We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend in Cromer!”
Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Red Lion
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Four of us have just returned from a weekend at The Red Lion.
We booked with Laterooms and got a great deal. Our rooms (12 and 14) were quite compact and dated but comfortable, well equipped, clean and warm. If you want to be assured of getting one of the newly refurbished rooms then you'd be best booking direct with the hotel (more expensive and to be honest we were content with the rooms we had).
The hotel was full (mid January!) and the bar/lounge area was buzzing most of the day and night. We really liked the decor (stripped floorboards, original tiles, dark wood, real fire, candles, comfy settees etc); it's a real pub and a lovely place to relax. A nice mix of friendly locals and visitors.
We really enjoyed our weekend and the hotel was a great base (convenient free car parking). Breakfasts were leisurely, tasty and filled us up for the whole day. We ate in Red Lion both evenings; the choice and food were excellent and great value. The service we received from all members of staff was exceptional. The whole team were professional and welcoming; we felt really looked after. Even the dog didn't want to go home!
We walked along the beach to Sherringham and enjoyed the upmarket shopping in Holt.
I wish we lived nearer, would love to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janeywhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (779)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

758 - 764 of 779 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2010

First of all, this is in a great spot, right in the middle of town (admittedly, Cromer's not a huge place) and v close to the beach. Welcome on this dark and chilly night was warm and genuine. Room a good size, comfortable bed, good mattress, and I liked the goodie basket of drinks and snacks with an honesty tin.

Negative points: carpet in the bathroom. Who thinks that's a good idea? Plastic coathangers. Why, when a pack of 10 wooden coathangers from Ikea costs around a fiver? And the hotel suffers from the same thing that so many similar places suffer from, and that's a profusion of knick-knacks in the room. Ornaments. Some toy animal on the bed. A plastic folder with information on Cromer in it. Cushions. Jars. Really, who gives a rat's? This is stuff that nobody needs or wants and that takes up space when you want to put your bag/case/laptop etc down, and you can't because other than on the floor, there's no unoccupied space anywhere. Grrr.

Other than that, I liked it. And if the owners could simplify and modernise a bit, I think it could be a really great place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom_Cobbley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

No Complaints.

Only needed to stay in Cromer for one night, and booked this via the internet – didn’t know what to expect – but was in for such a surprise…..!

We only booked a standard room and it had all the comforts we needed – no complaints.

We only had a dinner/snack (starter) in the restaurant which was good – and lounge/bar was nice too, with a real fire – very homely.

Breakfast was excellent – homemade muesli should be marketed as was soo good.

All staff we encountered were friendly and the manageress was excellent, very informative.

Free parking ensite too, which is a bonus, as right on the front, and only a few ‘steps’ to the beach.

At check out, we discovered that the current owners have only recently took over and are still making improvements, but the way it is is acceptable and offers excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Pros: Friendly and helpful staff; good location; good breakfast.

Cons: Room (19) needs refurbishment - 1970's bathroom and decor, chilly, shower either scalding or cold. Sign on the wall on the exterior wall (on Brook St) spent the night blowing in the wind and squeaking all the while - little sleep was had. Duver covers only just covered the single beds.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harlequin25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We recently stayed at the red lion and what a pleasure. Very relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. This Hotel should be graded as 4 star, it certainly deserves it. There was a lovely touch in the bathroom which I loved and that was a bath pillow. We had the superior room (no.8) and it was perfect and absolutley spotless. The food is very good quality and plentiful. The scrambled eggs are to die for. I have never tasted them so good. Will definitely be back, is a perfect location for quaint seaside lovers and the Theatre at the end of the pier is only a 5 minute walk away. Congratulations to you and your team who are obviously very happy.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelly1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Stayed at this property last summer, and it was very tired, and the staff were rather rude. Have just visited Cromer again, and the only rooms available were at the Red Lion which I was very dubious about. Luckily the hotel has had a complete overhaul, and everything has vastly improved. The main bar area has been upgraded with a more contemporary feel, the food is better, and the service has also improved. My only gripe is the extractor fan near the kitchens. If you are booking a room request one away from this fan, as it is on early and doesn't go off until late which is disturbing. Overall though a good stay and a vast improvement, well done.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank boomerang008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel and received a free upgrade to a Superior room, all the staff and the two owners were extremely friendly and welcoming. the food was superb and we had a lovely mini-break.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynBRomford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
0.7 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
788 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
367 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
672 reviews
8.2 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Address: Red Lion Brook Street | The Seafront, Cromer NR27 9EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range: $165 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion is situated on the beautiful North Norfolk Coast overlooking the award winning Cromer Pier. The Hotel boasts 12 en suite bedrooms and were recently awarded 4 Star Inn status and received a Dining Award from the AA. The Red Lion is over two hundred years old, retaining many of its original features, including wood panelling, open log fires and Victorian flooring.The Hotel boasts twelve en-suite rooms, most with amazing sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Cromer
Cromer Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing