We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall....a good place to stay and eat whilst in Cromer”
Review of The Wellington - CLOSED

The Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Having wanted to visit Cromer for a good few years and the last sunny days of the year being on offer, we decided to book two nights at the Wellington.
The room was fine, reasonably spacious, clean and warm. The macerator (mechanical toilet thingy) was very noisy and the sounds from adjacent rooms travelled quite a lot. The noisy bar below did not reach the top floor, which was good. Not being 'pub' people, we kept away from the bar area. It is a bit of a 'local' boozer, but if that's what you like, fine.
We ate in the Courtyard twice and also had the breakfast that's included there as well. On each occasion the food was good.
The owners and staff are very pleasant and more than happy to accomodate any request you might have.
Parking was easy. You can park in the main street right by the coast for free and the Wellington is a short walk from there.
Personally, I doubt we would stay again and if we did, it would be 1 night only.
It's not that the place is bad, it's just there's not a whole bunch to do at Cromer, as nice as it is.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bikerboys186305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Wellington ... C, Owner at The Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thank you for your review! Glad you enjoyed your visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

445 - 449 of 540 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

Came in tonight (Wednesday 02) and the staff were polite, helpful and accommodating throughout my visit. The young lady and lad behind the bar were brilliant, will definitely come back again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dantay24uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Wellington ... C, Owner at The Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thank you for such a great review! Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We ate at the Courtyard restaurant for a second time, having really enjoyed the food several months back. There was still a strong presence of local ingredients. The food and service were both excellent, the speed was faster than before which I hope is not indicative of "shortcuts", (personally I prefer to wait for fresh cooked food above speed of delivery), but that certainly wasn't in evidence.

Price wise, the drinks are well priced, the food typical if not slightly lower than for the area - excellent value and excellent venue. One request - please bring back the main course sharing platters - they were fun!!

1  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Wellington ... C, Owner at The Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thank you for review! Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Dropped in with my family and olde relatives including my nan who was in a wheelchair. Access was good, produce was local and everyone enjoyed the food. Free wifi is a must these days and they had that! All in all a good visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Wellington ... C, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thanks for a great review! Hope to see you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

What a marvellous and unexpected find the Courtyard Restaurant is! My husband and I had a delicious evening meal, served by a helpful, polite waitress. Nothing was too much trouble, we will certainly return with friends next time we are in Cromer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cw20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wellington also viewed

 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing