We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second visit there will be a third”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandcliff Guest House
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Reviewed February 9, 2014

this was our second stay in 3 months the first was overnight this time it was a week .had room 12 large family room light and airy bay windows looking over the sea.The room was spotless, large flat screen. t v easy chairs very sensible area to make tea and coffee.good shower amazing towel rail as the towels are large and fluffy utter bliss getting out of shower to warm towels.The room was always warm ,We ate in the dining room every day as we were half board.they have an amazing chef and a good choice and if there wasnt any thing you fancied they would accommodate .the staff are excellent the house keepers are so quick and do such a good job.It is a shame they dont advertise there food in the foyer .

Room Tip: we had 28 the first time by the front door handy to bring cases in but we asked for 12 as it had an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marchgirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 391 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Big room very warm and spotlessly clean as advertised but so basic, unattractive and even shabby. Our en suite had a sliding door close beside the bed which didn't close properly and even though it was my spouse in the room I found that deeply disturbing. There was also a very strong bad drain smell. The window faced out over the back of the dining room extension and was heavily overlooked by surrounding buildings but there was no net curtain so we had to keep the curtains closed. Breakfast was good and staff all very friendly and polite. However, in this day and age it's not difficult nor expensive to brighten up the decor and I've stayed in many places half the price but packed with charm and nice welcoming touches. I do like Cromer but much of the town needs to spruce itself up, then visitors would spend more time and money and make the place really thrive. Will try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LulooLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Just back from a short visit to Cromer, where we gave the Sandcliff a try. As other reviewers have mentioned, it's a bit old-fashioned, but so is Cromer - we like old-fashioned!
The service is good, the room spotless, shower in good working order and the breakfast first class - perfectly cooked and everything you could wish for on top. The bed was brand new - really comfortable and gave a good night's sleep. Despite inclement weather, the hotel was nice and warm as was our room. With an easy to adjust radiator, we could set the temperature to our own comfort.
Right on the seafront plus great value - we look forward to going back.

Room Tip: Had a quick look at sea view rooms - look lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Myself and three bird watching friends stayed for two nights in late January 2014. The hosts and the hotel were welcoming and we had no issues. A good hotel and great value for money. The breakfasts were wholesome and it was very quiet at night, exactly what is needed after a hard day in the field bird watching.
John Edwards/ Ruislip Natural History Society

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed here for one night whilst visiting Norfolk. The hotel was very convenient, a very reasonable price, warm and comfortable with a good breakfast. Perfect for a short stay and plenty of space for parking.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdp2584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My wife and I escaped for a mini break to Cromer to enjoy some long beach walks and to blow away some cobwebs.

Sat Nav delivered us directly outside the door, our room was clean, spacious and had a wonderful sea view and breakfast was freshly cooked and substantial enough for us to skip lunch each day!

We will return!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonKatharine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Very welcoming room,warm and very comfortable.Lovely decor and good furnishings.Lots of fresh towels, housekeeping daily.Splendid breakfast with a wide choice of fruits, cereals,juices,choice of hot breakfasts,toast,etc.Friendly proprietors,staff,comfortable lounge,excellent location on seafront.Would highly recommend and would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Seaview is always good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lou Lou D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
1.1 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
776 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#2 of 7 in Cromer
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#5 of 7 in Cromer
344 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcliff Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcliff Guest House

Address: 37 Runton Road, Cromer NR27 9AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range: $60 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcliff Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sandcliff Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing