We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What lovely people!”
Review of Cafe Main

Cafe Main
Ranked #27 of 85 Restaurants in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“What lovely people!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

After visiting Cafe Main today I feel I must post a review to say how welcoming and helpful the staff were. It was a busy bank holiday Monday, and trying to find somewhere to eat with my husband, 3 year old son, 1 year old daughter and double buggy was proving difficult! They made space for all of us and the food was delicious. Lovely baby changing facilities too. Thanks for making our visit comfortable and enjoyable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellis10eden11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark b, Owner at Cafe Main, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thanks we really appreciate your review

Mark&Maxine Bright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    49
    17
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great coffee and cakes”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just popped in for a coffee which we found superb quality. Staff very helpful with our 8 month old and was surprised at the high quality of the toilet facilities .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jte77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark b, Owner at Cafe Main, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thanks for the review great to see you enjoyed the Cafe Main experience hope to see you again very soon

Thanks

Mark&Maxine Bright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best place for crab salad in Cromer”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Yes, it's a little cramped but this is obvious when you look through the window before you go in, so if you want space, go elsewhere.

We go to Cromer for the crab salads and this is one of the best places to eat them.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JanuaryLantern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark b, Owner at Cafe Main, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thanks for your comments

Having been in the shellfish industry I truly hoped our crab offer was worthy of praise
Cant wait for spring to come round again so that we can put our fresh crab onto the menu and wow all of the crab eating public


Mark&Maxine Bright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Basil Fawlty is alive and well!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

So that's where they are these days. Basil and Sybil are working in the 'Main Cafe' in Cromer, Norfolk.

This tiny cafe looked clean and welcoming when we looked in the window last Friday afternoon. We were greeted well by the woman behind the counter as we entered. Shortly after sitting down an elderly couple came in tried to sit at the table alongside ours. This wasn't easy and meant that I had to stand up so the man could squeeze into the tiny space. After a few minutes the elderly man tried to place his order at the table. He was curtly told that he would have to place his order at the 'counter' - which was about four feet away. I has to be said that there were no clear signs spelling out what you should do - apart from a note on the menu - which I could not read without glasses. The elderly man politely asked if he could place his order at the table on this occasion as he had already disturbed me once and would have to do so twice more before he could finally return to his seat. A very curt 'No, sorry' from Basil the Waiter - who does not wait - was the amazing response. I stood up for the elderly man so that he could escape from his corner. Sensibly, and very politely the elderly couple choose to leave. I have to say that if our food had not already arrived, we would have done the same.

I remember saying that 'customer service is alive and well' After the couple left Sybil cackled to Basil, 'too lazy to come to the counter?' This comment could be clearly heard by the only two other customers and us. Basil's conspiratorial look in my direction changed to one of sullen contempt when I refused to acquiesce with his boorish behaviour.

Small businesses are struggling to survive these days and many will fail over the next few years. Those that that will survive will be the ones that provide an excellent product coupled with great service. This was sadly lacking in the Main Cafe on this occasion. The food, it has to be said was okay - 'passed its best' however as it was after three o'clock as proudly proclaimed on the menu. It was half past four.

Get rid of your silly rules Basil and ditch an ordering style that was designed for premises at least ten times that size of yours. Take your note pad to the tables especially under the circumstances as I have outlined above - and serve you customers properly.

I will give gourmet night a miss.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Mick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark b, Owner at Cafe Main, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Amazed at your comments and the content
We will and have ignored this review

Mark and Maxine Bright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“High street cafe, friendly and fun”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Good coffee, sitting outside even at the end of October. Friendly staff and free wi-fi add to this buzzy cafe with a great atmosphere.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark b, Owner at Cafe Main, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for your review
This is exactly the feedback we hoped for 'friendly and fun'

Brilliant!!

Thanks

Mark&Maxine Bright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Main also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing