We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy & Uncomfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cromer Country Club
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Noisy & Uncomfortable”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Booked to stay at Cromer Country Club for a week from Saturday to Saturday and it was my wife and myself first visit.
The check in reception is small and not ideal when most are attending for the 16:00hrs arrival, the parking outside is a complete joke and not practical for the elderly and infirm, especially as for most would have undergone a long journey to get to Cromer.
There is no allocated parking (only the very limited disabled bays) and at times you would find it lucky to park at all.
We stayed in a studio apartment ground floor and found it to be very noisy with the occupants above, not entirely their fault due to the poor layout of the apartment. The living room is a rectangular shape with a double bed one end and with a TV on the opposite wall. To watch TV in bed you would need to turn the TV volume up high and use binoculars. The floor/ceiling was very thin so you can hear every slight movement. In our apartment the carpet was badly stained although it was vacuumed and the kitchen was practical but only big enough for one person. The bed was lumpy and the bottom sheet too small to properly tuck in. The pillows were a disgrace with absolutely no life left in them, how the service cleaners could even attempt to fluff them up is beyond me, it must of been like trying to give the kiss of life to a road kill. The shower cubicle (no bath) was very small, I'm not a large person and it was virtually impossible to wash properly and the shower head either needed cleaning or changing.
Entering and leaving the site is a disaster waiting to happen when using their barrier system, when exit or entering in a vehicle you have to position your self on the wrong side of the road, leave under the barrier and then jockey to the correct side of the road before you encounter a head on collision with other road users coming around the corner in front of you. This has to be seen to be believed, if there is a case for health & safety it is surly here.
It goes without saying that visiting this place was a big mistake, we payed for a week and had left by early Wednesday morning... ......... never again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Cromer Country Club, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your recent stay at Cromer Country Club. Your review did come as a surprise to us, however, as we receive very few negative comments about the resort.

We want all our guests to have a pleasant and relaxing stay here, and we do encourage guests to contact the front desk if they have any concerns about the accommodation or any other aspect of their stay, as we will do everything we can to find a satisfactory resolution.

We are very concerned to read your comments about the barrier at the entrance to the resort. There should be no need to drive onto the opposite side of the road in order to enter or exit the property, as the button to raise the barrier is located on the driver’s side. The welfare of our guests is of paramount importance to us, and we assess all aspects of the resort for safety – while we have never had any issues arising as a result of this barrier arrangement, we would like to assure you that your comments in this regard have been noted.

Please be assured that your experiences on this occasion do not represent the standards that we strive for at Cromer Country Club, nor the experience of the majority of our guests. We really hope you’ll give the resort another chance, and we feel sure that if you do return here, your experiences will more than exceed your expectations!

Kelly Howe
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    217
    52
    20
    15
See reviews for
229
348
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here for a short break in winter but still enjoyed the facilities. Pool was well heated and sauna was great. Had a meal and drinks , really had a pleasant evening. Don,t forget that electricity is paid additionally would defo use again

Room Tip: Worth looking on eBay for offers of cheap stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanachocchoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I visited Cromer for the first time with family. The resort position was perfect for a walking holiday. The staff were excellent and made us very welcome. We found the food to be very good at extremely reasonable prices. The accommodation was very comfortable, well maintained and clean. Should you be a golfer or a national trust member the facilities in the area are brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have just returned from a most enjoyable stay at Cromer Country Club. We had a large 2 bedroom villa which has ample space for 4 people. The 'resort' is very hilly with lots of steps but it does state this when reading the information about it and if you requested accommodation near the top car park near the lighthouse, there are less steps there into your villa. This is a self catering resort, but the units are extremely well equipted with everything needed for a self/catering holiday, plus the added bonus of a dish washer! Although we didn't eat in the on site restaurant we spoke to fellow guests who did & they only had praise for the food & service in there. It was also nice to be able to walk into Cromer - a 20min walk along the cliff path into the town centre. We had not visited this part of England for many years, but were delighted with the lovely inland & coastal villages in this area. Would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggs36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Cromer Country Club, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review based on your time spent here at Cromer Country Club. We pride ourselves on making sure that our guests have all the home comforts which they need and our apartments/villas are very well equipped for self catering holidays. It is important that guests know beforehand if they are unfamiliar with the area that the resort is located on a steep hillside (near cliffs) and the accommodation is built in varying gradients and levels. We’re pleased to read that you enjoyed the area’s natural beauty and the panoramic cliff top location which overlooks the seaside resort of Cromer.

We’ll be delighted to welcome you back in the near future.

Kelly Howe
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Clean tidy comfortable. its a self catering facility. Does exactly what it says on the tin. Can not fault, food is good. For those that like to moan your not at the Hilton. £13.95 for 3 courses on Italian night, could not fault. And the goats cheese starter was scrummy! We loved our relaxing stay not a bad thing to say !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noodlehoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Cromer Country Club, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We’re pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay here at Cromer Country Club and that you found your accommodation comfortable. Your feedback about the food is very much appreciated.

Hopefully you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Kelly Howe
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Beds
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife & I were accommodated in Villa 23 for three nights, Sunday 25th to Wednesday 28th August 2013, very spacious and comfortable. Kitchen had everything one needed for self catering, everywhere was spotlessly clean and I can only praise the accommodation in all respects. Unfortunately the club is built into the side of a steep hill and there are lots of steps to negotiate to get from the accommodation to the central facilties, reception, restaruant etc.Fortunately we had very good weather and these treks to and fro were without incident but on a cold, wet windy day it woud be unpleasant. The swimming pool is large, well supervised and clean. I enjoyed my daily swim and sauna. We only ate in the restaruant on Sunday night, I was disappointed with my starter of whitebait, much too much overcooked batter and very litte whitebait, otherwise the food was satisfactory but the service was very, very slow and the dining room lacks the ambience desired for "fine dining", not helped by the quiz announcements from the adjoing bar area. We enjoyed our stay but as octogenarians we would not go again due to the many steps and treks to and from the villa. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: I think there are steps to be negotiated which ever rooms you have, regret cannot give any advice on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSAP4853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Cromer Country Club, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We need to admit that the resort is hilly; we do realise this may not be ideal for some and therefore we take precautions to advise our guests of the grounds layout prior to their arrival. We are pleased to know that you had an otherwise enjoyable stay and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Kelly Howe
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Cromer Country club is pretty good, we've stopped in lots of hotels/self-catering places all over the world and the commitment to service here is it's best quality. All the staff bent over backwards to be helpful.

Location is quite hilly

The restaurant is good and very reasonably priced

The pool is great

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlltheCarneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
1.1 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
0.5 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
350 reviews
18.0 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
866 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
516 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromer Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromer Country Club

Property: Cromer Country Club
Address: 127 Overstrand Road, Cromer NR27 0DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cromer Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The extensive leisure facilities at Cromer Country Club make this resort a lively, family destination. The children will enjoy swimming in the pool while parents supervise from the luxury of the poolside whirlpool. The busy bar serves a range of snacks and bar meals while the quieter, elegantly decorated restaurant offers a more formal choice of menu. Accommodations are equipped with all practical and modern conveniences and are furnished to a very comfortable standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cromer Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromer Country Club Hotel Cromer
Cromer Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing