We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive”
Review of Amazona Zoo

Amazona Zoo
Ranked #6 of 23 things to do in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The admission price is far too much for what is actually there. We saw everything in an hour and unfortunately the indoor play area was not finished. Some nice animals but Banham Zoo is about 100 times as good without being 100 times the price. Not impressed. On a positive note, the hot food was good and VERY good value

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank david u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    164
    55
    33
    34
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Work in progress - Soft play not open yet...”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

I really wanted to give Amazona a higher rated review than I have... There is a lot going for it - concentrating on South American animals means that there a number of animals that you would not normally see in British zoos - the tapirs enclosure was fantastic and my son was especially captivated by the Caimans in the excellent tropical house...
The zoo is under new management this season, having been bought by the owner of Cromer Hall, upon whose land the zoo is on. It is clear that when we went, the zoo is under a state of change, some empty enclosures and sadly, despite it advertised, the soft play centre is still under construction much to my young children's annoyance!
Also, although many animals' enclosures and the animals seemed content, the jaguars and pumas are in relatively small caged enclosures and the pumas were pacing, sadly. The tapirs, in contrast, had a large field...
In summary, this is a fun (if pricey) attraction for a few hours but needs some work to make it a full rounded attraction.

Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn
Level Contributor
219 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Unhurried relaxing atmosphere”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Enjoyed our family visit but especially animal feeding times as talk and information given was exemplary. Several smallish areas awaiting development it seemed and beware of an angry goose!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank vincent12089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice day out.”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This was our first visit to Amazona Zoo and although it's not the biggest zoo in the world it was very pleasant and clean the animals look happy and we saw a couple of feeding times which were interesting and the staff seemed very knowledgable and friendly. Good luck to them and every thing they are trying to achieve. Please visit and support them.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings....”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Our children enjoyed a few hours here including a good priced lunch. The staff were friendly too. Not a huge number of animals and a number of the enclosures seemed too small e.g jaguars, snakes and puma. Also didn't seem to be that much stimulation for them either. I think as lot more could be made of the Amazon theme and conservation. And the soft play area was not open and still being built which was not clear on the website. However our children enjoyed three hours here including lunch! If you are looking for a day out then maybe travel to a bigger zoo but for a few hours you could try this.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JulianNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amazona Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Amazona Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing