We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable rooms, terriffic breakfast, great access”
Review of The Grove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grove
Ranked #4 of 27 Cromer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“comfortable rooms, terriffic breakfast, great access”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

A short stroll through a lovely woods leads to the path along the cliffs to the pier at Cromer. Lots to do there, shopping, cinema, church, beach and restaurants. The Grove itself is quirky, comfy with a great menu and friendly staff. An altogether wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paminchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    115
    38
    18
    5
See reviews for
162
234
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Having just returned from a weekend in sunny Cromer I wanted to add our experiences at the Grove.
We choose the self catering option and stayed in Mrs Pages for 3 nights.
The location is fabulous and the house, cottages and grounds are well maintained. We had a friendly welcome and were happy with the space that the cottage offered. The lounge was very comfortable and the kitchen (although a bit small) well equipped.
The only criticism we would have was the quality of the beds which wasn't great.
We did not use the pool nor did we have dinner at the Grove but we did enjoy the walk from the house to the beach and would not rule out a return visit in the future.
It was very good value for money in our opinion and had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crientje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had a lovely stay at this delightful hotel. Breakfast was lovely and the girls were cheerful and very helpful. Swimming pool lovely and we had the pool to ourselves when we went which was brill. Thanks to all the staff - Sue and Colin Townsend

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sutuowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr. Leicester
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Having been to Cromer many times in the past, the plan was a weekend away but with a little more style than your average hotel or B&B. How did we not find this place in the past! Have to say that the house and grounds are stunning and like being out in the woods and away from the hussle and bussel. Very calm and relaxed, picturesque and beautiflly maintained. We were made very welcome and as mentioned in other reviews here the staff were very helpful and cheerful. Everything was as we hoped it would be and the heated pool made a fantastic end to a hot sunny day around town and on the beach. We ate in the restaurant that night and have to say the quality of the food and wine was top notch. The thing with this place is, once you have found it, it's tempting to keep the secret so it doesn't become too busy and we can't get in...but hey!! This place deserves to be full to the rafters 365 days a year.. as Arnie always says... i'll be back!! oh yes we will !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

6 of us just had a two day break there and had a great time. We ate in the restaurant the first night and the food was very good, we could have done with some veggies for a couple of mains but there you go. The staff were all very helpful even when busy. But our favourite thing was the walk through the garden / woods to the cliffs above Cromer - excellent. We just hope no one decides to 'refurb' this place and kills the slightly faded look of the house which we loved. We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrPug96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed for one night and it was great. The relaxed friendly service made us feel really welcome. The impromptu wine tasting was great for the adults as was the wander through the woods to the beach and swim in the heated pool followed by table tennis for the kids. Highly recommend The Grove.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trekchic5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Very impressed with this place. We stayed two nights and also had an evening meal in the restautant. Lovely feel to the place - lots of character. Veryt friendly and helpful staff and great food . Lovely grounds to walk around and pleasant walks can be taken direct from the hotel to the beach/lighthouse etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raythebass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
0.2 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
706 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
0.3 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
0.5 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
711 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove

Property: The Grove
Address: 95 Overstrand Road, Cromer NR27 0DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grove 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove is a Georgian family-run guest house, self-catering cottages and restaurant situated in four acres of gardens on the Norfolk coast. Set back from the road and with plenty of parking as well as a heated indoor swimming pool, we are ten minutes' walk from Cromer town centre and just a few minutes through woodland from the cliffs and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove Hotel Cromer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing