We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of The Grove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grove
Ranked #4 of 26 Cromer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have just returned from a fantastic stay at this wonderful family run guest house. I was looking to stay there for three consecutive nights but sadly, I had left it too late to book as it was a Bank Holiday weekend. However, I did manage to book both the Friday night in a family room and then the Sunday night in what was originally going to be a double but one of the Orchard Rooms became available and Carolyn kindly offered this to me instead. I'm so glad that she did! The family room on the Friday was lovely. Very, light and airy, clean and had everything you'd need. Staff are really helpful and very friendly. From the moment I arrived I was made to feel very welcome with my two young children in tow and was even allowed to check in early due to having been driving for 5 hours from the New Forest! They were both rather hungry and although it wasn't yet lunch service the kitchen whipped up some tea and toast for us all which was a nice touch and much appreciated. The pool was lovely and warm and open most of the day. You simply ask for the key at reception and lock up behind you or pass on to the next guest. Our evening meal was great too. I chose the Cromer Crab salad and the children went for sausages and mash. Both arrived promptly and were delicious. The staff were great at keeping the children entertained too with crayons and paper which helped me out a great deal. What I loved was that the children had a little freedom and were able to 'explore' the guest house a little and surrounding areas and they were perfectly safe as the house is set back a fair way from the main road. There is also a small children's play area to keep them amused which had a trampoline and a 'tree house'. There was also a large grassy area for them to play in. On the Sunday when we checked into Merry Weather we didn't want to leave! It was lovely with twin beds in the main room, plenty of storage and a lovely bathroom. The decor was well thought out and looked beautiful. Upstairs were two futons which Richard kindly made up for the children to sleep in when we arrived. They were so excited and it was made safe with two stair gates both top and bottom. It had a beautiful view and again plenty of space for the children to explore outside whilst I watched them from my seating area. There is a woodland walk short enough for young children which takes you into Cromer Beach and is not far from the Pier. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay and I shall definitely be returning again very soon!

Room Tip: Room 5 (Family Room) was very light, airy and quiet. I would of course also recommend the Orchard Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

524 - 530 of 586 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed for one night here over the Bank Holiday weekend. We were greeted with friendly smiles and a pot of tea on arrival, and made to feel welcome. The house and grounds have character and give out a sense of past grandeur.

Our bedroom was fairly small, mainly because the shower room was squeezed into the corner of what was once a reasonably sized room. It had all the facilities you would expect (alarm clock, tv, kettle with tea & coffee, etc) and was generally in good condition (although we did see a couple of marks on the bed sheets).

We tried out the indoor swimming pool, which was great for a dip after a day walking. It's not huge but is well kept and was a welcome place to relax before going out in the evening.

Breakfast was a bit of a disorganised shambles. We went down at the allotted hour and there was no-one to greet us. There were two rooms set out for breakfast and apparently we sat in the wrong room because after 10 minutes we still hadn't seen anyone. When we were served the breakfast itself was pretty good (full English). However little things were missing. For example, no jam was available for the toast (we later found out it was available "on request").

The service for breakfast was even more disappointing after having had such a good welcome and service from reception. If they could get the breakfast sorted then our stay would have been much better.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Bogtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Chose to dine here to celebrate a special birthday and we were not disappointed. Upon arrival shown into one of the lounges and offered the drinks and wine menu. The lounge was very much of an earlier period and extremely fascinating with much to browse while waiting for our restaurant table to be readied. Taken to one of two dining areas and seated at a massive table in the window. Starters were excellent although not all choices were available, which isn't surprising after a busy Sunday lunchtime service. Main courses were all of an acceptable quality and deserts were very pleasant. The service throughout was first class - friendly, professional and very good humoured. Our party really enjoyed the experience and would go again when next in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aptalsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were given a very warm welcome and from then we had a relaxing time. Nothing was too much trouble. The Grove is a fantastic building and our family room was very well thought out. the food in the restaurant was excellent.

To conclude fantastic and will be going back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

If you are looking for a beautiful retreat outside of London look no further. I could go on and on but I won't this hotel is a 10, the restaurants, spa and golf all a 10 and we can't wait to go back. We stayed for 5 days and wish we had more time.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new wing as the main estate is very expensive but if you can afford it then splurge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Very comfortable, nicely presented guesthouse. All staff welcoming, friendly and very helpful. Lovely location- short walk through woods to beautiful cliff top walks. Very nice dining room serving tasty meals.
We spent a great weekend here and would love to return- thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoanneG217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have just returned from 2 nights at the Grove. I have never fely compelled to write a review before but feel this delightful place and its owners deserve to know what a lovely time we had. The house is light, airy, spotless and tastefully decorated but also felt very homely. The rooms were comfortable and had everything we required. The location was perfect close to town beach golf course and some lovely walks. The children used the pool which was warm and clean. We had dinner on the friday which was great and very reasonably priced and the breakfast was the best cooked breakfast we've had. Every request was granted. I would thouroughly recommend this place and look forward to returning. Thankyou

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kezzaBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cromer hotels
0.2 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
787 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
0.3 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#2 of 7 in Cromer
779 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
2.7 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove

Address: 95 Overstrand Road, Cromer NR27 0DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Cromer
Price Range: $96 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grove 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove is a Georgian family-run guest house, self-catering cottages and restaurant situated in four acres of gardens on the Norfolk coast. Set back from the road and with plenty of parking as well as a heated indoor swimming pool, we are ten minutes' walk from Cromer town centre and just a few minutes through woodland from the cliffs and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove Hotel Cromer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing