringham which is well worth a ride. My only dislike was having to endure mindless and banal pop music during breakfast a curse that many establishments inflict upon their customers.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauliwasyszyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

we held a surprise meal for my mother in laws birthday on saturday 27th october and had an amazing evening. Everything was handled very efficiently with nice little touches (balloons on each table & little place cards for each guest!). Nothing wss too much trouble, they even set a spare seat at each table so the birthday girl could move around between her guests. The food was wonderful and so tasty, and the service on the night could not be faulted. Thanks Cliftonvilke for a wonderful evening.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Naomi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Pleasant olde world charm hotel on cliff top ovcerlooking the sea and views of the pier and lifebvoat station.Reastaurant serves excellent local fish,crabs,lobsters and mussells.Good base for exploring north Norfolk coast with its abundance of wildlife.

Room Tip: seaview rooms best
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coastlandscene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

have stayed twice one was for the local cromer carnival the other time was for the lifeboat weekend the situation is superb the first time i stayed i put my bags in the room and went for a walk and was not far from the hotel and the next thing i know is laying in the street looking up at a lady and her kids next thing i have police and paramedics all over me like a rash the police say i am drunk as its only midday they believed me the paramedics wanted me in hospital i said no i arrived back in an am bulance the staff looked after me so well and brought my dinner to my room next i stayed one of the lads said where is you big your big white taxi strattonman

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strattonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this charming older style hotel during the summer while visiting relatives in the area. We enjoyed a sea view toward the top of the hotel overlooking the sea.The view is spectacular and its worth bringing binoculars to look out to sea where you can view an enormous wind farm in the distance and of course ships and boats as they pass. Parking upon arrival was possible within the grounds of the hotel but only just .When you cant park within the grounds there is free parking right along the hill and seafront which was to my surprise still free. Hotel staff were very friendly and there is a lift to help you get your bags to your room. I found the food to be excellent ,the breakfast menu offers a good choice of food and the evening meal was quite delicious albeit not cheap .We did not eat in every night preferring to try other restaurants in the town.The hotel sports a good bar and comfortable seating . I have but one criticism and that is that our beds were far too hard for my liking. I cant say that every bed is hard as nails in this place but I could not sleep soundly in them which is a shame because in all other respects the place is just what you would expect from a well established hotel such as this ..During our stay a well known TV personality appeared at breakfast and to me this shows that the hotel is a good one .Service was first class.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view higher up to maximize your views. Ask to see if they have any softer bed...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonDrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
1.1 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
742 reviews
0.6 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
361 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
525 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
750 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliftonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliftonville Hotel

Address: Seafront 29 Runton Road, Cromer NR27 9AS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range: $205 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliftonville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Cliftonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliftonville Hotel Cromer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing